We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can you not ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Hood River, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“How can you not ...”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had never been to the French Riviera so thought it would be appropriate to at least stay a few nights at this iconic hotel in Cannes. Perfect location, great beach & beach service, accommodating staff, clean and nice rooms. Incidentals, drinks, etc were expensive but we expected that and thus weren't surprised or fussed to pay a premium for things you wouldn't normally need to. We enjoyed sitting in the bar and the cocktails did not disappoint. Who doesn't love a bartender that brings his own tools! We enjoyed our visit and were glad that we stayed in this little piece of Riviera history.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your feedback following to your visit in September at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed sitting in the bar for a delicious cocktail and that you also particularly appreciated your experience at the beach, ideally located in front of our property.

Your nice comments are a fantastic rewards,

We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in order to make you live another unforgettable experience.

Sincerely Yours.



Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    480
    215
    95
    88
See reviews for
243
894
62
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Wonderful position in Cannes directly opposite its own private beach. The staff always friendly and helpful and the food outstanding - especially the Sunday Brunch (albeit at 70 euros a head). Our room was on the 6th floor looking straight out over the Mediterranean. Unfortunately the weather was dreadful but we used the advice of a previous reviewer and took a bus to Antibes, a train to Grasse and a train to Monte Carlo. Station and town centre all within an easy walk. Very expensive shops nearby to browse and a short visit enables one to see how the really wealthy live = complete with small dogs in designer jackets in the cocktail lounge !!!! Only 2 niggles - the Wi Fi should be free as should the coffee and tea making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Go for the suite upgrade and enjoy !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Cartton Cannes.

It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location and the charm of our property. We have noted your various suggestions and we would like to point out that Wi-fi is now free in all the areas of the hotel.

All of us are looking forward to welcoming you back soon ,

Sincerely yours,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
756 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Beautiful Hotel in a stunning location, especially if you get a sea-facing room; what a treat!
Best service I have ever experienced; reception, concierge & especially at b/fast (Patrick, 39 yrs at the job, & his team).
The room was lovely; not too big but beautifully furnished. The view was outstanding!
Downsides: for this category of room, water, newspapers, tea making facilities, better amenities & proper bathroom should be considered & of course, Internet. Charging ridiculous prices for these items is a bygone practice.
Room service: Euro 15 for a pot of awful tea!
Be generous to your guest, like at b/fast with the champagne!!

Room Tip: Sea view, if affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Hooray H

First of all, thank you very much for leaving your comments following to your recent visit at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We were happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we managed to reach you expectations in terms of quality.
Your satisfaction is our main goal and it is always a real pleasure for us to read such a wonderful feedback.
Be sure it will be shared with our entire staff !
On the other side, I would like to inform you that your constructive remarks about the mentioned amenities will also be shared with the concerned departments.
We sincerely hope you will give us the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at the Carlton

Best regards

R.Van de Poël
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Mummified legend(((
I use to come to Côte d'Azur pretty often since 2003, several times per year.
Normally I stay at Majestic Grand Barriere Cannes or at Palace Mediterranee Nice, or at, as it has happened this time, in Carlton Intercontinental Cannes.
My wife had a very good impression from her last stay in Carlton, she has a frequent guest status( or how they call it), so we have decided to stay at Carlton from 8th to 11th of January.
We means my wife, me and our puppy Fan Fan, 2.5 kg kilos petit brabanson doggy.
Bad surprises came immediately on our arrival.
We haven't got free room upgrade, as it was before, but we were promised to be given a free breakfasts instead.
The best thing I can say about our deluxe sea view room number 332 is that it was big enough.
But!
The toilet was so small, a normal male human being can't put himself in and breath normally. I'm not that big, just 92 kilos to 183 but I could hardly close the door.
Excuse me for details, but the toilet brush was absent.
The room flooring was so old and smelly that FanFan started to sniff and sneeze immediately.
The TV set was oldish too, it didn't work, so we had to ask for a technician to come.
The shower also came from a previous century, it was disassembling into parts in hands, the wardrobes doors were hardly closeable, and so on...
We have arrived by car lately and we were a bit tired, so we we decided to go to hotel restaurant.
It was a bad surprise #2.
Despite it is a first class restaurant in a 5 star hotel,all the food was made from a previously prepared components, intermediate products, so it just heated( slightly)(((and given to us.
Only Clos des Mouches Burgundy wine saved the situation.
Talking about the breakfasts, I have to say it was not bad , not good, nothing to say about.
Coffee was disgusting, and a toaster machine was spinning like a French carrousel ,so I failed to get normal toasts.
The quality of products is " not that bad", fruits quality is below this level.
Only a beautiful seaside view from a restaurant window saves a situation in general.
Next two days were very busy for us, so the time to depart came very quickly.
So a bad surprise #3 came into effect.
It was a breakfast room schedule. It opens at 7.30!!!
Unlike all the 5 star hotels in the world!
We came at 7.10 and were thrown out in a very polite french manner, despite everything was absolutely ready.
And a bad surprise #4 comes!
We came to check out desk and we found out that we were charged for "free breakfasts", because the gentleman who checked us in, didn't approved free breakfast option for us.
We came back to the restaurant at 7.35 and we were thrown out again, because we have checked out and we had our doggy with us,placed into a cage.
An old fat bold slovenly manager told us that it is not allowed to attend this restaurant with dogs, even in a cage,even cat- size !
And this beautiful French manner to speak so politely again!
Nevertheless , not that all was absolutely bad.
Consierge service and valet parking and a room service were good.
So we left the hotel with a clear understanding that we will never be back again.
Sleep tight, dear Mummy of a Legend.
We will not disturb you any more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy_from_the_cold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following to your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.
We were sorry to learn you were not satisfied with certain of its aspects. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience it may have caused you. Be sure your comments will be shared with the concerned departments.
About the poor quality of the room you mentioned, I would like to inform you that our owner is currently looking for the best scenario concerning hotel’s renovation. Some major actions have been planned such as the carpeting and painting of different rooms and corridors.
Concerning the breakfast issue, we are sorry but this was probably a misunderstanding upon check-in as we do not replace upgrade by complimentary breakfast. Please feel free to contact us directly to discuss about this case : carlton-guestrelations@ihg.com
We are also sorry to learn that our restaurant did not meet your expectations in term of schedules and quality of food. Rest assured your comments will be forwarded to the Head of Department concerned. Nevertheless we regret you were not informed our Room Service is available 24/7.
Our restaurant is temporally moved to “La Cote” as we are renovating the wooden floor. We are pleased to inform you we usually accept dogs in our Restaurant but health and safety reasons , animals are not permitted in the temporary “La Cote” due to the carpeting.
Thank you for your nice comments nice comments about our Valet Service, Concierge and Room Service.
We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you back,
Best Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our 10th stay and our 3rd Xmas stay. We are treated SO well, beautiful rooms, service,
fantastic staff. We eat breakfast at a little cafe 2 minutes away and dine away from the hotel in the older area. We had Xmas dinner at the hotel and again this year it was superb and expensive but worth it. We love the bar where we had a cocktail every night
Can't wait to return

Room Tip: Join the Ambassador club
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baltzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Baltzan,

Thank you for the sharing your experience following your stays at the InterContinental Calrton Cannes hotel.

Your loyalty to the IC Carlton Cannes with your objective feedback make us really proud.

We hope to see you soon in your Cannes résidence, to make you live again the unique experience in an InterContinental life.


Best Wishes for 2014

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We checked in on December 29th. We opted to pay for an upgrade to sea view, mainly to see the fireworks in the bay on the 31st. You can imagine the hotel was very busy and all services were stretched to the limit. Having said this with over 500 demanding guests the service was maintained to a very high standard. In particular Caroline and Emily, (in training ) on reception were perfect ambassadors for Carlton. Our room 236 was called Deluxe Sea view, if I am completely honest it is a little worn. The carpets are flat, the wallpaper pealing and the paint dull. However the room is spotlessly clean, soft robes, slippers, housekeeping doing a great job. 5 stars is about little touches, for example, my wife's book by her bed, when we returned one day had an Intercontinental bookmark,,thoughtful. We had Breakfast included, and what a breakfast (can be taken in room for a 5 euro tray charge ) full cooked breakfast buffet, great juices, salmon, cheese, great coffee, really superb, no scrimping at all. Included also was Nicolas Feuillatte Champagne, unlimited. There were big queues even with the bar allocated for breakfast. However turnover was quick and we waited, like most for about 10 minutes. Serving this many people is not easy and was handled with charm and efficiency. In summary this is a fantastic iconic hotel. It is world class, they do a fantastic job. The benefits are huge, location is fantastic, when you sit on the terrace in the sun looking at the sea it's impossible not to feel good. If you get a chance to visit Cannes this is the place to stay. We loved it and will return. Mr and Mrs Reid

Room Tip: Splash out for a sea view it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowdropLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Mrs and Mr Reid,

Firstly thank you for your lovely review posted following your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes hotel.

It is so rare to find a non anonymous Client, using their real name to write a objective comment.

We are really proud when our commitments to offer a high level of service is celebrated by your entire satisfaction.

It was a real honour to welcome you in your Cannes residence for New Year Eve. All the Carlton Team will always be available to make our valuable Client, like you, live a unique experience for your InterContinental lives.


Warm wishes for 2014

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Book a turret suite, you will find no finer! Lobby bar great to conduct business. Superb views of La Croisette and good restaurant and brilliant room service. If not visited you have to put on your list.

Room Tip: turret suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear graham044,

Thank you for your nice and objective review.

We can't be nice awarded when our valuable client, like you, share this kind of feedback.

We do hope have the pleasure to welcome you back in your Cannes residence, at the Carlton InterContinental hotel.

Best wishes for 2014.

Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.5 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Property: InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cannes. There is a place at the heart of La Croisette where you can enjoy a truly unforgettable moment in an intimate setting. Thanks to 100 years of tradition at your service, the InterContinental Carlton offers a unique experience under the Mediterranean sun. A genuine legend: The InterContinental Carlton Cannes cultivates this refined atmosphere where yesterday's charm and spirit mix with today's expectations. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and its private beach of fine sand, it offers incomparable service worthy of the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing