We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Cannois Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Villa Tosca
Ranked #61 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

In order to celebrate the New Year, my girlfriend and I decided to stay in a quiet hotel in Cannes. Unfortunately this hotel was all but quiet or even quaint. We were greeted by a grumpy receptionist who made us fill in forms that would suggest we were illegal immigrants (despite the fact that we are both EU citizens). We were then shoved into a lift that resembled a broken gas chamber, which will surely be breaking down any time soon. As we entered our superior room, very few attributes of this room appeared superior, particularly for its price (which matched that of a very formidable 4 star hotel). The floor felt as if it was only a few misplaced jumps away from caving in on the unfortunate Italian family below us, the bathroom was ice cold, and the temperature of the shower impossible to control.
Despite the few downsides, we were at least glad that this hotel was upon fast glance: quiet. It is placed on pedestrian road, and was far from most the noisy nightlife. Or so we thought. The Cannois youth (or predominantly the Italian people who seemed to have invaded Cannes for the start of 2014) seemed unable to contain their excitement about a simple date change, and were screaming well into the early hours of the morning. Would not recommend. This hotel gets one star because the bed was slightly comfortable and another star because they let us lie in a well needed extra hour in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBrioche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villatosca, Directeur général at Hotel La Villa Tosca, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Sir,

We are very surprised regarding your comment.

-We ask to fill in a check-in form because the french law ask us to do it.
- Our lift is small but hopefully, it doesn't looks like a "broken gas chamber" as you say. I think it is very choking to can speak like that...
- You said that you stay on December the 31st, but we didn't have any booking for this date on Mr Brioche name's, and no guest from UK as you...

I think that you didn't stay in our property. So, be honnest to stop your perjury comments...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Small, butique style hotel. Great location, center, one block from the beach promenade! Many shops and coffee shops are right around coner. Clean rooms, huge bed! Friendly stuff. We stayed here with our daughter for 4 nights. Enjoyed the great location and sunny weather!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank elinaliepina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Villa Tosca doesn't have an impressive frontage - it's tucked away on a traffic free shopping street but - inside the décor is tasteful and the staff are delightful. The street runs parallel to the train station but also to the seafront and the famous Croisette.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank trippingthenightaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My overall rating "very good", just refer back to my title. For what I wanted, it was indeed very good! Simple, comfortable, and clean. I was traveling by myself and simply needed a place to sleep.

I had a comfortable bed, spacious enough for myself and a newly renovated bathroom was superb.

Location was excellent, charming city, close to the water, places to eat were close walk to more popular areas.

Staff was very friendly, professional, really no complaints. Free wifi as well. Lounge area, small restaurant, but I ate out.
Definitely simple, nothing really special, though if that is what you want then perfect, it's a great price and with the money you save from staying here you can treat yourself on something else in the city!

Also, it is very close to the train station, you can't hear anything in your rooms though.

Would I stay here again, sure! I know what to expect and I was happy with it. Though if I wanted more of a WOW factor in my lodging then maybe i would choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was at La Villa Tosca in june 2013 and stayed for 3 days.It's a clean hotel,good breakfast professional service,small room as single.The hotel position is near center and train station.Also the beach is like 300-400 meters from hotel.I will go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This Hotel is the best value for money,
It is located in the heart of Cannes, one minute from the beach and a second from the main street.
The rooms are big (Small Shower) and the bad was hugh.
The service was exceleent!
Very Recommanded!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoav m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Four nights here and a great value for Cannes. Some older reviews mention dirty rooms, but ours was very clean and comfortable. Not large, but good by French standards; with a small refrigerator. Easy walk from the train station, and centrally located for access to anything in the city. Quiet for sleeping. Don't pay for the breakfast, there is a great bakery between here and the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.0 mi away
HOTEL P.L.M
HOTEL P.L.M
#91 of 126 in Cannes
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abrial Cannes Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Romanesque
Hotel le Romanesque
#90 of 126 in Cannes
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pruly
Hotel Pruly
#28 of 126 in Cannes
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Congres et Festivals
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Cannes le Cannet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Villa Tosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Villa Tosca

Address: Rue Hoche | 11 Rue Hoche, 06400 Cannes, France (Formerly Hotel Touring)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: £43 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Villa Tosca 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on a calm pedestrian street in the center of Cannes, the three-star hotel La Villa Tosca is pleased to welcome you in any of its recently renovated 22 rooms. You will be seduced by its charming atmosphere as exemplified by the elegant and comfortable main lounge, perfect for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Villa Tosca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing