We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but very expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #18 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location but very expensive.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

If you are going to Cannes for the beach, this is the perfect hotel with your own private beach just a few steps away. But there is non strolling onto the beach whenever you like. You have to prebook your spot otherwise you will be disappointed. Not what you want on holiday. Rooms were large and clean but furniture was old and tired. Staff told us hotel would have complete refurbishment soon. Breakfast was good. Lots of variety. But again you have to be organized and show up early otherwise outside tables on terrace will all be gone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy3236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

It is a pleasure to read about your satisfaction, your comments will be shared with our staff.

Regarding the Zplage, please note that the hotel owns the biggest private beach in Cannes and tries to satisfy every requests from our guests, nevertheless during high season the beach does not have the capacity to welcome all of our guests, which is why we decided to use the booking system.

As you wrote, a refurbishment program is ongoing in the hotel and the biggest part of the work should start this winter. Our goal is to improve every room and facility of the hotel to better match your expectations.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Martinez.

Best regards.

Romain
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    481
    287
    133
    108
See reviews for
319
769
56
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just stayed, August 3-5.
Hotel staff very pleasant, and helpful.
Room was nice, we didn't have sea view, but it was fine.
Big space, nice bathroom. Loved the turn down service and clean up at night.

Didn't like the beach setup. Very costly, went with half day rental. The more you pay the closer row you get to water. Very basic.
The food was insanely expensive, so that's a drawback.
Hotel is at opposite end to Cannes Theater if your interested.

Basically felt like one of the only Americans at this hotel as well.

Room Tip: Sea view if you can afford it. I didn't, it was an extra 450 Euro a night to upgrade. This tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourdogs2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, rest assured that we will share it with our teams.

We have taken notes from your comments and shared it with our managers for them to work on improving their efficiency.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Martinez.

Best regards.

Romain
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was last summer in this hotel. Very good place, delicious food. Wonderfull restaurants. Breakfast is excellent. But hotel needs repair. Staff are good, but in reception are working unfriendly persons.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolinaaleksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We have taken notes from your comments and shared it with our Front Office Manager.

Regarding the renovations at the property, please note that Hyatt started a refurbishment program last year, a full and extensive refurbishment will start this winter and will last for the next three years.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Martinez.

Best regards.

Romain
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel location is perfect; on La Croisette street and right across the street from the beautiful beach. It's also near the designer shopping area. The concierge personnel were magnificent and overall the staff was really helpful.

What I did not like was the extra charges for the beach tanning beds and especially for the pool tanning beds. For the price per night paid at this hotel; one would thing a tanning bed by the pool would be inclusive. We also had to wait until 3pm for our room to be ready; we spent that time on the beach but it was very inconvenient changing in the rest rooms near the reception.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaraGedeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We thank you for your kind comments regarding our service and staff, we will share it with them.

Regarding the fee at the beach and pool, the reason is simply arithmetic as both cannot welcome all ofour guests during high season. The fee was decided to have a smooth regulation of the bookings and ensure lounge chairs for our guests that really use those.

As for the check-in time, it is well stated on internet and our confirmation that it starts at 3pm.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

Best regards.


Romain Persic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My daughter and i plus a friend and her daughter stayed at the hotel for 4 nights on the 22nd July 2014, all staff from concierge to bar, restaurant, reception and pool staff(annabelle, matthew) were amazing and made this stay so pleasant so relaxed and made us feel very welcome to me that is the important thing.

Yes the rooms are dated, we stayed in a deluxe king but had sea side view so we were happy but we didnt intend to stay in our room, breakfast was more than enough, 2 omelette station, scrambled eggs, sausages, fruits, smoked salmon, fresh pastries, fresh bread,......
i asked for chicken slices and they made sure i had some the next day.
we didnt had the chance to try the restaurants as we wanted to try other places like LA Gold and Miramar plage again amazing food you will not be disappointed and the staff make it so memorable! I dont understand the negative reviews about the hotel seriously we all know rooms are going to be refurbished hence the price we paid very good package with BA.

The Manager should be very proud of his staff all hard working, efficient and very friendly i would not hesitate to go back the only people that were rude were the guests unfortunately.

The only thing for us as non smokers is we wish they would make it non smoking on the terrace as you can imagine eating and everybody blowing smoke not nice so we moved inside the restaurant but i hope one day soon they will ban smoking while eating in or out!

Hotel very friendly towards family!

Room Tip: ask for high floors and away from the railway view but towards the La croisette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments regarding our staff and service are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Romain
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Serjios Elhage
Arrived 2 hours ago told our room will be ready by 15:00 it's 15:45 and still waiting. So much for platinum member service!!! Not good first impression at all this can't be a 5 star hotel that keep guests waiting without knowing when room is ready especially when front desk calls room service and no answer

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank selhage69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mr. Elhage,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.


We have taken notes from your comments and shared it with our teams.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Martinez.

Best regards.


Romain Persic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Yes, I would absolutely come back and stay here!!
In this review I will do my best not to rehash topics that have sufficiently been covered in other reviews. Instead, I will focus on helpful hints you should know before booking. It goes without saying that this is an excellent hotel. Think Hollywood in the south of France. Yes, prices are outrageous (like $35 for a milkshake), so Cannes is not a place to go if you are budget conscious.
I will also preface this by saying we went here for complete relaxation (sun worshiping, eating, shopping, drinking and sleeping). So for this trip we had nothing planned in the form of "culture" and therefore cannot comment on this topic.

My tips:
1) Internet Speed - This is a sin and it's the sole reason I rated this review a 4, instead of 5. While free, it was virtually impossible to use. What made it more disappointing, esp given the quality of the hotel, is that this was poorly reviewed 2 years ago and the hotel responded saying they would address this. If they have, they need to get someone in who knows what they are doing. All we got was excuses and that it should be working, yet we had the problem on all 4 of our devices. No resolution was offered except "sorry, here is a voucher for two free drinks". I've stayed in $80 hotels and had much better internet. They need to get this fixed, once and for all!

2) Sunning and Tanning on the beach (ZPlage) - If this is your thing, make sure to book a spot on the beach in advance of your arrival for the first day (and always 1-2 days in advance, esp during busy season). You have several option, which I will list from most preferred to least preferred. It all depends on your budget... but you are here, so don't chince on an extra 30-50 Euros, or whatever the added price is.
A) Get a spot on the pier. It has more comfortable lounges (with padding) and better service. Note, the further out on the pier the more windy it gets. Depending on your preference, keep this in mind. More wind sometimes feels good when the sun is intense. Just make sure they do not put you on the spots that are the furthest out. That is where the water sports are and it gets a bit annoying with all the commotion there.
Also, realize while they have a reduced beach menu, you can ask for the full menu from the ZPlague restaurant. The truffle burger is great to share (ask for mayo on the side, or you'll be holding a mess).
B) Small beach (on the right side), preferably the front row.
C) Large beach (on the left side), preferably the front row. You can get as deep as 5th row for less money and also for just half a day. Again, we weren't budget conscious and just arranged for the best we could get.

3) What room should you stay in - there is no question about this, DO NOT stay on the backside and secure a room that is seaside. You will not be disappointed with the fantastic views and nicely updated/modern rooms.

4) Non-smokers - if this is you, the slight problem with the sea side rooms are that some of them (like our #425) are right above the outside restaurant/bar. We're in France and people love their cigarettes. Well smoke rises and our place smelled of smoke until about 2 in the morning each night. So if that bothers you, ask for a room a bit further away. i.e. closer to being above the entrance of the hotel.

5) Check-out - it's at 12, noon. For Hyatt Gold /Platinum and Diamone members they will extend this to 2 and 4, respectively, IF AVAILABLE.. In high-season, forget it. It will be noon. However, they do offer a a place to store your luggage and then take a shower, get changed, if you need a room for this (at no extra charge). This was nice to have.

6) How long to stay on your last day - Our return flight to London from Nice wasn't until 11PM, so with the option of a changing/shower room, we were able to be on the pier getting our tan on all day and into the late afternoon/early evening. Take advantage of basically a free extra day!

7) Hotel Dining option (La Palme D'Or) - It's a 2 michelin star rated restaurant which is supposed to be off the hook and with prices to match. Think $500+ per head, prix fix menu (all in). We opted not to do this, but if you want to, make sure to book about a week in advance (just to be safe).

8) Shopping - we initially made the mistake of just walking along the main strip, which is nice, but many of the shops are a street or two in. Make sure to go in a bit deeper so you can experience all the wonderful stores. With the sales going on, some prices were actually not outrageous.

9) Getting to the hotel- We went with the middle of the road option (at taxi for about 95 Euros). The top options are a helicopter (which we didn't price), or having the hotel arrange a car for you (circa 160Euros). The cheapest option is to take a bus, which supposedly takes 2 hours with all the stops.

Room Tip: See main review. Seaside room further away from the outside restaurant/bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Traveling_Nick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez and are glad to read about your satisfaction.

Regarding the internet issue, kindly note that our whole setup was changed last October for a better and faster network. The issue you encountered was due to our internet service provider and was resolved in two days, the service is now up and running.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Martinez.

Best regards.

Romain
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Property: Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Address: 73 boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#32 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the exclusive Boulevard de la Croisette, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez is one of the most iconic hotels on the French Riviera. Built in 1929, this legendary Art Deco hotel has 409 elegant rooms and suites, including a 1 000sqm Penthouse suite with breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Renowned for its exquisite gourmet cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez boasts a variety of restaurants including the only 2-Michelin star restaurant in Cannes. During summer, the iconic Zplage private beach offers a beach club with a large pier, a bar and a restaurant. Leisure and activities include a outdoor heated swimming pool, a spa and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing