We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful stay”
Review of Les Agapanthes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Agapanthes
Ranked #16 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Cannes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Where to start...we had a terrible experience staying here. We would agree with the reviews under the poor and terrible categories. We would not stay there again. Let me list the few good things first though:

* Parking underground

* Bus stop in front to get to Cannes (~40 mins, costs 1,50Euros)

* Decent breakfast if you like continental style (but overpriced): they put out mueslix, corn flakes, emmental cheese in little packets, ham slices, black tea, white baguette bread, mini viennoiseries and do it yourself orange juice and do it yourself boiled eggs...but much of the food is gone by 9am so you have to get there early.

* Clean reception area

Now for the bad things:

* Bad value for money: we thought the Agapanthes was good value for money, but actually at ~250 Euros/night/apartment for 4, it isn't that great a deal. You can find hotels for 125 Euros/night for two (one room, double bed). For this price we expected a clean, well kept place. This wasn't what we got. There were so many issues.

* We were promised an 'upgrade' to a 'double suite' suitable for 5 people to sleep in the email confirmation, but were given a regular room for 4 AND derided for this by the staff...2 different staff members said 'Well we don't have rooms for 5" and "you can't put another bed in the apartments" as if it was our fault! Clearly they have some internal issues, since we have an email confirming our 'upgrade' and the ability to sleep 5 from their staff. The fact that they made it our fault that we had 5 and were promised space for 5 to sleep was completely uncalled for. In the end one person had to sleep on a mattress on the floor. Not ideal.

*We were promised a 'garden view' room since we all know pool view = loud kids screaming in the wee hours, but we were given two 'pool view' apartments so it was super loud.

* Rooms very old/not in great condition (see cracks in floor in photo) and mould in bathroom

* Not clean:
- a friend dropped some water on the floor and when she wiped it up the paper towel was covered in black, just a few hours after we arrived)
- toilets smelled of urine
- stains on bed cover and on chairs also
- very bad ventilation in bathroom so mould growing (see photos)

*Apartment (it's NOT a hotel) does not advertise anywhere that you need to CLEAN AT END OF STAY. I don't know how one reviewer said he didn't have to clean the flat, but that's simply not true. You DO have to clean the flat, which is why they provide a hoover, a sachet of floor detergent, broom and a rag (have to put the rag on the broom to clean). I know this because I asked them to send the cleaning lady to our room (especially for fresh towels) and she said they charge you for the cleaning, the towels and even for a new roll of toilet paper! This is fine, but the apartments should be cheaper if this is the case AND it needs to be clearly spelled out for guests all over their website, in the room confirmation, etc. and it simply is not.

The way they told us we had to stay and pay for toilet paper, etc. was also very discourteous, unfriendly and aggressive.

* In view of this they need to provide cleaning supplies, but the ones provided are inadequate. No dish detergent/soap, etc. Broom was absolutely filthy (hair, dust, toilet paper)

* Twice we came home in the eary morning and no one was at reception (which they assured us was staffed 24/7) so we had to wait outside, banging until someone let us in. On the last day of our stay they told us there was also a way into the elevator from the parking using our keys!

*The "sofa bed" is actually two single beds that pull out..I think this is misleading.

Room Tip: Garden view will be much quieter. Rent a car or expect to spend 45 mins getting to the Croisette (do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FNKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Nice green and quiet surrounding. Clean and well kept inner and outside areas. Good size apartment, two rooms and balcony,view to gardens of other hotel and little parking area. Fully equipped kitchen, except kettle. No
air conditioner for cooling. There are worming batteries. It wasn't hot at night.Beds were made and we were not asked to clean at the end of the visit. Hotel breakfast wasn't worth its price and had poor assortment. We bought food at supermarkets, 5 min driving. Look for "hyper casino" and "inter marshal" until 20:00.Good size pool is opened without time limitation. It has shallow and deep water. I liked the design of the lobby bar and outside area. It was nice to wake up in the morning,enter the balcony and smell the fresh air and trees and listen to birds.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki_Zimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here during the Cannes Film Festival, and really enjoyed it. It is a little bit of a ride from center ville (10 minutes), but a very pleasant bus ride, for 1 Euro up into the hills. Beautiful view, quiet, clean, and lovely staff. Beds were very comfortable. The common areas very inviting, including a grand piano, and terraces, gardens, The breakfast was fresh and plentiful. You could squeeze fresh juice, soft boil eggs, or just have an array of ham, cheese, jams, butter, bread (delicious) and croissants, pain chocolat. Good coffee and tea, and friendly staff. During the festival they had a complimentary van back and forth as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

These older style apartments are great value for Cannes. If you have a car this is a good place for touring and visiting the local beaches. We had everything we needed. Small sitting area, tv with BBC news, kitchen with dishwasher, large comfortable bed, and lovely balcony with views over the trees. The best part was the swimming pool with lots of sun loungers and umbrellas. There were plenty of car parks behind secure gates. The only negative is that we were expected to clean the apartment at the end of our stay!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank marsbar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Jeannine P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel was in a great spot as long as you have a car and plan on hitting numerous places on the French Rivieria... it's a great jumping off point. The rooms were big (European big, that is!) and everything was clean. The hotel staff were BEYOND gracious. Beautiful pool area, free gated parking and our rooms had free wifi in them. Very nice green views. Kitchenette could have been better stocked, and there was no daily maid service, but I would go back in a heartbeat, especially considering the fantastic price!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiannK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We were driving from our house in Italy back to England and had decided to take in some of the sights along the South of France. I had spent literally days looking for hotels in Cannes, Nice, Monaco area and it is hellish to find anywhere decent! Most hotels located in the centre of these areas obviously have no parking and are horrifically expensive and hotels further out seem to have awful reviews or are in dodgy sounding and looking areas! Eventually we decided on Les Agapanthes and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived! There is a secure car park with an electric gate at the entrance, which is a huge plus if you’re travelling with a full car! The rooms are enormous and well furnished. There was a small entrance hall with a cloakroom and this led into a large bedroom with a shower room attached and then a large sitting/dining area and balcony. There were only two of us so we didn’t need to use the sofa beds but it would be excellent for families as there is a partition which can be closed to give privacy to the bedroom area. The kitchen was well equipped (although we didn’t use any of it as we ate out each day)...Contrary to one of the other reviews, you do not have to 'clean the apartment' or face a 30 euro fee! They do not expect you to slave away washing sheets or cleaning the floors! They ask that you wash the pots in the kitchen area - as any decent person should in a self-catering apartment! If you do not wish to clean the pots after you eat, then you can pay 30 euros to have it done for you!

The outside of the hotel is well kept and there is a swimming pool (somewhat small). There is also a bar and regular (Costa del Sol style) entertainment - disco's, bingo etc. (god help us!), however we didn’t use any of these facilities as we literally used the hotel as a base to crash each night after long days of sightseeing!

If you don’t have a car, or don’t wish to pay the exorbitant car parking in the centre of Cannes and Monaco, then there is a bus stop directly outside the hotel and will drop you off at the Croisette or the train station within 20-30 minutes. There are regular, very fairly priced trains to Nice and Monaco which is ideal for anyone wanting to discover places outside of Cannes!

Staff were very helpful, spoke good English and were very knowledgeable about how to get around! They even told us that we were stupid to take a taxi to the centre of Cannes as the bus was easier and cheaper, and then gave us maps and timetables etc.! Some parts of the hotel need some attention - i.e. the lifts need replacing urgently! Also, hotel is frequented by families due to the large rooms so expect a fair bit of noise!

A good way to see some beautiful parts of the South of France for a really fair price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor - away from awful and loud entertainment!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RunwayModel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Le Patio Des Artistes
3.6 mi away
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette
3.6 mi away
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
#67 of 126 in Cannes
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kyriad Cannes Ouest - Mandelieu
3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Agapanthes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Agapanthes

Address: 108 avenue Maurice Chevalier | Cannes LA Bocca, 06150 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Cannes
Price Range: £46 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Agapanthes 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Les Agapanthes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing