We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please tell me when you are going to finally renovate !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have been staying at the Carlton since 1960. First with my parents, then with my wife. We usually go twice a year. Once in June/July and then August/September.
I highly recommend that you try to miss " HIGH HIGH " season as it puts obvious strains on the hotel and the area for that matter.
Location, service , and public areas are outstanding !
I am sorry to say , the rooms are a disgrace. They have been in need of a total renovation for years now. Plumbing, air conditioning , and room amenities ( furniture etc) are pathetic.
I have been told the hotel has recently been sold again. I am really hoping the new owner will invest some long term capital and bring the hotel back to its former glory.
Finally I would like to respond to people complaining about prices. This is Cannes, not Albany NY. The prices are the prices, and if you don't like it , go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank YYZDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear YYZDDS,

Thank you very much for leaving you comments following to your stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We would like to thank you also for mentioning the quality of the quality of the service together with the beauty of the location.
However, we were sorry to learn you were not satisfied with certain aspects of your visit.
Your remarks about the rooms and the need of renovations kept all our attention and will be shared with the departments concerned.
We are sincerely looking forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon at the Carlton .
Thank you very much for your loyalty !

Best regards

The Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 2,009 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Must have been a fantastic place in the 80's, possibly the 90's.
But it is not acceptable for such a Palace to be left as is since then.
However, the staff is still top class, and hence the service and the food is still excellent.
Of course I can't really complain for the price I paid, EUR 290 / night for a double room, as compared to EUR 600 for the fully 2003 renovated Intercontinental Paris hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EricBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear EricBeirut,

First of all,thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following to your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed the top service of our staff together with the quality of the food proposed to you.
However, your comments about the hotel aspect kept all our attention and will certainly be shared with the management.
We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon at the Carlton.

Sincerely Yours.

R.Van de Poël
Assistant Manager / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It's one of the top hotels in Cannes with an impressive lobby area. Expensive flower arrangement, top restaurants/campaign bar etc., so you definitely get the initial wow when you arrive. There are many displays of expensive watches/jewelry in the hotel (e.g. Van Cleef) so you can definitely spend a lot of money shopping there. There are your typical supercars parked outside (all Dubai plates) and the restaurant/cafe was full of well-healed customers with massive watches (again, mostly from the middle-east).
The accommodation was small for a double and the overall decor just felt tired and old. Whether you feel this is 'classic' or 'tired' is subjective but I definitely felt the latter. Other facilities such as the spa/gym was pretty poor so I guess you are paying for the name and location (right by beachfront). Shame the hotel front was full of working girls in the evening as it kinds felt dodgy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shininghero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear shininghero,

Thank you fro bringing to our attention this experience which is not reflecting the usual comment received post stay.

We regret not to have had the opportunity to meet you during the stay to understand clearly your deception.

Feel free to contact the Guest Relation during your stay, to make it more comfortable.

We know you have many to choice to lodge, and we regret that you didn't enjoy your InterContinental Experience.

Sincerely Yours

Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I just stayed at the Intercontinental Cannes for 4 nights with friends. The hotel was nice and luxurious from the amenities to the size of rooms. The only problem We encountered was on the terrace which is usually packed all day. Since we had dinner the night before with reservation my friend decided to book a table the next night for drinks. Which she confirmed through the concierge, but once they arrived they were ignored by the busy staff and asked on of them for the table under our name but the waiter was too busy to attend to her and just dissmissed her by sayings that they don't take reservations for a table on the terrace for drinks and claimed that there was no reservation under her name! We didn't have time to complain since we had to secure another table somewhere else which we did in a restaurant on the Croissette that had amazing music. Regardless of the bad treatment we got I think we were better off somewhere else!

P.S. If you have time to wait for a table do so otherwise it's not worth it there are far more interesting places to visit that are few steps away.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Alya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Alya S,

First of all,thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following to your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
Even if you mentioned the beauty and the quality of the amenities proposed to you we were sorry to learn that you were not happy with certain aspects of your visit..
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience it may have caused you.
With regards to your remarks about our Terrace and especially concerning the tables reservations , be sure they will be shared with the concerned department that will surely take the necessary steps in order to avoid any recurrence of such situations in the future.
We sincerely hope you will give us a new opportunity to welcome you back at the Carlton for your future travel needs on the French Riviera.

Best regards from Sunny Cannes !

R.Van de Poël
Assistant Manager / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our 4th stay here and have always enjoyed it.
Our room was on the 6th floor on the LH facing side of the hotel. Room was very spacious, comfortable and thankfully quiet.
Staff are always very friendly and helpful especially the crew on the beach.
Yes, it is very expensive but that's to be expected although I feel that charging €55 per person per day to use the beach is a bit over the top. It also seems that more beds have been put on the beach which makes it too crowded, advise going on the pier.
One issue and I realise that I maybe in the minority here but I don't understand, in a hotel of this class, why there are two huge TV screens showing sport in the bar/lounge. Also playing 'lift' type music. As the whole hotel is 'movie' themed, if they must have TV's perhaps they should play classic movies and play music from the movies, this would be more in keeping. The sport seems to be in mainly for the benefit of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Moerom,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments following to you recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
By reading your review, we were happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit and that we managed once more to meet your expectations in terms of quality.
Your satisfaction is very important for us and your compliments represent our best reward.
Thank you very much also for your remarks about the bar.
Be sure they will certainly be forwarded with the concerned department.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Carlton..

Best regards from Cannes !

The Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of the most exclusive hotels we have been to thus far, where a buffet doesn't seem like a buffet at all. And Expect to be greeted by a friendly, helpful, attentive staff with a top notch concierge

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 5th floor which is a standard roo but with a bonus balcony and water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebPete1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear DebPete1024,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
I am really happy to learn that you had a wonderful time at the Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive such a nice feedback.
Be sure that your comments will be shared with the rest of the team in order to let them know they managed to reach your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon at the Carlton.

Best regards from Sunny Cannes !

The Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Carlton in Cannes is a brand, and they think they will last forever. I stayed for a week. For this price I have mixed feeling about service which did not understand my small requests. As I needed to send some business mails, internet connection was almost like in 1999 and if you want to use it for longer then half an hour a day you have to pay some enormous euros. Ofcourse one text mail almost use this 30 minutes to download. Rooms are spacious by tiny bathrooms with this oldschool shower curtain doesnt make sense at all. It's great location, breakfast buffet is nicely done. But why you have to pay for slowest internet on the earth and 40 euro for towel on their private beach?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Chrumo,

Thank you very much for sharing your review following to your stay a year ago in September 2013.
Even if it appears that you enjoyed your stay globally speaking,we took good note of your precious remarks that will be shared with the concerned departments.
Concerning the internet , I would like to inform you that all the system has been changed this year in order to propose a better service to our valued guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Carlton on the occasion of your future visit on the French Riviera.

Sincerely Yours

The Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: £161 - £632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Carlton In Cannes, one of the best-known cities in the world, is one of the world’s most mythical hotels. Since 1913, in the heart of the Bay of Cannes on the prestigious Boulevard de la Croisette, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes has demonstrated its savoir-faire in a tradition of matchless hospitality still carried on today by the men and women who are its inheritors. In the Mediterranean sunshine, immerse yourself in an elegant and refined atmosphere where the charm and tradition of yesteryear live on in harmony with the demands of modern life. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and private white-sand beach, the Carlton invites you to join in writing its continuing history each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing