We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not fault this hotel-one bit!”
Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I booked this hotel through S.Escapes as a surprise for my other half's 25th Birthday. We arrived the morning of the 10th of May and we were welcomed warmly into reception, offered drinks on arrival, bags were taken car eof taken up to our room whilst a staff member gave us a tour of the hotel. We were shown to our room and throughout our stay the staff were most helpful and friendly in advising places to visit and go out in the evening.

We were really impressed with the free bar that included beer, spirits, mixers, and wine from 6pm-9pm, this felt like a real luxury and made going out in Cannes a lot cheaper!

The breakfast we were equally as impressed with, a wide choice including pastries, eggs, cold meat, bread etc!

All in all we are looking forward to visiting Cannes again in the future and staying at this very hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your stay with us. We are so happy you liked our address in Cannes . As you described so well, , it is a different place compared with all classic luxury hotels in Cannes.
We hope you will be able to come back very soon,

Very kind regards
Christine WELTER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We are just coming to the end of our week here and it has been great. From the welcome last Saturday and the complimentary gin and tonic and quick guide to the town everything has been good, breakfast is continental and simple but the ham is tasty, the bread and croissants fresh and fabulous and always something different freshly baked and a sweet surprise. The evening open bar with bubbles is great either to sit and chat for 3 hours (never had that before except at all inclusive) or a quick drink on the way in or out. All the staff are really helpful and friendly, booking restaurants , guiding us around the transport options, helping with maps, enquiring how the restaurants were, just the way a little boutique hotel should be. The soundproofing of the external windows is great and you are an easy walk from the front and the croisette and the old town. If you are flying into Nice the airport bus 210 stops right outside! Beautifully restored old building including the tiny 1920s lift - 3 people max!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra then the rounds rooms are bigger and have large balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcleodalimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very nice and clean hotel in busy Cannes. The staff is extraordinarily friendly and welcoming,the room is clean and nice sized. The complimentary evening happy hour and breakfast (if you order through the hotel website) were a nice touch and there was plenty of variety. The location is good - just a short walking distance ti the center, restaurants etc.
Parking through the hotel costs 25 euro per day but its definitely possible to find free or city parking near by for much lesser cost.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miri_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had a wonderful stay in this lovely hotel. The hotel staffs are really kind and friendly. I love them all. The room is very clean and comfortable. I loved the cozy furnitures. The bath room comes with organic amenity goods and everything is eco conscious. There are many luxurious big hotels in the coast, but this hotel offers the best advantage of staying at the small hotel where you can get the quality of service with personal attention and at home like atmosphere. This is my kind of hotel. I really enjoyed their open bar. What an excellent idea. I will definitely come back to this hotel if I ever visit Cannes again. I recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiccolaVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

I will only have one word : THANK YOU. Thanks on behalf of our staff. They all love their job and this is what you felt during our stay . Hospitality business should be based on these great values of kindness and generosity . This is what we try to implement in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in Cannes,

Christine WELTER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I stayed four nights in this lovely oasis in a busy town. On arrival we were shown two rooms and asked if we would like to upgrade. Oddly the 'standard' room we were shown was far better and larger than the second room we were shown. It wasn't until a few days later that we noticed the sign on the full length mirror stating that we were in a 'superior' room. The young receptionist had obviously made a mistake. We would have gladly paid the extra.
Breakfast and the open bar were both very good, as was the service and attention to detail. Use of beach towels was a nice touch.

The only slight criticism would be the that the tiling in the shower needed re grouting as a lot of it was mouldy...not enough to concern us but should still be looked at. Even though we did not speak fluent French this was not a concern for the staff we came across. However, not being fluent does not mean I did not understand conversations between staff so perhaps a little discretion would be best in future?

We would definitely stay again and would recommend his lovely hotel to family and friends. I would most probably book the 'rotund' room next time as a regular guest could not speak highly enough of the room.
Thank you for a great break

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzylooMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in October 2013 at this hotel. It was by far the most hospitable service we had by far while on our 2 week travel through France. The hotel was charming and full of character and a quick walking distance from anywhere we went to. We were met by Emma when we arrived and she was wonderful. She told us all about the city, and what to expect. She reccomended wonderful restaurants and was by far one of the most amazing persons we have ever met. Thank you Emma for making us feel so comfortable. The rest of the staff was wonderful also. Not a single complaint. Stay here, you cannot go wrong. And by all means, when you are in Canne take a trip to St. Honorat island, you will feel like you have died and gone to heaven.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at Le Cavendish in July 2013 and we could not be more pleased with our experience. Le Cavendish offers moderate prices paired with the service and character of a boutique hotel, making for a unique and valuable hotel experience. Visitors to Cannes would do well to book with Le Cavendish.

We located the hotel using TripAdvisor but booked directly through the hotel’s website, which entitled us to complimentary breakfast. We caught a bus from the Nice airport to Cannes, which was an easy trip to make. The walk with luggage from the bus station to Le Cavendish is a bit long which makes a taxi is a reasonable choice. Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a most friendly receptionist who helped us get settled. We met her many more times throughout our stay, and I wish my memory was better because her kindness surely deserves mention here. The staff at Le Cavendish is outstanding. We enjoyed superb service from Raouf in the bar area, and we encountered Ms. Weller, the owner, on many occasions, and always found her very pleasant. She remembered our names, room number, and where we were from, and usually offered advice on things to see and do in Cannes. That kind of personal touch is refreshing and it’s a big reason to choose Le Cavendish.

As I mentioned, breakfast was included by booking via the hotel’s website. This included an assortment of French pastries, yogurt, and various other items. Hot items such as eggs prepared to order were available for an additional charge. We were more than satisfied with the pastries which we felt were of good quality. There is also a complimentary Happy Hour in the early evening, during which an assortment of wines, alcohols, liqueurs, aperitifs, and snacks are available. This is a generous offering which my wife and I quite enjoyed. It is a nice way to unwind after a day of sightseeing and a good opportunity to chat with other guests who come from a wide variety of worldly locations. And a great opportunity to practice your cocktail-making, as the bar is self-serve. Happy hour was good fun.

We selected a Standard room and were quite pleased with the accommodations. The room was large and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. A basket of fresh and dried fruits was waiting for us on arrival. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean, and the water pressure was good. There was a large balcony overlooking a fairly busy street, but the interior of the room remained quiet despite some street-level construction. The blackout shutters are great if you want to get some serious sleep.

Le Cavendish is not a beach hotel; it is 5-6 blocks from the beach. The walk is under 10 minutes and goes through an area of town with lots of shops and restaurants to explore. The hotel offers access to a private beach (Plage Goeland) which we used and enjoyed daily. Warm water and soft sand make the beach very inviting, and the snacks and drinks aren’t too expensive.

As for exploring there is plenty to see in Cannes. We especially enjoyed a trip to Ste. Marguerite island. We also made the trip to Monaco, which was about 1 hour each way by train. The wealth in Monaco is staggering but it makes for a neat experience to wander the area. As for dining in Cannes, we really just strolled around and looked at menus until we found a restaurant that sounded appetizing, and generally we were not disappointed.

Overall Cannes was an excellent and relaxing place to visit. Our plan was to see some sights, enjoy some good food and drink, and most of all relax and unwind at the beach. Cannes met all of our expectations. Le Cavendish made the trip especially memorable. It offers first class service, great comfort, a strikingly friendly staff, and great value. If you are traveling to Cannes and you value personal service, attention to detail, and unique and charming hotel experiences, book Le Cavendish Hotel with confidence.

Room Tip: We selected a Standard room and were very pleased by the quality. Surely the higher level rooms wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bron-Yr-Aur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great comment on Trip Advisor. I have nothing to add as you described so well all details .
Just one comment: you came last summer and as you noticed there were some roadworks in the city which was preventing the airport shuttle bus to stop as usual in front of the hotel. Everything is completed now and we have back again a stop 5 mn walking distance to Le Cavendish for airport buses / just mention to the driver when you get inside the bus at the airport that you want to stop " Place Vauban " .

Thanks again for all these nice comments . I will make sure that my staff gets a copy of this one :)
Very best regards
Christine WELTER / OWNER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
830 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Bastide De L'Oliveraie
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#19 of 126 in Cannes
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Address: 11 Boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: £90 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing