We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel/Location”
Review of Hotel Renoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Renoir
Ranked #12 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel/Location”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

HOTEL: My Wife and I stayed here for 11 nights at the end of March/Easter 2013 to celebrate our 40th wedding Anniversary. We had booked a junior suite and upon arrival, the hotel had upgraded us to a full suite (Room 401). They also brought up a nice bottle of champagne on the evening of our actual anniversary. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay with good advice on travel/restaurants etc. (As others say, the lift is slow and small, and breakfast can be late if they are busy, but these were the only downsides we found)

The room was very good and large. Very Comfortable bed with a duvet, lots of pillows, and a feather mattress topping. Very clean room which was cleaned daily and the towels changed if required. The room dimensions were almost apartment like - i.e. settee, table and four chairs, sideboard with a 32" flat screen TV (only English channels were BBC World/CNN news though), fridge, large bathroom with shower and bath, separate WC (Not a bidet in sight either!), Bathrobes and slippers, a safe, desk, 2 balconies (Yes, it looks over a highway, but was easy to cross with pedestrian lights etc. AND entertaining when the police close 2 lanes to spot check tax discs/tyres etc.) The National Police Station is in front of the hotel, so felt really safe at night.

LOCATION: We found the location ideal for us - I agree not right for a beach Holiday as too far to walk with chidren. For us though, it was perfect - close to station/bus station (we went on several trips by bus/train), 2 minutes to the Rue Meynadier (cobbled, pedestrianised road with interesting shops), 5 mins to the Old Town/Market, 7-8 minutes to La Croissette, 3-4 minutes to Rue D'Antibes. We felt being nearer to the Old Town to be a more interesting area than the designer shopping on La Croisette, so it suited us.

TRIPS: Days out were great - bus costs 1 euro per trip (you could get to Nice for 1 euro if you can spare 90 minutes ! ) Trains give a 25% discount for over 60s too. We went to Antibes (twice) by bus, Mougins by bus (+ a 20 minute walk uphill to the old town, but worth it), Ventimiglia by train (for Friday market - took 90 minutes) and we stopped off in Menton for a walk around on the way back as you can break your journey.

RESTAURANTS: We were very pleased with the choice of restaurants too - We are not into gourmet dining/wine, or seafood and my Wife is a vegetarian and allergic to peppers, so expected a "challenge" eating out !!! but there was an amazing choice (having done some research on Tripadvisor first though) - The restaurants below all spoke English (or could understand our very poor/limited French) - The value in Formula meals (a limited choice of starters/mains/desserts give great value - for example the 23 Euro 3 course formula at L'Assiette Provencale inlcluded mains which were 19 euros, so a no-brainer !

We ate at:
• Cafe Boheme (twice) - great value and choice, and good atmosphere, near the harbour
• Le Jaipur - 2 minutes from the hotel - Indian, but slightly different to UK - poppadums, bit small and crunchy, more like supermarket ones, but curries etc. were good
• Le Hit - very close too to the hotel. Owner/Waiter very friendly and enthusiastic. Best value meal by far. Also, he was so rushed (although maybe only 8-10 customers !!), that he left the charge for deserts off our bill and when I pointed this out, he was so amazed/pleased. I suspect when busy/several locals there is music (guitar/piano) and a possible late evening/lock-in !
• Le Meissouniere - Almost opposite Le Hit. Very good food and a bit more refined. (See their website for menu) - Service and quality of food was first-rate
• L'Assiette Provencale (twice) - maybe a 7-8 minute walk, but well worth it - 23 Euro Formula Menu (Smoked Salmon Tartar, Sea Bream, Lemon Meringue pie (genuinely home made) -
• Le Cosi - probably the dearest meal (but not too dear) - 31 Euro (Vegetarian) and 33 Euro Classic Formula meals. The vegetarian meal was one of the best my Wife has eaten - vegetable flan/tart with the lightest pastry, lovely vegetables (and no peppers), vegetable risotto main which was so beautiful, and a mille feuile creation for dessert - wafer thin pastry base, then red fruit, middle layer of pastry, then dark fruit, top pastry + cream etc....AND the location is excellent - In the old Town on a cobbled walkway, with a "buzzy" feel in the evening. We sat on the decking and watched "passer-bys" and customers in the wine bar opposite.
• Cote Jardin - Again, a very good choice (on a par with Le Cosi) - The location is north of the Hotel away from the touristy parts in a residential area near a School, but do not let this put you off. The food and service are worth the 5 minute walk ! The menu is changed every 15 days. You can sit in the restaurant or adjoining conservatory (or the garden if the weather is good)
• Ristorante Angolo Italiano (twice) - Excellent pasta and service - a 10 minute walk from the Hotel but most of it is down the Rue D'Antibes, so great for window shopping (because the shuts are shut !!) The staff and chefs come from Naples and this gives an authentic Italian Atmosphere

WEATHER: The weather was not great - rained/drizzled a lot, but we had a terrific time due to the Hotel, its location and Cannes as a base.

We would strongly recommend considering the Renoir - If we return to Cannes, we would be hard pushed to choose somewhere else.

(Pricing of Hotels in Cannes seems to fluctuate with conferences/film festival dates etc. If you choose carefully, it is a reasonably priced area)

Room Tip: Room 401 (top floor) had little traffic noise although facing the highway. Good views to sea, old to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bali Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    151
    36
    15
    8
See reviews for
63
248
14
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here with my husband, myself and our two children. The room was spacious, we had a suite, and well decorated. Everything was clean, however the shower did not drain properly which meant you couldn't have that nice long shower you look forward to when travelling.
We had a few concerns, namely the sofa bed my children slept on was so uncomfortable that for our second night they preferred to sleep on the floor! It also concerned me that if there was an emergency such as a fire, there would be no exit suitable to evacuate the building.
Sorry but we wouldn't stay here again

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed at Hotel Renoir for 2 nights, having to decide between 3/4 hotels I decided to give this hotel a try since it seemed something "fresh" and "new" and...when there are so many good reviews nothing can go wrong right?? WRONG.. Upon arriving to Cannes I realized that the Hotel was not in the Croisette area, it was near the train station, and if you have been to Cannes already you know you do not want to stay near the train station. Half of the hotel has wonderful views over a semi-highway while the other half has views over an alley...thankfully I had the alley view. The hotel staff is what I might call..awkward, the lady that brought us to our room seemed to have no knowledge of the hotel at all. The elevator is the size of a car trunk, its either you going in there or your suitcase.. both woun't fit.. I chose to take the stairs and gifted my suitcase with the wonderful 5 minute elevator ride (for 2 stories). The room itself is clean and nice, but really nothing compared to the pictures posted online. The mini bar is expensive and has very little inside. Now comes the best part, the part I was most excited about when picking this hotel... the BREAKFAST! We ordered our very simple breakfast at 9:00 am (it consisted of scrambled eggs, a basket of bread some yogurt and juice and cereal... we got our breakfast at 10:30 am... I don't think I've ever waited this long for a meal.. All in all I would not repeat this experience.. oh and if you have a car plan ahead you will be spending 17 euro a day for the car park next door!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxuryWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Although the Renoir looks like just another Hotel from the outside, the rooms are fantastic. Creatively decorated, very clean and reasonably priced, the Renoir is good value for money. Also located centrally-close to the beach and the railway station, it very convenient to set out on foot from the Hotel to explore nearby localities. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. All in all, would not hesitate to stay at the Renoir again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tres-passerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

For the price, this was an excellent hotel for a one-night stay in Cannes. We wished we could stay more but were passing through. It was a perfect base to explore Cannes for a short visit.

We were six traveling across southern France and they were very friendly from the moment upon our arrival. The three rooms were all tastefully done, each with a balcony facing a small, quiet street. It is also a very safe area as there is a police station on the block. It was a short walk down to the beach and promenade. To see the sight of the film festival was also very close.

We arrived with several large bags and the friendly staff quickly helped us carry them up the front stairs and into the elevators. Overall, for the service and value, one of the better hotels I have stayed at recently in France.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We had a suite when we stayed at Hotel Renoir (the room is pictured on the profile) It was everything the picture shows and more. Beautiful views of the Med and lots of space. Mr. Morgan is great and very helpful. We called from the train station and walked to the hotel he timed our arrival and met us out front to help with bags. He arranged an excellent dinner for us and called the restaurant in advance. Mr. Morgans name carries weight it was the best meal we had in France. The hotel is a great value and located near the city center.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a suite its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawnrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irakleio, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel. Clean and beautiful rooms. Professional staff 24h room service. Staff is Always available. Very good value for money. Room upgrades possible upon availability for no extra charge. Will stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durukom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
0.5 mi away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#25 of 126 in Cannes
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renoir

Property: Hotel Renoir
Address: 7 rue Edith Cavell, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Business Hotel in Cannes
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Renoir 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A real master painting... discover the Renoir Hotel The Renoir Hotel is a newly renovated "glamour" boutique hotel, located in the heart of Cannes and only a few steps away from the Palais des Festivals, its private beach "The CBeach" and the shopping district. Enter this luxurious building, dating from the late 1900's, and be amazed by its delicated and comfortable atmosphere given by wide surfaces as well as an harmonious mix of colours and materials. With 29 rooms and suites, all painted with beige and white shades, and decorated with "Hollywood style" furnitures, the Renoir Hotel will transport its customers to a world of peace and relaxation... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Renoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renoir Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing