We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Albert 1er Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Albert 1er Cannes
Ranked #20 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were planning a one day visit to Cannes whilst saying in Nice, but I came across this Hotel and was so impressed with the reviews, we decided to stay here. Question was whether Albert 1er would really live up to the praise. It certainly did!
Nothing was to much trouble for our hosts. The room was well decorated, clean and a good size. I recommend the continental breakfast, no need to eat again till the evening.
If I had to be pushed to think of something that could be improved I can only think of two very minor points. Coffee & tea facilities in the room or day room. Also the check in is quite late in the day, our flight arrived mid morning meaning we had to drag our cabin bags around until late afternoon. Although we didn't ask about if dropping off our bags was possible.
It is a great location for Cannes restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandarinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albert1ercannes, Propriétaire at Hotel Albert 1er Cannes, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour Mandy, Bonjour Darren,

Je vous remercie pour votre gentil commentaire. A moi de vous dire à quel point j'ai apprécié votre présence dans l'hôtel, votre sourire et votre spontanéité....
Une petite précision pour votre prochain séjour veuillez prendre note que j'invite (par mail) mes clients arrivant le matin à venir déposer leur bagage et aussi disposer de la chambre si elle est libre.
Pour le petit café ou le thé de l'après-midi pas de problème sur demande , (la réception ferme seulement de 14h à 16.30h) et pensez à me demander une bouilloire à disposition (avec sachets de thé, de tisane de café, miel).
Avec ces nouvelles informations votre prochain séjour sera sans doute au TOP !!!!
Je vous embrasse tous les deux.
Evelyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    52
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
135
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
636 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,003 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

What a very pleasant surprise....an excellent 2 star hotel with wonderful 6 star owners.

The husband and wife owners, Evelyn and Nasser, could give a course on how to run a hotel and interact with guests! They are perfect hoteliers. I cannot remember more lovely and friendly and helpful owners in any other hotel. Always smiling, always working and always there to help. You will enter a calm and relaxed oasis!

This spotless hotel is a mere few minutes walk from the action and the old town with all the bars and restaurants. You do have a bit of a climb to get to the hotel but this should not be an issue. The hotel provides free parking.

My comfortable bedroom was spotless with a large bathroom and a glimpse of the sea. Breakfast (order the night before) was taken in the quiet, calm and sunny garden. Just a perfect start to my days there! I stayed three nights and as I was made to feel so welcome I returned for a further night.

This is a little gem and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albert1ercannes, Propriétaire at Hotel Albert 1er Cannes, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour les 6 étoiles et pour ces commentaires extraordinairement gentils.
Je confirme que le jardin est fleuri comme jamais pour vous accueillir pour le petit déjeuner ou pour une petite pause lecture au retour de la plage.
Rendre votre séjour agréable est pour Nacer et moi un réel plaisir.
Depuis l'Irlande, si le soleil vous manque un peu, nous avons toujours une chambre pour vous, face à la mer ...Welcome Sean one more time :)
Nous vous embrassons
Evelyne et Nacer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The beautiful hotel is located in a quiet area within 10-15 minutes walking distance up a hill from downtown Cannes. We were greated by a smiling lady by the name of Evelyne, who showed us where to park for free right next to the hotel.

The rooms were large, clean and comfortable, some of them with great views towards the sea. We woke up to breakfast served by the owners in a cosy backyard that seemed like it was from a french romantic movie.

As we were on a roadtrip around Europe, one of my friends expressed that he was a bit tired of the light type of bread being served for breakfast pretty much everywhere in the southern parts, and Evelyne actually went and got some dark bread to serve for breakfast the next morning. Now that's what you call good service.

We got a lot of good tips on what to do and see around the French Riviera based on the time we had there, and all of the information was delivered with a genuine, positive attitude. The location was good, the hotel was great and the staff even better. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cannes, and if I ever go back I know where to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrich_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albert1ercannes, Propriétaire at Hotel Albert 1er Cannes, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

je suis tellement ravie de voir que vous avez apprécié votre séjour et je vous remercie pour ce magnifique commentaire qui me donne encore plus l'envie de faire une belle saison.
Je suis là quand vous voulez pour un prochain road-trip sur la Cote d'Azur avec mon pain complet, mes conseils, la mer à portée de regard et le jardin fleuri comme jamais cette année.
Une grosse bise à ma clientèle Norvégienne.
Evelyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for five nights. We travelled on motorbikes, and the parking was at the back of the hotel out of sight from the road. The room was big and airy, clean and comfortable. Very french with lots of detail. It had a fridge which was useful. The breakfasts continental and delivered fresh every day. The staff and hotel owner were friendly, helpful and cheerful. The hotel was about 100 years old, but very well maintained. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk from the sea front, down quite a steep hill. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend hotel albert if you need to stay in Cannes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkyandPerky099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Hotel and the owners:
The hotel is located in a residential area. The building is well kept and nice. The owners greeted us warmly upon our arrival. They took the time to point out where and what to do while in Cannes. Evelyne and Nasser simply have a very warm and humorous way of being that feels very natural.
Private parking right outside the hotel.

Rooms:
We had a nice room facing the neighbor's garden. It was very quiet.

Breakfast:
It was served on the patio. A proper French breakfast with croissants, baguettes, jams and yogurts.

Location:
A short walk to the city centre.

In our opinion the hotel deserves three stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAC_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albert1ercannes, Propriétaire at Hotel Albert 1er Cannes, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
3 stars !!!!!!
Thank you very much. It's was a pleasure, really to received you in our family hotel.
I enjoy to give you information for organise a nice trip every day and there lot of place to visit again !!!!!
Hope to see you in Cannes one more time.
All the best for you.
Evelyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a wonderful, affordable, and charming place to stay right in Cannes. The hotel is up a steep hill from the main street down by the water and very close to the Old Town in Cannes, the Casino, the beach, and great restaurants. It is an up-hill walk of about 15 minutes (10 to come down) so you do have to be prepared for that. But if you're in mildly good shape, it's no big deal, and you won't mind the extra walking around Cannes. We loved the owner, Evelyn! She was so sweet and accommodating - and prepared delicious breakfasts each morning including all sorts of yummy croissants and breads and a HUGE cup of coffee- that we were able to eat out on the patio each day. And we also took advantage of a free parking spot, which was very convenient. The room was exceptionally clean and spacious and we had a view of the ocean. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to the area and would certainly recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: I think we were in 22 - it had a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica_NYC_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albert1ercannes, Propriétaire at Hotel Albert 1er Cannes, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Erica,

The photo from your room 204 is so nice !!!!!!
Thank you so much for that and for your sympathy.
I hope see you next time for share a breakfast in the garden with a good américan coffee.

All the best for you.
Evelyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertzelia, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Evelyn's personality--friendly, funny, helpful--made our stay at the Hotel Albert 1er wonderful. She (and the rest of the small staff, too) really made us feel at home and was a more personal and intimate experience than staying at any larger, chain hotel. Her recommendations of where to eat, which beach to go to and where to visit in the area were impeccable.

We chose this hotel based upon the great reviews on TripAdvisor, and they were completely accurate.

The hotel itself is rated 2 stars. Which means, I suppose, that it is not particularly luxurious. Which is true. Ie, there isn't an elevator, there is no room service, no fitness center or pool, etc. But, the rooms are large, comfortable and the room and bathroom have been recently renovated (look brand new) and are tastefully decorated. The common areas have also been recently renovated, so while the building itself is not necessarily new, it has been remodeled and is very clean and well maintained.

Location is wonderful. A quick walk downhill to the center of town, and a slightly slower walk uphill back to the hotel (about 7-10 min going downhill and ~15 going uphill).

Parking at the hotel is a HUGE plus.

If you are looking for a luxurious pampering, this may not be the hotel for you. If you are looking for warm, friendly and personal service with a practical, functional and incredibly clean and comfortable hotel with a good location, this is a perfect hotel.

Was a great base for our time in Cannes, and we would return in a heart-beat.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view and a nice breeze. Second floor facing south or east should do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albert1ercannes, Propriétaire at Hotel Albert 1er Cannes, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
I remember than your presence in the hotel was like the sun in a very very busy week !!!!
Never I forget, thank you again.
All the best for you.
Evelyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Ideal Sejour Hotel
Ideal Sejour Hotel
#12 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#10 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#3 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albert 1er Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albert 1er Cannes

Property: Hotel Albert 1er Cannes
Address: 68 avenue de Grasse, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albert 1er Cannes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Premier hotel profits of an ideal space.Close to the beach and the Cannes building of congresses ,its situated in a quiet and green district. This beautiful white villa goes towards the sea and Lerins islands.You can take your breakfast outside, under the shade of a tree of mimosas and pines.There's a nice meeting room inside where you can read a book or play cards in your free time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Albert 1er Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing