We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We normally stay at the Carlton when in Cannes, but our first stay at the Martinez has changed our minds. We'd booked a family room but on arrival (and without asking) we were told that, it is hotel policy to upgrade where rooms are available. So we were moved to a superb corner suite overlooking the Croisette and fireworks - one of the best rooms I've had. Hotel staff were helpful and accomodating (especially important with 5 year old twins!) and service was sublime. The only bug bear was the additional cost to use the pool area. Otherwise a faultless experience. Well done on the upgrade: a good marketting ploy!

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade - you never know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here in late April and all I can say is 'wow'. I've stayed in more exotic beach destinations which is not hard once you leave Europe and higher end properties but the service and overall package I felt in Martinez was second to none and 90 minutes flight time from London difficult to beat in terms of high end beach options.
As a Hyatt Diamond member I used one of my suite upgrade vouchers and naturally I was prepared for the junior suite which is essentialyl a bigger room but we thought the balcony would be nice anyway.
To my surprise when we arrived, we had been upgraded to a penthouse suite on the 7th floor! I have no idea why they decided to do this but I wasn’t about to complain either. The suite had its own ante room with w/c for waiting guests or as I was informed for press who are going to be doing interviews (for us it was just an extra toilet!). Once inside there was a long corridor, to the right a huge walk in wardrobe and a sauna at the end of the corridor complete with its own shower. The bedroom and living room were well designed and the bathroom was massive with an attached steam room. The terrace was to die for! It overlooked the sea and ran about half the length of the whole 7th floor and almost the length of the ‘MARTINEZ’ illuminated sign which I must admit attract its fair share of moths at night. That was a minor inconvenience though. I have to say this is probably the best upgrade we have ever had.
The happy hour was fantastic and if we didn’t have kids with us we could have really gone to town on the drinks! I think for this part of the world the pool was great too. It had a separate adults and kids section and was right next to the terrace for happy hour.
All in all I was really impressed with the hotel and the service. As we were checking out, the General Manager came out of her office to enquire about our stay and how it went which was a nice final touch. We’ll be at the Nice Palais later this month at the other Hyatt so it will be interesting to compare the two!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waribai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location and has its own seaside bar which is really beautiful. You can have a room with a great sea view. It is close to the shops in rue d' Antibes and it is in walking distance from the old city. We didn't find anything to complain. Everything was perfect. The room was big, clean and beautiful and you can find anything you like in the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you can afford Eur 300 for a room, just go to Cannes, and stay in Martinez it is worth it. I did not find anything to complain about. Everything was perfect. I should start with the most valuable for me. Curtains (rolling) made my night. They turned even sunny midday into the darkest night right after you push the curtain button. It worked so well that my 1 year old son felt asleep immediately after I closed the windows like a parrot who was covered with a blanket. This allowed me and my wife to recover with 12 hour sleep after the 1st year, since the baby was born.

Staff was so helpful and so caring along with dignity, that you feel yourself like a king surrounded by knits and princes. Everyone tries to make your stay as pleasant as possible, and it feels even better because they are not servants but assistants.

Breakfasts were generous. You could find anything you want: sausage and salmon, croissants and fried eggs. I recommend orange fresh, croissants and fresh pine apple, which was as good as this in Thailand.

Great bar with life piano jazz in the evenings and such oldies like "As time goes by" or "Rain drops are falling on my head" sang by a very stylish gentleman can turn your evening into a wonderful romantic date.

Good gym and sauna along with fast wi-fi, which allowed to watch streaming video make the package complete.

I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: People say that rooms with the sea view are better renovated. I do not know. Mine was very good as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timofey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.
We are very pleased to read how much you appreciated your visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Karine
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location but don't be deceived by the Hyatt label. I have stayed in a few Hyatt's across the globe and this is not up to the luxury standard. We were first given a lonely room which overlooked a train station and dumpy car park. We obviously went back to reception to complain and ask for another room, which we were were eventually given after a long ordeal.

We were clear that this was not the room we had seen on online and on the website. It was over an hour before we actually got into the new room as the reception staff wanted to find out where we had seen the picture and basically continue to waste time and prove a point. This was in my opinion rude and unnecessary.

All the rooms have interconnecting doors which means you can hear clearly the sounds from the next door rooms on BOTH sides. The reception staff insisted that all rooms have interconnecting doors.

Overall the room was very average, old doors, and decor which needs revamping. Pictures are very misleading. The room is by far luxury and I would definitely have stayed in the Marriott had I known the rooms were of such a low standard.

The staff in general were very friendly and provided a good service but the initial experience of the room and finally getting the room being over an hour after a flight was very disheartening and set the tone of the hotel.

The breakfast at the hotel was also very average and not of a Hyatt standard. VERY VERY disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiningExpert30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your stay at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

We took notes from your comments and our teams are currently working on the issues you encountered.

Regarding the renovations at the property, please note that Hyatt started a refurbishment program, a full and extensive refurbishment is scheduled and will start this winter.

Please rest assured that the comfort and satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Martinez to show you our improvements and to assign you a new room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have visited Hotel Martinez for a long weekend in March with my girlfriends and we all just loved it. Great room, view and service. We had fab time and it was so close to the beach and old town. Perfect spot for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This was a wonderful hotel and very upscale. The rooms are large and quiet, even with families being in both rooms next to us. The breakfast was good but the best part was being served a morning espresso on the patio. The staff were helpful and friendly. Both to and from the Nice airport the cab ride cost €91- €99. But the hotel is only about 10-15 min walk to the train station, which we took to Nice and Monaco. It's also a 5 min, or less, walk to the film festival site. They also provided a nice crib for our little one which was a huge help.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#13 of 126 in Cannes
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Address: 73 Boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#26 Family Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: £161 - £669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Martinez, which opened in 1929, is the very embodiment of the carefree spirit of the french Riviera during the same period. Then and now, it was and is the ultimate place to see and be seen on the Croisette, where personalities of every realm come together in a warm and friendly atmosphere filled with joie de vivre. Inspired by the landmark’s art deco style paired with the colors of the Cote d’Azur, interior designer Pierre-Yves Rochon, is breathing a new energy and life into this iconic establishment, translating the harmony between mother nature and the Mediterranean lifestyle. From the beach, to the new garden with its cafe ambiance, or the legendary bar La Palme d’Or (the two-Michelin-star restaurant) with chef Christian Sinicropi at the helm, Hotel Martinez invites guests to savour and share the riviera’s simple pleasures in a chic yet relaxed atmosphere. Re-opening on March 5, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing