We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location at a reasonable price.”
Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
Ranked #3 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
evans, georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Loved the place! It was near all the great places without the outrageous price on the beach front. Walk and half a block and save a ton. The staff was courteous and attentive. The only down side was that they had to park my car. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ticebrashear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    143
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
62
478
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

It's a older Italian style building, in a French tourist area, with an English theme. There's so much good to say it's hard to start. Christine is the owner and she is in appearance frequently checking on the guests. We stayed two long weekends. We were in Cannes to help an elderly friend, and there was lots to work out. Every time I asked (and it was many times), help was cheerfully provided. There's a thousand old "charming" buildings like this in Paris -- all of them filthy. But this property is kept quite clean, which is impressive since we never saw the maids. It's been modernized, but I'm glad they kept the old elevator, which adds to the charm. The rotunda rooms are fun. And the happy hour is greatly appreciated. And I haven't even gotten to the breakfast, which is as good as any 5 star hotel in France. If you are just going to Cannes to be at the beach, you can easily walk and don't need a car. Really it's better not to have a car here, the traffic is horrible, and the crowds are thick on the croisette. We drove all weekend and went 60km (about 35 miles). Great boulangerie two blocks away. The rail station is close, and restaurants abound. The Cavendish staff know all the good ones, which are many. The good reviews are real here. I could be packed to go back in a minute.

Room Tip: Room 140 is the first rotunda room with a glassed in porch. Absolutely no noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbobWaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel. It is a small family owned business and the staff are very personable. The rooms are a good size with a separate shower and toilet separate from the bathroom. The room has a couch and good sized TV. There are external shutters that you electrically operate to block out all noise and light.
The staff are very helpful with advise on tourist sites and restaurant suggestions.
Highlights of this hotel include and beautiful staircase and very old world charm lift, free drinks from 6 to 9pm (good selection of wines, beers and spirits), great restaurant suggestions, valet parking, nice breakfast included and fantastic staff - ALL of them. All in all there are a lot of inclusions in the nightly rate.
If we had to criticise anything it would be that we prefer a softer bed (but it is really not too bad) and sleeping under a quilt is just too hot. But this seems to be the way with most hotels.
We had a lovely chat with the owner during our last breakfast and she really does have a passion as a hotelier looking for return visitors rather than just making a quick a euro. We would without question choose this hotel again - you will not be disappointed.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank feelingxxlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed one night with my husband in a Rotunda room for a treat, the night before we were moving in to our new holiday apartment around the corner. Unfortunately our flight had been delayed and it was raining, late, and we were very tired and hungry and, to our horror, we had missed the bar opening times. BUT the staff parked our car, sorted our luggage and rustled us up some lovely meats, cheeses, bread and salad all served up with a cooling glass of complimentary wine in our room. We sat on the lovely rotunda balcony and enjoyed the rooftop views of St Nicolas and Carnot before going to bed. The room was beautifully furnished and comfortable, quiet and immaculately clean. The staff are just wonderful and can't do enough to help.
I had also booked my octogenarian parents in for when we returned 10 days later and they haven't stopped talking about how well looked after they were. At their age, being in a new place on their own could have been daunting but they were made so comfortable we had to try hard to take them out sightseeing! The hotel is small and intimate, not big and anonymous like many on the Croisette, therefore everyone talks to each other and make you feel welcome, but in a way that still appreciates your own personal space.
Christine also told us of some lovely restaurants, which we had not yet discovered despite being to Cannes on many occasions, and they were excellent. A real gem of an hotel and, believe me, I've been to many and paid a whole lot more for a whole lot less!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Guest,

I will have one word : THANK YOU. I am so happy that you appreciated our place : the kindness of our staff, the nice rooms, the friendly atmosphere and my little tips !
You explained everything and I do not have much to add :)

We do hope to see you back very soon,

Christine WELTER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Le Cavendish between 19th -21st April as an extended stay in Cannes following a business trip. From the moment we arrived the staff could not be more helpful. The room was great with double French doors opening on to a balcony. The location could not be better as only a 4-5 min walk to the sea front, harbour, shops and restaurants. I thought that the free bar was going to be a token gesture, however between 6-9pm each evening there were a range of wines, branded spirits, beers and soft drinks available for guests, and this encouraged us to sit and chat with other hotel guests and meet some great people. The previous two days I had stayed at the International Carlton on the seafront in Cannes, and I can honestly say that I enjoyed my stay ten times more in Le Cavendish.

Hotel Cavendish - please don't change a thing as you manage to offer a level service and experience that few other hotels manage to match.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MBiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is such a stylish and friendly little hotel. The owner is Tres Chic - the inclusive bar opens for you even when you arrive late. The rooms are gorgeous - I wanted to move in. The investment into the new coffee machine is the icing on the cake. Highly recommned this lovely establishment.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonkersBridezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your nice comment. What could I add ? You even noticed the new coffee machine serving organic and fair trade coffees in elegant glass cups.
It is always so positive to see that customers notice the efforts we make to improve the hotel product. As owners of the hotel, we always think about client's satisfaction and your comments are the best rewards
Thank you

Very best regards
Christine Welter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed here 11th April for three nights. A group of ten friends on a weekend city break. I cannot speak highly enough of this fabulous hotel. We all agreed it is probably the nicest hotel we've ever stayed in and we've stayed in quite a few! From the moment we arrived Christine and her wonderful staff looked after us superbly well. We were treated like royalty! Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean. Situated about 5 minutes walk from the harbour it is perfect for exploring Cannes. Will definitely go back....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teflonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#12 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Bastide De L'Oliveraie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Property: Hotel Le Cavendish
Address: 11 boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing