We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in Cannes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel in Cannes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel location is perfect; on La Croisette street and right across the street from the beautiful beach. It's also near the designer shopping area. The concierge personnel were magnificent and overall the staff was really helpful.

What I did not like was the extra charges for the beach tanning beds and especially for the pool tanning beds. For the price per night paid at this hotel; one would thing a tanning bed by the pool would be inclusive. We also had to wait until 3pm for our room to be ready; we spent that time on the beach but it was very inconvenient changing in the rest rooms near the reception.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YaraGedeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We thank you for your kind comments regarding our service and staff, we will share it with them.

Regarding the fee at the beach and pool, the reason is simply arithmetic as both cannot welcome all ofour guests during high season. The fee was decided to have a smooth regulation of the bookings and ensure lounge chairs for our guests that really use those.

As for the check-in time, it is well stated on internet and our confirmation that it starts at 3pm.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

Best regards.


Romain Persic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    448
    267
    116
    92
See reviews for
281
703
50
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My daughter and i plus a friend and her daughter stayed at the hotel for 4 nights on the 22nd July 2014, all staff from concierge to bar, restaurant, reception and pool staff(annabelle, matthew) were amazing and made this stay so pleasant so relaxed and made us feel very welcome to me that is the important thing.

Yes the rooms are dated, we stayed in a deluxe king but had sea side view so we were happy but we didnt intend to stay in our room, breakfast was more than enough, 2 omelette station, scrambled eggs, sausages, fruits, smoked salmon, fresh pastries, fresh bread,......
i asked for chicken slices and they made sure i had some the next day.
we didnt had the chance to try the restaurants as we wanted to try other places like LA Gold and Miramar plage again amazing food you will not be disappointed and the staff make it so memorable! I dont understand the negative reviews about the hotel seriously we all know rooms are going to be refurbished hence the price we paid very good package with BA.

The Manager should be very proud of his staff all hard working, efficient and very friendly i would not hesitate to go back the only people that were rude were the guests unfortunately.

The only thing for us as non smokers is we wish they would make it non smoking on the terrace as you can imagine eating and everybody blowing smoke not nice so we moved inside the restaurant but i hope one day soon they will ban smoking while eating in or out!

Hotel very friendly towards family!

Room Tip: ask for high floors and away from the railway view but towards the La croisette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments regarding our staff and service are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Romain
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Serjios Elhage
Arrived 2 hours ago told our room will be ready by 15:00 it's 15:45 and still waiting. So much for platinum member service!!! Not good first impression at all this can't be a 5 star hotel that keep guests waiting without knowing when room is ready especially when front desk calls room service and no answer

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank selhage69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mr. Elhage,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.


We have taken notes from your comments and shared it with our teams.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Martinez.

Best regards.


Romain Persic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Yes, I would absolutely come back and stay here!!
In this review I will do my best not to rehash topics that have sufficiently been covered in other reviews. Instead, I will focus on helpful hints you should know before booking. It goes without saying that this is an excellent hotel. Think Hollywood in the south of France. Yes, prices are outrageous (like $35 for a milkshake), so Cannes is not a place to go if you are budget conscious.
I will also preface this by saying we went here for complete relaxation (sun worshiping, eating, shopping, drinking and sleeping). So for this trip we had nothing planned in the form of "culture" and therefore cannot comment on this topic.

My tips:
1) Internet Speed - This is a sin and it's the sole reason I rated this review a 4, instead of 5. While free, it was virtually impossible to use. What made it more disappointing, esp given the quality of the hotel, is that this was poorly reviewed 2 years ago and the hotel responded saying they would address this. If they have, they need to get someone in who knows what they are doing. All we got was excuses and that it should be working, yet we had the problem on all 4 of our devices. No resolution was offered except "sorry, here is a voucher for two free drinks". I've stayed in $80 hotels and had much better internet. They need to get this fixed, once and for all!

2) Sunning and Tanning on the beach (ZPlage) - If this is your thing, make sure to book a spot on the beach in advance of your arrival for the first day (and always 1-2 days in advance, esp during busy season). You have several option, which I will list from most preferred to least preferred. It all depends on your budget... but you are here, so don't chince on an extra 30-50 Euros, or whatever the added price is.
A) Get a spot on the pier. It has more comfortable lounges (with padding) and better service. Note, the further out on the pier the more windy it gets. Depending on your preference, keep this in mind. More wind sometimes feels good when the sun is intense. Just make sure they do not put you on the spots that are the furthest out. That is where the water sports are and it gets a bit annoying with all the commotion there.
Also, realize while they have a reduced beach menu, you can ask for the full menu from the ZPlague restaurant. The truffle burger is great to share (ask for mayo on the side, or you'll be holding a mess).
B) Small beach (on the right side), preferably the front row.
C) Large beach (on the left side), preferably the front row. You can get as deep as 5th row for less money and also for just half a day. Again, we weren't budget conscious and just arranged for the best we could get.

3) What room should you stay in - there is no question about this, DO NOT stay on the backside and secure a room that is seaside. You will not be disappointed with the fantastic views and nicely updated/modern rooms.

4) Non-smokers - if this is you, the slight problem with the sea side rooms are that some of them (like our #425) are right above the outside restaurant/bar. We're in France and people love their cigarettes. Well smoke rises and our place smelled of smoke until about 2 in the morning each night. So if that bothers you, ask for a room a bit further away. i.e. closer to being above the entrance of the hotel.

5) Check-out - it's at 12, noon. For Hyatt Gold /Platinum and Diamone members they will extend this to 2 and 4, respectively, IF AVAILABLE.. In high-season, forget it. It will be noon. However, they do offer a a place to store your luggage and then take a shower, get changed, if you need a room for this (at no extra charge). This was nice to have.

6) How long to stay on your last day - Our return flight to London from Nice wasn't until 11PM, so with the option of a changing/shower room, we were able to be on the pier getting our tan on all day and into the late afternoon/early evening. Take advantage of basically a free extra day!

7) Hotel Dining option (La Palme D'Or) - It's a 2 michelin star rated restaurant which is supposed to be off the hook and with prices to match. Think $500+ per head, prix fix menu (all in). We opted not to do this, but if you want to, make sure to book about a week in advance (just to be safe).

8) Shopping - we initially made the mistake of just walking along the main strip, which is nice, but many of the shops are a street or two in. Make sure to go in a bit deeper so you can experience all the wonderful stores. With the sales going on, some prices were actually not outrageous.

9) Getting to the hotel- We went with the middle of the road option (at taxi for about 95 Euros). The top options are a helicopter (which we didn't price), or having the hotel arrange a car for you (circa 160Euros). The cheapest option is to take a bus, which supposedly takes 2 hours with all the stops.

Room Tip: See main review. Seaside room further away from the outside restaurant/bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Traveling_Nick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez and are glad to read about your satisfaction.

Regarding the internet issue, kindly note that our whole setup was changed last October for a better and faster network. The issue you encountered was due to our internet service provider and was resolved in two days, the service is now up and running.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Martinez.

Best regards.

Romain
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The Marinez is superbly located on the Croisette and is within sight and sound of the sea, designer shops, restaurants and the main shopping area. Now part of the Hyatt group it manages to combine the unique slightly Basil Fawlty style of French hotels (along with the plumbing) with a twist of American smoothness. The refurbishment of the hotel has retained many of the original Art Deco features, but there is still a long way to go before the hotel hits a true five star rating. It is essential to upgrade rooms from standard, or you will be disappointed at the outlook. The beach (Z Plage) is excellent and well run but remember this is the South of France so nothing comes without a price tag. So kick off your shoes, drink a gin fizz and live life like Gatsby.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank DevonExplorer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

Kindly note that our refurbishment program just started and the biggest part of the work is ahead of us, starting this winter to last for three years.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Romain
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a suite having used a Diamond Suite Award.
The room was fantastic, with a great view from the terrace.
Welcome warmly by the staff and recognised as a diamond, we enjoyed the amenities provided to us, the warm pool (it is heated and we love it).

We also tried the restaurant 'Palme D'Or' which we enjoyed tremendously (separate review). We have stayed in a few hotels in Cannes, Nice and Monaco but this is now our default option. We know what works for us and the combination of friendly service, great location, beautiful property and great food nails it for us.

The night curtains are so efficient that we slept until 11am without even realising we were exceeding our normal sleeping time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSINSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Romain
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights with family on the beach package, which includes access to the Z plage and breakfast. We had a large family room which was just about ok in terms of space but the room looked like it desperately needs a facelift. The carpets in both the room and corridor require urgent replacement, they look dirty, worn out and smelly.
Breakfast is lavish and the service was very good. It's a very stylish hotel and the Z Plage restaurant is outstanding ( see my review), however Le Relais was poor on the evening we ate there.
This is the only hotel in the world that I stayed that they asked me to pay the accommodation bill upfront. The only plausible explanation for this is that some people ran out of money during their holiday in Cannes, the place is so expensive.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank UkWorldtravellerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are pleased to read about your satisfaction;

We took notes from your comments and shared it with our teams. Our Food & Beverages Manager will work with his team in Le Relais in order to improve the menu and service.

As for the renovation, Hyatt is well aware of the needs regarding the hotel and already started a refurbishment program. The biggest part of the work will start this winter in order to renew all of our rooms and facilities in three years.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Martinez.

Best regards.

Romain
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannes
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#13 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Property: Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Address: 73 boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#32 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the exclusive Boulevard de la Croisette, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez is one of the most iconic hotels on the French Riviera. Built in 1929, this legendary Art Deco hotel has 409 elegant rooms and suites, including a 1 000sqm Penthouse suite with breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Renowned for its exquisite gourmet cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez boasts a variety of restaurants including the only 2-Michelin star restaurant in Cannes. During summer, the iconic Zplage private beach offers a beach club with a large pier, a bar and a restaurant. Leisure and activities include a outdoor heated swimming pool, a spa and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing