We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the most expensive bookshop in Europe” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cannes English Books

Cannes English Books
Ranked #11 of 38 Shopping in Cannes
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Probably the most expensive bookshop in Europe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This store caters for English ex-pats and not really people looking to read in the English language.

Bring books with you in hard copy or on the Kindle.

Need I say any more?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“If You Need A Book”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I finished the book I brought with me and the TV, in my apartment, was only in French. Tried the English book store. The owner is a lovely man, very friendly. Originally from England. Warning, prices are very high. Found something reduced and settled on it, in desperation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Beat, France
Level Contributor
372 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great little find - wide range of books”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Love the fact that there is a little shop in the middle of Cannes in France selling such a wide range of English books - those English speaking residents that live in this area are really lucky.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScooterJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“cannes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

this is an area i would highly recommend for everyone to see.
in the south side of france overlooking the med. sea and it's well known country side of monaco
well known for the world renown grand prix race in monte carlo.
you will see the beautiful palace of the prince of monaco palace and the world famous museum
to the world famous oceanograher Jacques cousteau a exhbit no one would want to miss.and were the grave site of the former grace kelly sits former wife of the prince and died in 1982
and known nfor her hollywood hall of fame in the earlier yrs. If you can take the time do the 10-15 day cruise through the med.sea and sea the history in countries like this and even Barcelona were it was 45c thec day i was there-well worth the time and money

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamarøy
1 review
“Sweet but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Sweet little shop, seemed to be run by a nice middle aged couple. There was a decent selection of books in English, but all of it was quite expensive, both the hardcovers, the paperbacks and the books in the little used books section.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hamsunsenteret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cannes English Books also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Cannes English Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing