We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No internet.”
Review of Hotel Alnea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alnea
Ranked #44 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

First of all the hotel is extremely clean, the rooms are small but they're well kept, no faults here at all. The location is great, very close to the beach and everything you need. However, it did state that we would receive free wifi and we did not, what really happens is you receive wifi for the 1st 24 hours (even though it was more like 12 hours) then the password and username used changes. This was an inconvenience as that’s generally how I communicate with everyone back home and wouldn't have booked a hotel that didn't offer wifi in the first place. The breakfast isn’t great, for the price of it you would be much better off buying things from Monoprix or visiting a bakery instead. The hair dryer in the room is awful; if you are going to stay here make sure to bring your own. We didn’t actually see anyone at reception at all until our last day (we arrived late at night), were upon check out we were charged for an extra night despite paying for the entire stay before we arrived. This has since been corrected, it did take a few days for the money to be refunded… and what I received was less than what I paid, but I am assuming this is Cannes city tax. All in all, very clean, the cleaner is lovely and friendly, great location and it is value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NoxVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlnea, Propriétaire at Hotel Alnea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for having taken the time to post your review following to your recent stay at the Hotel Alnea.

We are happy to read that you have liked our service and friendly staff and that our hotel has a good location in Cannes.
We were sorry to read you were not satisfied with certain of its aspects and we would like to express our regrets for not having met your expectations in terms of wifi and hair-dryer service.

We offer wifi to all our guests. It is High debit wifi.
A ticket is given upon check-in for each device you have. If you try to enter the same code in 2 different devices, it won’t work, as it is 1 code per device. If we had known that your ticket was not working we could have given you plenty other for as many devices you wanted.
Of course, we offer internet, but sometime, there can be some internet maintenance, that is not due of the hotel, and that needs to be fixed by the internet company (but this was not in your case, internet was working perfectly fine).

Concerning the hairdryer, it is special hairdrayer for hotel bathrooms and for security reason there are not very strong, but we are obliged to only put those kind of hairdryer. Of course, when our guest have any maintenance service or questions during there stay, we are happy to help and fix anythnig that needs to be fixed.

Our reception is open from 7.30am to 10pm. In the event we do a check-in, a check-out or it is cleaning time, we can be upstairs in the hotel. But you can reach us at anytime. At night when reception is closed, we have a night reception for emergencies (lost of keys for exemple).

We offer continental breakfasts at the Hotel. The bread is made in one of the best Cannes bakery. We buy good qualty brands for all our products (for example yogourts are Danone and Yoplait). We do not offer eggs and ham, as it is continental breakfasts.

The refund on your bill was correct, it was exactly the commission you had pay online on the external website reservation. Of course, the city tax is always extra and needs to be paid at the hotel (0,80€ per person per night in a 2 star hotel).


We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you back to take advantage of it's central situation very near the Palais des Festivals and the famous Croisette.

Sincerely Yours

The owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel Alnea is a little hotel running by a family. We stayed only one night, but feeling very welcome and comfortable ! We arrived late at night, the receptionist even helped us to book a table for the dinner , and the dinner was amazing ! And she told us what to do, what to see in Cannes, we have a whole picture of Cannes. All the staff there has very good smile and can speak English ! The room was small, but the basic thing included. The bed is comfortable , the shower is good ! The location is really good , only 5 minutes to the main street and the restaurants . Recommend !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 722pamelac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What friendly,uncomplicated, genuine service.
I found this hotel by chance over the Internet 3 years ago. My fourth visit this year.
Clean rooms, central location and top friendly service.
Thumbs up

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Redipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is bien situe, pres de la gare avec un acceuil exceptionel. Being a visitor from the US, please allow me to express my view in English. The hotel is excellent and the owners and staffs are pretty nice and accommodating. They are knowledgeable about the local area and have excellent advice for the local activities. The location is excellent with the proximity to the train station, close by grocery stores (for bottle water and snacks), and easy walking distance to luxury stores just down the street, and easy walking distance to the port, the Palais, and to the beach. It is also close to the open air farmer market. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay and would definitely go back should I ever visit Cannes again in the near future. My rating of "Tres Bien" instead of "Excellent" has to do more with my experience in Cannes rather than with my experience at the hotel. Cannes is a very beautiful city and had I not gotten sick from my trip to Avignon (last stop before stopping in Cannes), I would have enjoyed it more. Also being sick for some of my stays in Cannes (carried over from Avignon) prevented me from exploring other places I planned to visit. Otherwise, my visit would have been excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank N. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel would have been perfect had it not been for the building going on below our room.the staff were very helpful with anything we needed and gave us a list of things to do on our holiday.room is small as is the shower but you expect all this for 2star hotel.i would stay here again but maybe after they finish building.thanks to the girl who checked us in she set us up for the week and everything we done.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Hotel Alnea is a small hotel very close to the Palais des Festivals in the heart of Cannes.

The hotel is run by a couple who takes care of everything. Rooms are clean, bathroom is ok (they don´t offer fruits) and the price is excellent, compared to other hotels in the region.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The hotel was a great value clean and has great staff plus perfectly located within walking distance of the best parts of Cannes. If you are looking for a way see the the famous Cannes without breaking the bank hotel Alnea is it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Univers
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moliere
Hotel Moliere
#73 of 126 in Cannes
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Romanesque
Hotel le Romanesque
#91 of 126 in Cannes
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athenee Cannes
Hotel Athenee Cannes
#45 of 126 in Cannes
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Mistral
Hotel Le Mistral
#58 of 126 in Cannes
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#24 of 126 in Cannes
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alnea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alnea

Address: 20 rue Jean de Riouffe, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: £62 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alnea 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel of 14 rooms in the center of Cannes: only 100 m from de Palais des festivals and the famous seaside Croisette, 50m from rue d'Antibes ('the' shopping street), 200m from Cannes train station and the airport shuttle bus. Nice socsy hotel with FREE WIFI, individual A/C, flat screen TV, safe. Everything you need to spend a good time in the center of Cannes within walking distance to all major attractions. Lonely Planet and Guide du Routard and Let's Go ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alnea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing