We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Cannes Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #78 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Cannes Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel Oxford when on a business trip and took 2 rooms. The hotel staff were excellent and so helpful, even to the point of dropping my bag down to me later in the day to save me coming back up to the hotel for it.
The rooms were some of the freshest and cleanest in Cannes and the bathrooms very clean and spacious.
In cold January the heating worked and even better there was free internet that worked!
I have been coming to Cannes for 12 years on business and this is the only hotel i would return to. It's a good 20 minute walk from the Palais but the owners will also offer to drive you down if you don't fancy the walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    46
    11
    2
    10
See reviews for
7
46
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

A nice small hotel in an old villa run by a very friendly owner. The room was a rather small but had a nice little balcony. Breakfast is good (the restaurant is closed though). Location is ok; you either walk 40 minutes to the Croisette or take the bus. Good parking possibilities. All in all good value for money, in particular in view of the usual prices in Cannes!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HRG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

A nice small hotel but when i say small i mean small rooms as well.
Yes the rooms are really small but very nice!
Good location, friendly owner and adequate breakafast if you don't visit Cannes in order to get some kilos.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niki k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

the hotel room is clean, but really small, maybe because i chosed the cheapest one, we two could hardly cross by each other, its in an old villa, nice location, not noisy, 20mins walking to the beach, the owner is very nice guy, I have to say what we have got for the price probably is good, after we saw the price of realestate in Canne.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myysmulders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Oxford is a small budget hotel located slightly off centre, so walk to the Croisette will take you about 40 minutes. The rooms are nice and clean with good amenities, the stuff is pleasant and very welcoming. It is an ok option when cannes is fully booked as it often is the case, but slightly too far from all the life of Cannes. My room had very bad sound isolation, so sleep was not very good. Every person going in and out of the corridor was clearly heard inside.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chear_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

Charming hotel in a beautiful house with garden and free parking. The owners are very helpful and friendly. Our room was small but clean. The room didn't reflect the age of the house but there are other spaces in the hotel that reflects the history. There is an excellent restaurant on the terrace with very good food and nice atmosphere. The hotel is located between the city center and Le Cannet, both reached within a fifteen minute walk.

  • Liked — The restaurant and the nice owners
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AsaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2008

Locally, this hotel is classified as a two star facility. It has 11 rooms with private baths and a restaurant. It is very clean, the restaurant serves great food for lunch and dinner, and the proprietors -- Marie and Renaud Cavalier-- were very nice. Our room included free WiFi service and breakfast. The main floor might lead you to believe that this is a charming inn; however, the rooms lack all charm. They are small and painted an institutional gray. You can hear all exterior noise from people walking on stairs to vacuuming. You can feel the springs in the bed. The shower was difficult to use -- we had to climb in and out of a big tub to use it. On our first day, there wasn't enough hot water. The television had few stations, all in French. There is no desk in the room. There was only closet space for one on a short stay. It was cramped for two people. We booked and paid for our room in May of '07 for March of '08 as a double for four nights and paid $1000. (On the back of our door it stated that the highest price for this room was €80 per night.) We were only staying three nights, but because we took the redeye, we hoped to have our room available upon check-in. The most disappointing part of all is that when we arrived, we were told our room was not available. It had been given away because our travel agent failed to remind the proprietors that we would be arriving "late". When we were finally given a room, we were assured that it was a double. This hotel is less then a 15 minute walk to Le Cannet and 20-25 minute walk to Palais Des Festivals in Cannes. It beats commuting to Cannes from Monaco or Nice.

  • Liked — Walking distance to Palais Des Festivals in Cannes and the cleanliness.
  • Disliked — The feeling of springs in the bed on my face when I slept.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank surrealus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Cannes le Cannet
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cannes Croisette
Hotel Cannes Croisette
#68 of 126 in Cannes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pruly
Hotel Pruly
#28 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel PLM
Hotel PLM
#72 of 126 in Cannes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#40 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Massena Residence Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Property: Hotel Oxford
Address: 148 boulevard de la Republique, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing