We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt out of our league”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Perrysburg, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt out of our league”
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My husband and I recently stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon. I used reward points for the night, and feel that we were treated poorly partially because of that. Our room had peeling wallpaper and chipped paint. On more than one occasion we were questioned by hotel stay if we were guests there. I saw bellhops rushing to help guests with shopping bags while ignoring us lugging our heavy suitcases. There is no pool and they charge an exorbitant fee to use their beach. Overall I was very disappointed with the way we were treated. The lobby and location of the hotel are great, but it ends there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaymeFinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    485
    215
    95
    90
See reviews for
245
898
62
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

It's been 2 years now since we were last in Cannes and since then standards thankfully have improved. This will be our 5th time now, the first at the Carlton. The Carlton has always been a benchmark hotel in the south of France but now the Martinez the Miramar and the Majestic Barriere are snapping at it's heels with recent improvements. There are 2 newly refurbished modern hotels one is the Palais Stephanie on the Croisette (which used to be the Noga Hilton) and the Hotel 3.14 which is one road back opposite the side of the Carlton. Historically we've always stayed at the Palais Stephanie when it was the Hilton in a suite (only because we always managed to get upgraded for free) but this time having been to the Carlton for dinner we decided to stay there. We knew we would have to pay more, we knew we would have to sacrifce room size and we knew we would probably not get upgraded but we belieived it would be worth while. TRUST ME IT WAS.

Out of all the hotels in Cannes the Carlton just has the x factor and it's hard to explain why. It's probably because it oozes sophistication and class, it could be becuase it is very clean and tidy, it could be the service which is 95% brilliant and only dips when the staff are under pressure, it could be the brilliant breakfasts (complimentary champagne - and yes it is Nicolas Feuillatte Reserve Particuliere champagne and not just sparkling wine!), it could be the location in the middle of the Croisette, it could be the amazing Ferrari and Lamborghini super/hyper cars that draw up day after day, it could be the cleanest private beach in Cannes (you do pay €30-€45 euros a day per person for this privilege though, but it is worth it compared to the lesser beach clubs and hotel beaches) it could be the very good rooms which are clean tidy and comfortable and stocked with L'Occitane washing products and which are turned down and turnaround twice a day so you always have fresh towels. I'm sure the sea view rooms are brilliant and the suites exceptional but who goes on holiday to Cannes to spend time in their room? Trust me if you are going to Cannes forget room size, go for quality hotel facilities and service and book to stay at the Carlton, yes you will pay more and get less in terms of the room but the Carlton is about everything else, the full package. We've been into all the competitors again this time around and they are still chasing the Carlton and have not overtaken it yet. In a year or so the Carlton will need to get some minor cosmetic surgery and a lick of paint but as it stands we will be going back next year and will be going for a standard room, we can then enjoy a bottle or three of champagne on the terrace overlooking the azure blue sea with the money we save. When in Cannes the Carlton is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlBYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I was very excited to attend the Cannes Film Festival and couldnt wait to get to the hotel when arrived at the airport. when we got off the car, i tried to open the son's stroller, i couldnt and i the gaurds helping us with lugagge were making fun in french "she doesnt look like she ever opened the stroller, these people have 10 helpers in their house".
I was extremely disappointed when i entered the hotel where it was extremely crowded and noisy. I could understand that it was the film festival but you could hardly walk through. lots of camera crew and people lookingout for celebrities. spotted afew like brad pitt and lindsey lohan, it was impossible to get close to them.
The rooms were so tiny and old that i was just shocked at the stage the carpet was.
There was a security on every floor and they would stare at you untill u disappear into your room.
the next morning, i waited for friends in the lobby feeding my son , i was approached 3 times by staff asking me if i stay at the hotel and which room do i stay in. we went to have breakfast at the terrace, ordered afew things, the waiter almost threw the plates and orange juice on the table and when i asked for tea, he said to me " i will get the tea when i come to this side of terrace, why you dont order all togather?"
In Carlton, if you are not a celebrity, you are invisible.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humasamim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We just spent a w/e there and we had the room 205 (classic Room).

Indeed, room was a bit small nevertheless you are in a 5-star hotel and you cannot expect much more I guess for that kind of room even you can get something bigger in a less well known hotel of the Croisette with the same rates.

Any way, It was clean, quiet, bathroom has been updated/renovated and pleasant (L’Occitane bath products), A/C was ok, TV Cable faced with some sat. disruptions and view was awful (dirty fire escape) but it did not bother us as we were most of time outside.

Corridors (2nd floor) need some updates (especially the walls close to the room) and could smell much better but it was ok.

The service is top quality almost like in Mauritius which is, from my personal point of view, the reference in terms of service ,

All the staff is very attentive but special thanks to

> Stephane Fanciulli (chef concierge) for his useful help and efficient bookings prior to our arrival. (we had best sunbeds at Keller beach and good table at Baoli restaurant)

> Sami (waiter) for being so kind, prompt and helpful with us during our saturday breakfast (which was btw de-li-cious !)

Location is great, the building is one of the most beautiful of the Croisette and lobby is quite nice, Vallet service is expensive (Eur 37 per day) but very convenient and efficient.

Bottom line, if you can afford it of course, I would recommend this hotel and might pay for a sea view.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

we stayed at the carlton cannes for 1 night only as we were on route. it is a very historical old hotel with lots of history. but unless u are staying in the suites or villas or penthouse etc like the hollywood stars, you're in for a real shocker! the room we stayed in was tiny, cramped, old and extremely uncomfortable. even from the corridors before u enter the room, you would think that you are entering a closet. actually, my walk in closet at home is larger than the room they put us in. so we spent most of our time out doors instead. the service however is excellent, and what u would expect of a 5 star hotel. but the air con in the room was not working and it was like 30 degrees celcius outside, so very stuffy and uncomfortable. also, the room rates are exhorbitant for what you get. we expected a 5star plush hotel (even if it was only a deluxe room) but we didn't get that experience at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This hotel was the BEST part of my france experience. Hotel staff was polite, prompt
and the front desk treated me like I was the only one important in the hotel. It is immaculate, breakfast buffet was delicious. I am very picky with cleanliness and smells, this hotel is amazing.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JetSetFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I was there for a convention/ business
Top location on the coustline.
Service is top, Staff very helpfull.
rooms are spacious in classic style.
vallet service (also expensive)
Breakfast was very good.
Drinks are very expensive also the rooms but you are on a top location in Cannes.
If you want too book a room take one with seeview, the backside is not impressive.
They are not cheap but if you chose this location it is a plus.
Hotel is separated from the beach by main road.
Beachclub of the hotel is for a fee (€ 30 seat/day)

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgiantravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.5 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#16 of 126 in Cannes
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Property: InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Carlton In Cannes, one of the best-known cities in the world, is one of the world’s most mythical hotels. Since 1913, in the heart of the Bay of Cannes on the prestigious Boulevard de la Croisette, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes has demonstrated its savoir-faire in a tradition of matchless hospitality still carried on today by the men and women who are its inheritors. In the Mediterranean sunshine, at 58 Boulevard de la Croisette, immerse yourself in an elegant and refined atmosphere where the charm and tradition of yesteryear live on in harmony with the demands of modern life. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and private white-sand beach, the Carlton invites you to join in writing its continuing history each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing