We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette(Cannes)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion(Cannes)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$407
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Le Cavendish(Cannes)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$335
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Le Canberra(Cannes)(Great Value!)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,107)
Filter reviews
2,107 results
Traveller rating
1,138
530
240
104
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,138
530
240
104
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiconic hotelsea viewroom upgradeprivate beachbeach restaurantpeople watchingfilm festivalfrench rivierabeautiful roomsouth of francepublic areasla croisettehotel guestssea frontambassadorihgconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
975 - 980 of 2,107 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My husband and I recently stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon. I used reward points for the night, and feel that we were treated poorly partially because of that. Our room had peeling wallpaper and chipped paint. On more than one occasion we were questioned by hotel stay if we were guests there. I saw bellhops rushing to help guests with shopping bags while ignoring us lugging our heavy suitcases. There is no pool and they charge an exorbitant fee to use their beach. Overall I was very disappointed with the way we were treated. The lobby and location of the hotel are great, but it ends there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaymeFinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

It's been 2 years now since we were last in Cannes and since then standards thankfully have improved. This will be our 5th time now, the first at the Carlton. The Carlton has always been a benchmark hotel in the south of France but now the Martinez the Miramar and the Majestic Barriere are snapping at it's heels with recent improvements. There are 2 newly refurbished modern hotels one is the Palais Stephanie on the Croisette (which used to be the Noga Hilton) and the Hotel 3.14 which is one road back opposite the side of the Carlton. Historically we've always stayed at the Palais Stephanie when it was the Hilton in a suite (only because we always managed to get upgraded for free) but this time having been to the Carlton for dinner we decided to stay there. We knew we would have to pay more, we knew we would have to sacrifce room size and we knew we would probably not get upgraded but we belieived it would be worth while. TRUST ME IT WAS.

Out of all the hotels in Cannes the Carlton just has the x factor and it's hard to explain why. It's probably because it oozes sophistication and class, it could be becuase it is very clean and tidy, it could be the service which is 95% brilliant and only dips when the staff are under pressure, it could be the brilliant breakfasts (complimentary champagne - and yes it is Nicolas Feuillatte Reserve Particuliere champagne and not just sparkling wine!), it could be the location in the middle of the Croisette, it could be the amazing Ferrari and Lamborghini super/hyper cars that draw up day after day, it could be the cleanest private beach in Cannes (you do pay €30-€45 euros a day per person for this privilege though, but it is worth it compared to the lesser beach clubs and hotel beaches) it could be the very good rooms which are clean tidy and comfortable and stocked with L'Occitane washing products and which are turned down and turnaround twice a day so you always have fresh towels. I'm sure the sea view rooms are brilliant and the suites exceptional but who goes on holiday to Cannes to spend time in their room? Trust me if you are going to Cannes forget room size, go for quality hotel facilities and service and book to stay at the Carlton, yes you will pay more and get less in terms of the room but the Carlton is about everything else, the full package. We've been into all the competitors again this time around and they are still chasing the Carlton and have not overtaken it yet. In a year or so the Carlton will need to get some minor cosmetic surgery and a lick of paint but as it stands we will be going back next year and will be going for a standard room, we can then enjoy a bottle or three of champagne on the terrace overlooking the azure blue sea with the money we save. When in Cannes the Carlton is the place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlBYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I was very excited to attend the Cannes Film Festival and couldnt wait to get to the hotel when arrived at the airport. when we got off the car, i tried to open the son's stroller, i couldnt and i the gaurds helping us with lugagge were making fun in french "she doesnt look like she ever opened the stroller, these people have 10 helpers in their house".
I was extremely disappointed when i entered the hotel where it was extremely crowded and noisy. I could understand that it was the film festival but you could hardly walk through. lots of camera crew and people lookingout for celebrities. spotted afew like brad pitt and lindsey lohan, it was impossible to get close to them.
The rooms were so tiny and old that i was just shocked at the stage the carpet was.
There was a security on every floor and they would stare at you untill u disappear into your room.
the next morning, i waited for friends in the lobby feeding my son , i was approached 3 times by staff asking me if i stay at the hotel and which room do i stay in. we went to have breakfast at the terrace, ordered afew things, the waiter almost threw the plates and orange juice on the table and when i asked for tea, he said to me " i will get the tea when i come to this side of terrace, why you dont order all togather?"
In Carlton, if you are not a celebrity, you are invisible.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank humasamim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We just spent a w/e there and we had the room 205 (classic Room).

Indeed, room was a bit small nevertheless you are in a 5-star hotel and you cannot expect much more I guess for that kind of room even you can get something bigger in a less well known hotel of the Croisette with the same rates.

Any way, It was clean, quiet, bathroom has been updated/renovated and pleasant (L’Occitane bath products), A/C was ok, TV Cable faced with some sat. disruptions and view was awful (dirty fire escape) but it did not bother us as we were most of time outside.

Corridors (2nd floor) need some updates (especially the walls close to the room) and could smell much better but it was ok.

The service is top quality almost like in Mauritius which is, from my personal point of view, the reference in terms of service ,

All the staff is very attentive but special thanks to

> Stephane Fanciulli (chef concierge) for his useful help and efficient bookings prior to our arrival. (we had best sunbeds at Keller beach and good table at Baoli restaurant)

> Sami (waiter) for being so kind, prompt and helpful with us during our saturday breakfast (which was btw de-li-cious !)

Location is great, the building is one of the most beautiful of the Croisette and lobby is quite nice, Vallet service is expensive (Eur 37 per day) but very convenient and efficient.

Bottom line, if you can afford it of course, I would recommend this hotel and might pay for a sea view.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

we stayed at the carlton cannes for 1 night only as we were on route. it is a very historical old hotel with lots of history. but unless u are staying in the suites or villas or penthouse etc like the hollywood stars, you're in for a real shocker! the room we stayed in was tiny, cramped, old and extremely uncomfortable. even from the corridors before u enter the room, you would think that you are entering a closet. actually, my walk in closet at home is larger than the room they put us in. so we spent most of our time out doors instead. the service however is excellent, and what u would expect of a 5 star hotel. but the air con in the room was not working and it was like 30 degrees celcius outside, so very stuffy and uncomfortable. also, the room rates are exhorbitant for what you get. we expected a 5star plush hotel (even if it was only a deluxe room) but we didn't get that experience at all.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews