We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky Hotel with next to no service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alnea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alnea
Ranked #39 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Funky Hotel with next to no service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Room was never cleaned in three days nor was there ever any bathroom supplies nor receptionist available who could speak any English apart from on check-in. On the plus side was between train station and beach and very funky rooms and art work.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydAusous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlnea, Propriétaire at Hotel Alnea, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Google Translation
A big hello from sunny Cannes,

We take all remarks very seriously and always try to improve our service.
Unfortunately we couldn’t find out if you stayed and when you stayed with us so I will make a general answer.

We are a 2 star hotel (french qualification) with 14 rooms.
There is someone 24h/7days, but the reception is open from 7.30 am to 10pm everyday, and if we are upstairs in the rooms or breakfast room, you can easily call us from the reception phone or from the phone in your room by dialling 38 so we arrive in the next minute.

We clean all rooms every day from 8am to 1.30pm
After 1.30pm, we change your linen upon request.
All these informations can be found in the information book left on the desk room.

If you put the sign "Do not disturb" on the door all day, we do not disturb you as requested.
It is a shame that you didn’t say anything during your stay at the hotel so we would have explain all this to you directly and we could have entered your room and clean it.
We don’t have afternoon or evening turn down service such as 5star hotels, but we operate the cleaning every morning.

Concerning your remark regarding the bathroom amenities, we have taken the decision to have less plastic in our bathroom (no little bottles of plastic for shampoo and soap), and we have choosen the option to put some soap dispensers with quality soap / shampoo made in Cannes by a soap artisan. We avoid like that too much plastic waste and we also make local shop work instead of having plastic bottles of shampoo crossing the world by boat to arrive to our bathrooms. The option for local soap is much more expensive for us, but we prefer this option to provide you a good local product.


We wish you a great summer.

The Owners of the Hotel Alnea Cannes



Un grand bonjour de notre belle ville de Cannes ensoleillée,

Nous prenons toutes les remarques très au sérieux et très à cœur.

Nous sommes un hôtel 2 étoiles nouvelles normes françaises de 14 chambres de type familiale.
Il y a quelqu’un dans l’hôtel 24h/24.
La réception est ouverte de 7h30 à 22h tous les jours et si nous sommes dans les étages ou dans la salle des petit-déjeuners pendant ces horaires, nous sommes joignable en composant le 38 depuis la réception ou le téléphone des chambres et nous accourons dans la minute pour satisfaire les demandes de nos clients.

Concernant le nettoyage :
Nous nettoyons les chambres des clients tous les jours entre 8h-13h30.
Passez ces horaires, nous effectuons les changements de linge sur demande.
Cela est stipulé dans le classeur d’information placé sur le bureau dans chaque chambre.
Par contre nous ne rentrons pas dans les chambres si le signe « Ne pas déranger » est sur la porte, afin de ne pas déranger. Nous n’effectuons pas de nettoyage l’après-midi ou le soir tel que le font les 5 étoiles et Palaces.
- Il aurait fallu nous prévenir pendant votre séjour du désagrément rencontré afin que nous vous expliquions les horaires et le sigle ne pas déranger. C’est maintenant plus difficile pour nous de satisfaire votre demande une fois avoir quitté l’hôtel.-

Concernant les produits d’accueil salle de bain, nous avons fait le choix d’investir dans des distributeurs de savon liquide, avec du savon/shampoing fabriqué à Cannes chez un artisan savonnier. Nous évitons ainsi les déchets plastiques et faisons travailler les commerçants locaux au lieu de faire venir des savons fabriqués en Chine (pourtant bien moins cher !).
Nous essayons à notre petite échelle de faire de l’écologie.

Nous vous souhaitons une bonne continuation de voyage et un très bel été.

Cordialement,


La Direction
Hotel Alnea Cannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    58
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
54
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

This success of this hotel surely must lie in it's location. A short walk from the convention centre, the shops and train station. It is also a short walk from here to the bus to/from Nice is you're travelling by public transport.

I was immediately impressed when I arrived on a sunny afternoon with people out and about and yet, there was almost immediately someone at hand to welcome me when I arrived, given that the reception is closed at that time on the weekend.

The rooms are small, but clean and while not luxurious by any stretch of the imagination, it has a friendly feel to it. The bathrooms are perhaps a bit on the older side but I lacked for nothing at the price.

The breakfast room is small and they work on an honesty basis for cold drinks. If you prefer not to have breakfast at the hotel there's a lovely bakery on the corner opposite the hotel with friendly staff and owners.

As the convention centre is literally down the same road, the location for business purposes could not be better. A laundry service is available and an iron is provided upon request. Speaking of on request, nothing for the staff seems to be too much trouble and the owners Cedric and Noemie are lovely people.

Around the corner are a myriad of cafe's and a nice McDonalds if you're so inclined. One feels safe to take the short walk back from them even late at night.

This is a hotel that I will return to, purely because it is not pretentious and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Hotel Alnea has been really nice and cosy for an overseas traveller. Cedric and Nomie are both very helpful and friendly, they go out of the way to help if required.

Great location to be in the city centre, makes everything really convenient.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jingpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

My colleague and I were on a business trip for 3 nights. Alnea is ideally situated in the middle of the shopping area of Cannes and close to the station. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, looking up train times to Monaco for us. The rooms were comfortable, quiet and had everything needed. Highly recommend this hotel as a base to explore Cannes and the Riviera!

Room Tip: If you are wanting to sleep in maybe ask for a room away from the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feefifofum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location! I loved that I could walk outside of the door and be right in the heart of it all. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. Some understood English very well and were patient when trying to explain things in English/broken French. The only cons I would say are the stairs (no lift) and the teeny-tiny bathrooms-we made it work. Other than that I felt very comfortable and safe in the hotel. To get into the hotel you have to be buzzed in by the staff or use your entry code on the keypad outside. Another plus is the self-controlled AC unit in each room (very nice and not always provided). They also have this cool 'Honesty Bar' where you write down drinks/snacks that you take from the kitchen and pay when you check out. They just ask you verbally and don't check with the log. I liked that they trusted the patrons with this and it gave me a very good feeling about this place. Some establishments are very strict and accusatory and I think that gives patrons a bad view of how they do business. Anyway, I would definitely visit this hotel again in the future for my Cannes travels. Keep up the good work Hotel Alnea.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

The location is great for walking around the heart of the city and seeing all the sites. The staff were delightful and very helpful in orienting us to the city, recommending restaurants and answering all our questions. They made us feel instantly at home. The rooms are small, but the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is very small - not much leg room for the toilet, the sink is very high, but the shower is excellent. The street is very narrow, and it was difficult to unload the car with traffic behind, but parking garages were close and after some manoeuvring around the old town, we were able to get rid of it. All in all, a great plae, and I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAHToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I really have to talk about the location, just incredibly amazing. It was just perfect so close to everything , only 5minutes walk from the beach and only 3minutes walk from the train station, seriously I couldn't ask for a better location.
Amazing and super friendly staff, a little shout out at Julien ! You were amazing thanks for making my stay a little more perfect. The owners were so helpful. Thank you guys !
The room was small, but that's just the average size for France. I didn't really care about the room that much because I spent most of my time outside, enjoying the little cafés and the beaches.
You pay so little for what it's worth. Very affordable rates.
I highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 7 Art
Hotel 7 Art
#51 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alize Cannes
Hotel Alize Cannes
#50 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
#43 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Cannes Centre Ville
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athenee Cannes
Hotel Athenee Cannes
#47 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
HOTEL P.L.M
HOTEL P.L.M
#74 of 126 in Cannes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alnea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alnea

Property: Hotel Alnea
Address: 20 rue Jean de Riouffe, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alnea 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel of 14 rooms in the center of Cannes: only 100 m from de Palais des festivals and the famous seaside Croisette, 50m from rue d'Antibes ('the' shopping street), 200m from Cannes train station and the airport shuttle bus. Nice socsy hotel with FREE WIFI, individual A/C, flat screen TV, safe. Everything you need to spend a good time in the center of Cannes within walking distance to all major attractions. Lonely Planet and Guide du Routard and Let's Go ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alnea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing