We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely worth considering!”
Review of Ideal Sejour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ideal Sejour Hotel
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Ideal Sejour is a small, French type hotel with about 15 guest rooms in a beautiful old building on the hills of Cannes. With the car it might seem that it´s quite far from the city centre, but by foot it´s just about 10-15min walk from Croisette. If you arrive with a car, the hotel has it´s own parking lot, but usually there is also always parking spaces available on the streets around. Especially the street where the hotel is located is good for parking, cause even it´s narrow, the street ends in about 50m from the hotel, so there won´t be much traffic.

As I said the hotel is a lovely old building surrounded by local houses and in the backyard they have a big garden, where they serve breakfast in the sunny mornings. Reception, dining/living room and internet corner are located downstairs, on the ground floor and guest rooms facing to the garden or the road in front are on the first and the second floor. The rooms vary quite a lot, cause some has pretty modern interior and renovated bathroom and some are a bit old and shabby.

Our room was at first a little disappointment, cause we got the older one with thick, dark carpet floor, small double bed, big wooden wardrope and not yet renovated bathroom and the overall look was a bit dirty. Although the yellow walls gave light nicely and from the window we could almost see the sea far away! There were not much other equipments, but the modern flat screen tv was a nice surprise. The lack of air conditioning was not that bad even though the weather was warm, cause the room stays quite cool even during the day, if you keep the window shutters closed. Bathroom was ok, only inconvenience was that there was no shower curtain or anything to keep the bathroom floor not to get wet while taking a shower (and no floor drain either).

Walking downhill from the hotel it´s pretty easy to find the way to the centre. There is also one bus going to downtown and the nearest bus stop is in the crossroads of Avenue du Dr. Bernard and Avenue Saint-Jean. The bus runs about once in an hour, till 6pm at least on weekdays (the timetable is there at the stop). In the half way to the centre there´s the nearest supermarket with good selection of foods and drinks.

In my opinion Ideal Sejour is a good value for your money. Nice location, even if it´s not exactly in the heart of the city, friendly staff, beautiful old building and garden and lovely french neightbourhood. Absolutely worth considering!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2010

I would love to give this a glowing review due to the plus points, but (and this is not necessarily a criticism of the hotel) on hindsight it was not right for us.
Advantages - the service is amazing. The owner was away for the weekend but explained to us before she left that her mother would be in charge. She was amazing, helpful, attentive and overall a lovely and charming lady.
The hotel has a cosy and personal feel. There is a beautiful downstairs garden where you have breakfast and it feels a million miles away from the craziness of Cannes.
Disadvantages - our room (a standard double) was really really tiny. Well decorated but not enough room to get out toiletries and even pass by each other. It was a standard small bedroom size with a chunk taken out for the bathroom. Also very thin walls, you can hear everyone on the landing. I think there are maybe larger rooms and some with balconies.
The parking is very very difficult. It is free, but there is only space for 3-4 cars and as we were visiting people in neighbouring towns we were getting in quite late and it was a worry whether we would find space to park.
Location - it is only a 20 minute walk to the centre, but quite tricky - our first time down there we got hoplessly lost. Once we got a map from the tourist centre is was easier and quite pleasant.
Although i only stayed a couple of nights I feel disloyal pointing out the shortcomings as the owner is making a huge effort (and succeeding) in making this a real home from home. If I went to Cannes without a car i would definitely consider staying again, although I would make sure I got a bigger room. the atmosphere is really lovely and the garden is relaxing. but the stress of trying to park each night would mean that I would not stay there again if driving.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cla2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I spent the easter weekend (4 nights) with my partner in this hotel. It's our third stay at this place.
Michèle, the owner, is a very charming and sympathic person.

The hotel is located in a calm & quiet part at the end of a small street.
There is no traffic noise!!! The hotel is charming an very clean!
Some rooms are made new in the time between our last stay - absolutely fantastic!!
Every room is decorated with his own theme. The rooms are quite small but very clean and absolutely charming. Some noise from other bathrooms can be heard - but i don't took it for a problem...

All i all it's a place absolutely worth it's money. And you can feel, that the owner Michèle is working with a lot of pation & "heart".

It wont my last stay in this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

we stayed there for over a week in September, and we did enjoy this hotel so much, we want to share with everyone.
we look for different option online and everything was either really expensive or to modern for our taste.
Hotel ideal sejour is located 15 minutes walking distance from downtown Cannes.
Our room (22) was on the small side, but really clean, comfortable and very quiet.
Great view of the yard and fantastic shower.
Perfect location for people who will be visiting different town during the day and need a nice place to stay at night without breaking the bank.
the hotel is 7 minutes from the main speedway.
Breakfast is served in the garden. Fantastic butter croissant and baguette with honey, jam and butter. Ask for cereal or cappuccino.
Michelle, the new owner is there ALL the time to make sure you do not need anything.
We will for sure be back to this hotel.
Parking is free but sometime hard to find, but expect that in france.
When there take a day to go to les baux de provence, 2 hours away. Really worth the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyrilroswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

I'm a middle-aged single traveller -- male. Stayed here for 2 nights in late July, not because Cannes interested me, but it was the best deal I could find on the internet on the Cote D'azur for those dates. It's very good value as a 2 star hotel, for people who are going to be out during the day. No elevator. Wifi.

About a 15 minute walk fro downtown/Croisette. A little complicated to find as hidden in a quiet residentail neighbourhood of small streets. About a 7 euro taxi ride from the Croisette. Quiet at night. Limited free secure parking. Breakfast starts at 6 euros.

The hotel suited me as I just wanted a clean, quiet safe place to stay. Manager/ owner Michelle was very welcoming and helpful.

Only downside was walls are quite thin, so if you have rowdy neighbours at night and you like peace and quiet, it could be difficult. But people are generally well-behaved.

I liked it, especially the hospitaslity of the owner, and would return

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank canayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Hotel Ideal Sejour is within walking distance from the train station in a quiet little neighbourhood.
We had adjoining rooms with a balcony, which was perfect. The beds were fine, bathrooms a bit small, and the cappuccinos with breakfast fantastic! The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the room clean.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trippieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Extremely friendly little hotel. Its more like a b and b. When we arrived the lady who runs the hotel was very friendly and attempted to speak to us in English. She showed us to our room dragging one of our heavy cases with her.

The breakfast room looked lovely though we didnt have breakfast. There is a bus stop near the hotel which you can get from the hotel de ville. We walked into the town anyway as its not far. Its very well signposted if you're coming by car. I definately recommend this little hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looneyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
815 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#7 of 126 in Cannes
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#10 of 126 in Cannes
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#16 of 126 in Cannes
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal Sejour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Sejour Hotel

Address: 6 allee du Parc des Vallergues, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: £64 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ideal Sejour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IDEAL SEJOUR CANNES Hotel is a private hotel of Belle Epoque style, in a very calm place, on the heights of Cannes close to the midtown.Although located a few minutes away from the port, the beaches of Croisette and the Palais des Festivals, the residential area of Vallergues is completely protected from the humming of the city.This hotel gathers at the same time the characteristics of a host house and the advantages of a hotel: peace, charm and welcome added to a professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Ideal Sejour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing