We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights on 14th & 15th July 2011. The location was very central , close to the railway station & only 10 minutes to the promenade. The hotel has a special concession with a beach club where we hired loungers at a special discounted rate.
We were very happy to be offered drinks on arrival from a lovely receptionist AnnMaire.
The room was big with a large double bed & had also a small balcony. There was free wireless internet in the room but the signal was not very strong & reception was patchy.

Please to note that the hotel offered 2 hours free drink every evening.
The breakfast was more than adequate & I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHughesN_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    139
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
58
464
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The staff work so hard to ensure your stay is memorable, and it is. Even the owner makes her presence felt each day, and it is pleasing she treats her staff so well. Bonus was the reduced breakfast tarrif and free house bar drinks in the evening, we appreciated all the extras. Each day you can grab your fresh beach towels and head to the private beach where you are treated like royalty ( for a very small price 14 each), the staff organise it all for you. Loved the Grand Casino near the film theatre on the beach, dont go to the one under the Mercure, its awful and smells. (remember your passport when going to the casinos). Although the room we had was awfully pokey it was a great hotel to stay in, suggest you book a BIG room if you can.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room they have ( and pay for it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Le Cavendish for 2 nights in May, over his birthday. On the day of his birthday, everyone who worked at the hotel, from the owner to the breakfast attendant, wished my husband a happy birthday in a very sweet, very genuine manner. The staff was so kind and helpful about everything. They recommended we visit Ile St. Marguerite, which is a short ferry ride away. Pack a lunch and go there for there day. It is a beautiful, relatively secluded island just 15 minutes off the shore of Cannes.
The rooms are lovely and big enough for 2 people. The hotel is well-kept and is definitely deserving of its high Trip Advisor rating. If you go to Cannes, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShatzOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

What a great welcome.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were offered a seat and drink whilst we sat checking in. Of all the hotels we've stayed in this was the first time either drink or seat during checking in was offered.

Throughout our stay every member of staff at the front office were extremely helpful and greeting us every time we met. During our stay Emma happened to be working at the front desk, providing us with assistance to check our restaurant reservations, recommending places to eat and where to visit. A great touch was a hand written note wishing one of us happy birthday.

The rooms were of reasonable size, clean and comfortable. A bonus was the balcony where we sat having a nice evening drink before venturing out to town.

Breakfast and the free evening bar tasty and refreshing. hic. hic.

Hotel chosen from the many great reviews on TA

Thanks to all at the Cavendish.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8---AW---LW---8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kano, Nigeria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We picked this hotel from the reviews on trip advisor, we were in cannes to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary and needed a quite and romantic location. This hotel didn't disappoint, all the reviews are true and more. The staff were amazing, the breakfast great!! We were also there when the elevator broke down and we were on the last floor but the staff were very nice about it and offered all the guests free drinks for the inconvenience. I like the historical significance of the elevator and for me being in it in the beginning was way cool. this hotel made our stay in cannes really worth it, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yashua2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Just a really great place; good location, well maintained, nice staff. Not cheap, but not overly expensive for Cannes. Not on the seafront, but quieter than on the seafront. Nothing to add to most previous reviews.

One thing to be aware of, though. The lift is very characterful but it broke during our stay on the Thursday and was due to be repaired the following Monday, after we left. Don't know when it was actually working again. Nothing the management could do about this, and they were sincerely apologetic and offered help with luggage etc. But the fact remains if the lift breaks you will have to take the stairs, and it's an old lift I don't know how often it breaks. Just be aware if you are getting on a bit or have any mobility problems.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aji1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavendish11, Owner at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Sir,

Many thks for your kind message. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay in Cannes in our hotel. I do apologise for the inconvenience due to the elevator breakdown. In fact we had a major electricity boosting in our area which burnt the lift engine. OTIS came on same day ( Thursday) and a new engine has been ordered . It has been installed on Monday and the lift was operationnal end afternoon.
This old elevator is certainly a work of art piece ( OTIS is very proud to say that they have a contract since 1920 on this lift ) but is totally in accordance with the french regulations which are extremeley strict.
I would be very pleased to welcome you back and no doubt you will enjoy the charm of this elevator which is part of the soul of the building.
Christine WELTER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The location is perfect- walking distance from the train station, beach, la Croisette- pretty much everything you need is close by. The best thing about this hotel is definitely the service. The staff is marvelous- very friendly and helpful with dinner, taxi or beach reservations, and everybody spoke English too. The hotel provides access to a private beach with lounge chairs, and they even give you towels in a nice little bag where you can throw in your sunscreen and flip flops. What prodded me to write this review is their open bar- you can literally help yourself to as much wine, spirits, even hard liquor as you want in the hotel bar. The staff even gave us nice snacks to go with our drinks (saucisson, olives, and nuts). I'm amazed, because I can imagine some college kids ransacking this bar- they're lucky I'm small and don't drink too much, haha! The two negative things I can think of is that we had to remove the drain cover from our bathroom sink in order for the water to drain, and our showerhead spewed water until my boyfriend fixed it. But those things were really minimal, especially since they provided a shower cap- CRUCIAL for me haha- a nail file, and the toileteries smelled really nice. The hotel surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzulaMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavendish11, Owner at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Madam,

Many thks for your kind message and I do appreciate you enjoyed all small attentions we have for our customers.
I apologise for the two " plumbing " problems you had in the bathroom but just wanted to say that our technician would have fixed it if you had asked to our receptionnist.
Hope you will be able to travel back to Cannes and I will personnally be happy to welcome you at Le Cavendish.
Best regards
Christine WELTER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#10 of 126 in Cannes
413 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Bastide De L'Oliveraie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Property: Hotel Le Cavendish
Address: 11 boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Fastbooking, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing