We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic hotel!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent two lovely nights at the Carlton. Beautiful views, beautiful room, beautiful lobby....magical Cannes. This is an institution. Other reviews comment on how expensive the hotel is. YOU ARE IN CANNES, FRANCE not Omaha, Nebraska. Most people do not get to experience Cannes ever in their lifetime so enjoy the history this lovely hotel has to offer.

Love this hotel, love this city. You can't go wrong in Cannes. The fireworks competition is marvelous (Aug).

Splurge a little...you only live once!

Room Tip: Don't forget that this hotel is part of the Inter-Continental Hotel Group...if you have enough p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaniehurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear beanierhurd,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

I am really happy to learn that you had a wonderful time at the Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive such a nice and realistic feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon at the Carlton ans especially during the fireworks competition.

Best regards from Sunny Cannes !
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    473
    211
    95
    87
See reviews for
240
880
59
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The outside of this hotel is really beautifull. And the hotel is on the Croissette which is where you want to be in Cannes. The rooms are disappointing. They are old and small and the bathroom is really basic. The biggest problem is the prices. All the food and beverages are extremely expensive. I know that Cannes is not the cheapest place but the prices in this hotel are really high. So when I take everything into consideration I am not going to this hotel any more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diederik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Diederick B,

First of all,thank you very much for your review following to your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
By reading it carefully, we were sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with certain of its aspects.
Be sure your remarks about the room you occupied will be shared with the concerned departments.
About your comments concerning our pricing, we believe our policy is accurate in comparison with other 5 Star hotels in Cannes.
However, we thank you very much for pointing out the general appearance of our establishment and the beauty of its location.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Carlton

Sincerely Yours

The Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Beautiful old hotel, the fur store in the lobby caught me off guard. From the second you enter the hotel you feel as if you are being judged and sized up on how big your wallet is. The staff is exceptional, however the overall feel of the hotel is a bit over the top and fancy. We got foodservice for the kids one night and I kid you not it was some of the best food we've had on the entire trip, let alone it was foodservice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jondnunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Jondnunz,

First of all,thank you very much for posting your review following to your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit and that we managed to meet your expectations in terms of quality.
Your compliments represent our best reward and we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at the Carlton.

Sincerely Yours

The Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and were sad to check out the following day!! Almost everything about this hotel is making you feel like a vip. We have had an upgraded deluxe room with sea view, and could check in the room very early in the morning!room is old but very large. Tv is a littlebit small. Breakfast was very good and reception does everything to make your stay amazing! Voiturier service was slow and understaffed. The 2 older men with gray hair and glasses were grumpy to take our car so we had to go to the concierge to arrange that!! Just a small remark!! Please let them laugh and follow the level of your other teammembers! If we are visiting cannes in future we are certainly returning to the carlton!! Thanks for everything!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmocools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear travelmoocools,

Thank you for your time sharing your great experience at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes hotel.

However you have met an issue, the Carlton team target it effectively to make you live a memorable stay. Thank you for bringing all your feeling during your stay, in order to deliver you all the service you expect.

We will be honoured to welcome you back again for your next trips in the French Riviera.

Sincerely Yours.

Guest Relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stunning hotel full of history and a great location overlooking the med. Staff are a credit to the hotel and the rooms and facilities are of a good standard.

But food and drink are expensive and the cost of a sun lounger on the 'Private' beach across the road are extortionate!

Overall a lovely hotel and stay and would recommend...it is Cannes after all!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Darrell W,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the InterContinental Calrton Cannes hotel.

We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay.

All the outlets have effectively cost and fee, but be informed that regarding the Carlton Beach, discounted rate are applied to the Guest staying at the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again, very soon, on the french riviera.

Best Regards

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A beautiful old hotel in a prime location. Overall, the personal service and the attitude of the staff were impeccable. The facilities and policies, however, were not. From the moment one walks in, the impression is that the hotel's mission is to extract as much money as possible from the traveler, rather than to provide the best service. So, breakfast is included, but only Continental, anything else is extra($). Beach loungers are included, but only behind the third row - closer to the water is extra ($). Laundry service is the most expensive of any five-star hotel in France, and it is outsourced to a vendor that doesn't work on Sundays ($). The food quality at the restaurants is superb and the service is good, but the prices are outrageous. Drinks at the bar start at about €30. The lobby and bar are littered with shops. Free internet is provided, but very slow and temperamental, if you want a reliable connection you need to pay for it. There is a business center, but only self-service, if you need copies or scans you need to go to the front desk and talk to the concierge. Inside the rooms, you will find old, stained carpets and banged-up wooden furnishings. Closet doors creak and don't open or shut smoothly because they no longer fit well. Bathroom was old and cramped. My very small shower/tub refused to drain but the bath curtain (!) leaked, so every time I showered the entire bathroom was flooded. This is ridiculous in a hotel of this price!
The Carlton is a tourist attraction in and of itself, but it's charm is certainly worn around the edges. Subpar physical installatiations, outrageous prices and the feeling that I was constantly being squeezed for every last penny, made my stay feel more like the sort of overpriced extravagance that makes you feel you wasted your money, rather than the refined luxury I was hoping for. Not even the friendly, helpful, and competent staff can compensate for the feeling that I got taken in by a trap for wealthy foreigners with more cash than taste.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmvh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Jmvh2013,

Thank you for your time sharing your commenst regarding your stay at the InterContinental Calrton Cannes hotel.

However we are sorry to read that you did'nt enjoy a great experience travelling in France, with lot of outlet where you have to pay. At the IC Carlton Cannes, no bad surprise could happen, as all rate are shown in all supports, and collateral.
Then all the Staff stay at the entire disposal of our valuable Customers, like you, to enjoy their stay. And we thank you for your congratulation to our team.

Even if the Carlton is well known all over the year, for its century of elegance and services, (not for a touristic place to be visited) the Carlton is part of the Group interContinental with high level of services guaranteed, with staff well trained to offer your "in the know" advices, celbrating the difference wherever our foreigner customers come from.

Lot of different rates and packages are suggested, following the season or time of booking, and at least booking through Virtuoso Agencies, as you made, allows us to offer high level of service expected all over the year, with lot of advantages and welcome amenities.

Looking forward to welcoming you again for your next trip on the french riviera, and to have time to meet you, if you have any suggestion to be provided during your stay in order to target problems, and to improve at time.

This is also the power our 5 star hotel, we have be sure your stay will be memorable, staying at your disposal 24h a day.


Sincerely Yours,

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

As you pull up to the hotel and see all the exotic cars and well dressed people you can't help but think your a famous person yourself. Elodie at the front desk was able to give us a complimentary upgrade to our room and was extremely helpful throughout our stay. The food at the terrace was delicious with equally helpful staff as well. 5 star service the entire stay from the beach to the concierge. Can't wait to come back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Plbflyatlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Plbflyatlantic,

First of all,thank you very much for leaving your review following to you recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
By reading your feedback, we were happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit together with the level of service that was proposed to you.
Be sure your praise comments will be shared with the entire team as they represent our best reward.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Carlton on the occasion of your next visit to the French Riviera.

Best regards

R.Van de Poël
Assistant Manager / Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.5 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Property: InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cannes. There is a place at the heart of La Croisette where you can enjoy a truly unforgettable moment in an intimate setting. Thanks to 100 years of tradition at your service, the InterContinental Carlton offers a unique experience under the Mediterranean sun. A genuine legend: The InterContinental Carlton Cannes cultivates this refined atmosphere where yesterday's charm and spirit mix with today's expectations. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and its private beach of fine sand, it offers incomparable service worthy of the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing