We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and quiet hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Charming hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. After check-in the receptionist goes with you up to your room to show around and gives some details about the hotel.
Since it is not a palace hotel (on the Croisette) the price is okay/fair, considering that everything is hugely over priced during the high season (August) in Cannes.
My room was located on the street parallel to Blvd Carnot and it was very quiet. There is no restaurant attached to the hotel but you are surrounded by about a million of them in each direction. And there is a very good buffet breakfast and an open (free) bar that runs from 5 pm to around 9 pm. The beach is about 5 to 10 minutes walking.
It is not a trendy, modern hotel, but more something rustique and elegant and with a very old-fashioned lift; it is an iron cage with an outer and inner door that you need to slide open. Much like the one in the James Bond movie Diamonds Are Forever where Bond has a fight with Mr. Franks who he is impersonating.
All in all, very charming and very recommended.

Room Tip: My room was on Rue Bucquet (parallel to Bvd Carnot) and was very quiet (Bvd Carnot can be a bit busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cvh180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

There is only one small downside to Le Cavendish and that it their hotel entrance which is a little dark and does not portray the true charm of the hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean and provided with amenities found in boutique hotels. The staff are incredible - I travel extensively and I have never met such helpful, genuine and friendly staff. They went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. The hotel is situated in an excellent location, with 2-3 minute walks to either the train and bus stations, Le Croisette and the beaches and is mid-way to the delightful old city of Cannes. The hotel also provides vouchers to assist one use a private beach club, which was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anndevilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. Staff was warm, genuine and helpful (no French attitude). The morning breakfast and evening free drinks were above par. The location is excellent. The rooms are spotless and well-maintained. I will certainly stay here in the future. The hotel staff deserves praise for the effort they put in to make my stay so seamless.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A sweet and charming little hotel in the center of Cannes. Clean rooms, nice but small breakfast buffet (Coldcuts, Fresh fruits, pasteries, lovely bread etc) , a generous Open bar every night and friendly staff. Cosy atmosphere in the bar/lounge area. I was there with my mother one week ago and we stayed for four days, I would really recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates a chic and relaxed city hotel! Hanna, Stockholm Sweden

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rarely have I ever been as impressed by a hotel as I was recently at Le Cavendish, Cannes.

The hotel is a charming and comfortable individual residence with an early 20th Century feel, not least due to the original/authentic caged lift in the centre. My over riding memory will be of the staff who were 'all' so helpful, happy and cheerful to any need or request. The owners should be duly proud of them.

I had 2 'Rotunda' rooms, one for us and the other as a twin for my daughters; lovely rooms with huge balconies. The hotel has an excellent arrangement with a quality private beach on the croissette. This is fantastic as paying for this facility once on holiday would become expensive for a family. The evening open bar is a nice touch and allowed us a few family drinks with other guests before dining out at one of the myriad of restaurants available in Cannes.

I would not hesitate to recommend Le Cavendish to others and when I next return to the area I will not even look for a different place to stay. I can't wait to go back! Thank you all so much for making our family holiday that extra bit special.

Room Tip: The Rotunda rooms (we had 2) are quite special with the bed in the centre of the room and the en-sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frottles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

A couple of minutes walk down the road from the croisette, we had a lovely stay at Le Cavendish! The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was charming and clean with free wifi. Breakfast was lovely and every night from 6-9pm they had a free open bar where they would serve appetisers and you could pour your own drinks. The only downside was the pillows were uncomfortable and the room quite small, but enough room for 2. I would stay again.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Stevie-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

While this hotel isn't right on the water, it's a very short walk to all of the gorgeous beaches and harbor in Cannes. The bus from the airport stops right next to it, making it very easy to get to. The rooms were very clean, large, clean bathrooms, and the hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The beach package was a great option, providing towels and reserved loungers at Le Goeland.

Breakfast each morning was delicious. I've never eaten more cheese, prosciutto, or croissants before noon (if ever). Great selection of food.

Happy hour was wonderful as well. Such a nice way to start the evening.

My only gripe with the hotel at all was the that AC wasn't that great in the rooms but it must be because it's so old. When it's very hot outside, the rooms don't feel all that cool.

Great location, great hotel, great staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Soho85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#14 of 126 in Cannes
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Address: 11 Boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: £89 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing