We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #9 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overrated and too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

I booked three weeks at the Carlton as a birthday gift for my husband. It was celebrating "A Century of Elegance". We stayed in the Liv Ulmann suite at a cost of about $1,200 per night. Let's put it thus way: the Carlton is wildly coasting on its past reputation. The suite was quite nice with a tiny balcony but was in need of updating and a good paint job. You paid extra for EVERYTHING: wifi, $5 euros to have a bucket of ice brought to the room, to sit on the Carlton's cramped beach club (outrageously expensive), and the room service and housekeeping were a near disaster . Overall, very disappointing though the included breakfast was excellent (sad to say, that is about the best I can say about the Carlton; next time, we will stay at the Majestic.)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Frank G,

Thank you very much for sharing you feedback following to your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
By reading your comments carefully, we were sorry to learn that we did not manage to reach your expectations in terms of quality and service.
Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused you.
Be sure your detailed remarks will be shared with the concerned departments .
Even if we clearly understood your stay could have been more enjoyable, we would like to thank you very much for pointing out the quality of the breakfasts together with the beauty of your Suite.
We sincerely hope you will give us a new opportunity to welcome you back in order to restore your faith in our hotel.

Best regards

The Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    456
    202
    92
    81
See reviews for
233
852
57
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This is without doubt the most perfect location and most superb customer service my wife and I experienced.

Delphine noticed that it was my wife's birthday on checkin and gave us such genuine attention and warmth to make this a fantastic weekend .
The hotel is perfect but the staff are even better.

I was already a fan of IHG,this is the best of the best of any hotel brand anywhere

Highly recommended!!!!



Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear MartinC,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following to your recent visit at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We were very happy to read that you had an excellent stay among us and that we managed to reach your expectations in all terms.
Thank you very much also for mentioning Delphine who gave you this little " Carlton touch " that made your stay even more special on the occasion of your wife's birthday.
Such a positive review is our best reward !
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future in order to make you live another unique experience.

Sincerely Yours

R.Van de Poël
Assistant Manager / Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is for show off lovers.

You wanna show the "world" your simpson yellow ferrari ? Your orange lamborghini or your white bentley...this is the place. But only if your shoes are coordinated to your car's colour.

Room on the 6th floor with a tiny balcony. Size of the room was <20m2 with old bathroom and cheap amenities.

Restaurant is overpriced and quality is average.

This lovely packge for the very reasonable price of 1350 USD per night...

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HISKANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear HISKANDER,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Yes, indeed, this is truly a five star hotel. From the time you arrive and the outdoor staff greet you, to the front desk staff, who, by the way, are spiffy in their "flight attendant style" uniforms, to the staff that passes by in the hallway, you feel like a million bucks. The hotel is impeccably clean and up-dated. The breakfast room is, hmmmm, hard to describe without tears coming to my eyes because I am not there!! Fine china, hot coffee, attentive staff, a beautiful buffet and a breathtaking view of the Med...sigh...
The rooms are spacious and clean, the linens are fresh and crisp and the beds are incredibly comfortable (and I have back issues). Our room was on the side away from the Med, very quiet. The beach is right across from the hotel, you have to, of course, pay for a lounger and umbrella, it is expensive, but you're in Cannes! Nothing is cheap here! A coke from the mini-bar was 15$ CAD. I stayed here for four glorious nights in July and I would definitely stay here again. I cannot comment on the quality of the restaurant, I did not eat in any of them other than breakfast. There are too many incredible restaurants nearby to stay in the hotel. Do yourself a favour, if this is in your snack bracket, stay here, gorgeous!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanjl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Susanjl_12

Thank you for your time sharing your review following your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed such a great InterContinental experience.

We hope to see you soon in your Cannes residence again, very soon, for your next trip on the french riviera

Sincerely Yours

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed for a week during the high season. Rooms are very expensive, The hotel is very well run with friendly staff. I had a room facing the sea. The view was glorious. I have put average for the sleeping quality because of the revving of powerful cars in the night up to about 5am. you would not hear it if you have a side or back room which is much cheaper. I attach a picture I took from my room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nouhad Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Nouhad Joseph N,

Thank you very much for sharing your review following to you recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We were happy to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and the quality of the service delivered by our staff.
However, we were sorry to learn that you experienced some inconvenience because of the revving of some " powerful" car on the Croisette very early in the morning.
During this very busy period, Cannes is unfortunately and sometimes victim of its success..
We hope you will give us a new opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Carlton.

Sincerely Yours

The Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I was anxious throughout my trip for this moment to write my review on my stay at the Carlton in cannes. It is difficult to write about any single aspect in this hotel since its so perfect; thus the english dictionary is limited to express. From the check-in second to the check-out procedure everything was just outstanding. I and on the behalf of my friends and family who stayed in this palace would like to thank, the front office team the housekeeping team the fnb team and the higher management for providing this tangible service hence make our vacation on the french rivera 10 times better !

101 years and counting... you are the BEST

Room Tip: ANY ROOM... IS PERFECT but book a sea view if you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faissal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Faillas,

First of all,thank you very much for your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes and for taking the time to share your review.
It was a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your visit and that we managed to exceed your expectations in terms of quality .
Such a fantastic feedback is our best reward as your satisfaction represents our only goal.
We are looking forward to welcoming you next summer in order to make you leave another enriching experience.

Sincerely Yours
R.Van de Poël
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I'm a Carlton fan and I've experienced the amazing Carlton touch in London, Montreal, NY, just to name a few. It is a shame to have a luxury hotel like Carlton International in CAnnes associate with a restaurant of a lesser value;run by a conceited maitre du sale, disrespectful , who chews gum or else while talking to clients, you are better of eating at any other restaurant on the Croisette!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room deluxe in september
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orchidspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Orchispa,

Thank you for having taken the time to post your comments further to your stay at the Carlton InterContinental Cannes.

We regret that our Restaurant did not meet your expectation and please be assured that your comments have been forwarded to the Head department concerned.

We look forward to serving you in the future, and thank you for continuing to choose InterContinental Hotels Group hotels.

With kind regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.5 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#19 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Property: InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cannes. There is a place at the heart of La Croisette where you can enjoy a truly unforgettable moment in an intimate setting. Thanks to 100 years of tradition at your service, the InterContinental Carlton offers a unique experience under the Mediterranean sun. A genuine legend: The InterContinental Carlton Cannes cultivates this refined atmosphere where yesterday's charm and spirit mix with today's expectations. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and its private beach of fine sand, it offers incomparable service worthy of the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing