We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an oasis”
Review of Hotel Olivier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Olivier
Ranked #53 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“an oasis”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Situated just a short bridge away from the Suquet, this hotel offers an oasis of calm in the middle of an otherwise noisy and busy town. We live not far away and use it as a dependance when we don't have sufficient guest facilities. A year ago we had visitors from Tokyo, a family of four and I checked out the accommodation for them There was a superb parental room with a large terrace, even with a sea view across the roof tops. this is a family hotel and the owners Mrs and Mr, Schildknecht are both Alsaciens, which explains why the place is kept immaculately clean. The large breakfast room is extremely pleasant and the court gives on a rather large pool, which really gives the impression of an oasis. Another advantage is a large private hotel parking for the guests in this area where parking lots are few and costly and wardens are bloody minded, heartless females. The service is friendly and effective. So far all our friends were full of praise for this hotel, which, considering this is Cannes, practices modest rates. We can only recommend this choice place within short walking distances from the rail station, the shops, the restaurant world, the beaches and the exhibition center of the Palais du Festiva. An airport bus leaves every 30 minutes on the hour from the bus station at the bottom of the Suquet, just a few minutes awayl

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAUDE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    58
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
91
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed just one night at L'Olivier but was received a lovely welcome and I had a room with one of the best views in Cannes. The terrace was enormous and overlooked Le Suquet, which is within a few minutes walking distance, so easy to get to some super restaurants. The pool area is not enormous but well laid out and comfortable.
Excellent value.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebbieM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A lovely, typically french, family run hotel. Great position for resturants, shops and beaches, especially the historic part of Cannes. The hotel and pool are beautifully kept, the staff, without exception, were friendly, professional and exceptionally helpful.

Room Tip: Good sized room with plenty of storage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The room was very small. Immediately upon opening the door to the room, the smell of mildew was overwhelming. The sheets felt damp. The shower overflowed all over the bathroom floor (which was questionable in terms of cleanliness to begin with). The only towel hook in the bathroom was directly above the toilet paper, which made for a soggy roll. 3 euros to "rent" a pool towel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owleebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelolivier, Propriétaire at Hotel Olivier, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Bonjour Madame, thank you for your comment, unfortunately we are sorry that you are nothing more than us. For the towel we rent because we wash them after use. That 3 euros for the stay .. moisture for the heavy rain there was morning, and as it was this heavy feeling of moldy. cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed in a garden room for two nights,The room was bright with patio doors that led to a seating area,, The room was comfortable with free wifi . there is car parking on site that is a bonus in the centre of Cannes.
The Staff were friendly and helpful and I have stayed in many Top hotels in Cannes but this was every bit as enjoyable and would return before I went back to more expensive, larger options

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frank187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We were only going to stay for one night and stayed for 3. Our room was so comfortable and spacious, huge closets and perfect bathroom. The bathroom was modern, great shower and lots of places to place toiletries. A quick walk to the very good restaurants of the old neighborhood "Le Suquet." Also found a laundromat 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We thought this should be a nice stay in Cannes BUT it was a disappointment!
We stayed at the l Òlivier hotel in Cannes for 6 nights and the price was doubled due to the Lions conference. We payed 240 euros -not included the breakfast for 12 euros. We had breakfast one morning and not again! It was very little to eat for 12 euros... coffee and croissant. So we went to the market and bought bread and fruit. When we came back to the hotel the man n the reception asked if we had bought fruit. We sad yes and felt controlled. He said it would come animals in the room if we had fruit there......

It was like the movie "Fawlty Towers" with John Cleese! The female owner never said godmorning or smiled, her very arrogant son (we think it was her son) seems not to be interested to work in the hotel and with guests!
Another man in the reception complained over our to heavy bagage wich he has to carry up the stairs(they don´t have an elevator)...
We just got one piece of toilettepaper - it seems that they did´nt want to give us more...
The hotel looks pretty at internet BUT we will WARN you for these people. We felt very upset over the lack of service, nice treatment and a feeling of being a guest who disturbed the family who owns the hotel! It was horrible!
When we after 6 nights left the hotel we felt free and happy again!!! Wejave paied 1450 euros and they should appreciate us as good customers but we felt as intruders!!!

When we left the son in the reception didn´t say anything to us. Not ;" Nice to have you here", Welcome back", I hope you have had a nice time", "Have a nice day"
We have said every day when we walked by the reception; Bon jour, Bon Journeé, Bon soir". But they just was looking down in the computer and looked up angry!
So don´t check in at LÓliver hotel in Cannes ! We will never do that again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelolivier, Propriétaire at Hotel Olivier, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
dear Madam
ABOUT YOUR STAY

The price of the room was communicated when booking ; it was a congress price.
We only charge what is consumed ( breakfast , bar,…)
We do not oblige our guests to have breakfast ( the price is not 12 Euros but 13 Euros per person).
We serve coffee, tea, chocolate, at will. The self- service buffet consists of fountain of orange juice, cold milk, two kinds of cereals, 3 kinds of jam or jelly plus some individual jam cups, nutella, butter, sliced edam cheese, ham, fruit salad, 2 different kinds of bread and brioche, yogurt,..all that at will and to eat in the garden or in the winter garden as long time as you want , one or two hours, by reading the newspapers or visiting free internet.
For sure our buffet is not a Scandinavian buffet !
We inform our guests about the fact that eating fruits (or any kind of food) in the rooms attract animals like ants (we are in a warm weather region ! ) and also the juices stain above bed-covers, towels,.. ( stains cherries, melons, peaches juices are specially difficult to clean).
There is always a roll of toilet paper in stock in each room and if there are problems just report it.
Concerning the luggage , we deliver it to the guests rooms and after the clients had payed their bills, we are caring it into their own cars, into a taxi or keeping it in the luggage’s room in case of late check out.
We make a note of your message, regretting the communication felt (some guests prefer not communicate and we are respecting their peace). We will ensure your blames remain truly an exceptional case.
Best regards
The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#43 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ideal Sejour Hotel
Ideal Sejour Hotel
#9 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
#18 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
#38 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cannes Riviera & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivier

Property: Hotel Olivier
Address: 5 rue des Tambourinaires, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivier 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olive is located in the historical town of Cannes said Suquet, 20 meters from restaurants, 300 m from the beach and the old port and 900 meters from the Palais des Festivals, the hotel has a private parking on site, a swimming pool, free wifi, a summer garden and conservatory ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Olivier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing