We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the worst place I have ever stayed in my life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Cannes Verrerie
Ranked #107 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

How this place can call itself a hotel I do not know.

I have stayed in better hostels than this place. It was filthy, stank of stale smoke, the balcony doors did not shut. We had a "2 bedroom" room, which consisted of a bunk bed in the hallway when you walked in 2 sofas, which they removed the pillows from and called them beds. Everything, the pillows, towels, etc stank of stale smoke. After one night we had to check out.

As two single ladies staying here we did not feel safe, as the door had a pathetic lock and the balcony did not lock. You could get no sleep in the uncomfortable conditions and every 30 minutes you could hear a train going by.

There is no internet access in the rooms, not helpful when you are travelling for work. This was a last minute booking for MIPIM, as part of the recommended MIPIM accommodation.

When I went to check out in the morning I was surrounded by other guests complaining that their rooms were not big enough, dirty, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Intrepidtraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Cannes Verrerie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay in Maeva Residence Cannes Verrerie. We are sorry that the level of cleanliness did not meet our usual high standards and that the lock on your balcony was broken. We take the safety of our guests very seriously. In the instance of a guest being dissatisfied with their allocated room, we also attempt to move them to more suitable accommodation. We also regret that the Wi-fi was not working efficiently during your stay, we have recently installed this facility and we have been experiencing teething problems. Our website and brochures outline room dimension, size, furnishings and equipment available to ensure guests are aware of the room facilities before they arrive. We are always looking to improve our service and our guests' experiences, so appreciate you taking the time to share your review. We will pass your comments onto our management teams and head office for further review and improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

Ok, the hotel is not anything special, in fact its a bit run down but you pay for what you get really. Its locaiton is really good considering the price and as long as you don't go there expecting a fully working 4 star hotel you will probably have a good time. However the place is rather run down and the rooms need renovation. Ignore the comment re the train line as this did not bother me once. Kids loved the pool and access to shops, restaurants, beach was superb.
I would recommend but only at a push and only after you have looked elsewhere, its a last minute place where there will always be places.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Cannes Verrerie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Many thanks for posting your review. We apologies for any of the negative aspects of your stay with us, particularly regarding the maintenance levels in the room. I'm pleased to say that the property is scheduled for a part renovation very soon. We are glad aside from this issue your children benefited from our swimming pool and easy access to the town and nearby beaches. We are compiling a report of all reviews for this particular property and your comments are being passed onto Management of the Residence for further consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Arrived late the first night into what seemed like the holiday from hell. Security guards couldn't speak english, the desk to their office had fake plants covered in thick dust. They gave us a key for a room on the 8th floor. Eventually having found our room we couldn't believe our eyes. Straight in the front door about 15 concrete steps leading straight into kitchen. Patio doors out of the kids tiny bedroom straight onto an 8th floor balcony. The heat was unbearable and no air conditioning. We couldn't even open the windows as the pigeons nesting outside wanted to come in. I didn't get a wink of sleep that night, with two children that sleepwalk it wasn't an option. In the morning even found an ants nest under kitchen floor tiles.

The good news is that reception did accommodate us and we were given a nice enough apartment on the second floor. Apartments are small but have everything you need. There is a good laundry on site and two large supermarkets a five minute drive away. So perfect for self catering.

The swimming pools were fantastic. A great childrens pool and another which is deep and great fun for older kids who like to dive! They are kept spotless and always a lifeguard on duty. Not impossible to get hold of a sunbed either as people don't seem to hog them with their towells for the day.

Across the road and up to the left there is a lovely beach, it gets deep fast so your kids don't have to go out far, they are just in front of you, there are also life guards here.

A great holiday with a difference, there is no entertainment. The television was only in french. The restaurants around didn't seem that nice so we cooked ourselsves, La Bocca Croc just outside entrance does lovely chips and fresh baguettes.

The hotel is good for its price, the outside areas immaculate but I would have liked to have seen alot more cleaning going on inside, the lobbies and corridors could have done with a good wash.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bas023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Cannes Verrerie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Thank you for posting your detailed review to Tripadvisor. We are glad that in this instance our reception staff were able to relocate you and your family to an apartment better suited to your needs. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the swimming pools and other on-site facilities. Finally, thank you for raising the cleanliness of the communal corridors. Your feedback is very valuable to us and your comments have been passed on to the Management of the Residence. We are sorry that your first apartment did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We both thought the cannes verrerie was great for the price you pay. Some of the reviews I read I just cant believe how picky some people are they are. When we arrived we had no bad thoughts. When we seen our room we were very chuffed the view was awesome, although when we tryed our electricity it didnt work, we were on holiday tho and werent going to moan and let it bother us, we told rececption and it was fixed within minutes it was only a trip switch that went.
Our room was excellent decent size balcony, lovely views of the pool, sea, mountains, yes there is a train line but its kind of hidden. obvisouly you do hear trains pass however they dont run late so unless your in bed for 10 your unlikely to hear any. We were mostly out and about busy though so trains was deffintly not an issue for us. Note to add: Cannes is a city of course there is going to be noise.
We thought location was great. We could walk (only takes 15 minutes and was a gorgeous walk alongside the beach) into the centre whenever we wanted but it was nice not to be in all the hussle and bussle constant. The public beach was 2 minutes walk and see photos for where we sat it was lovely.
Overall loved cannes so much were going back this year!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsjjcs2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stayed at the Residence for the last 2 weeks of September having last been there 8 years ago. The first thing to realise is that you are not going to a hotel but to a Residence. We booked a 4/5 person apartment for the 2 of us. This meant we had a bedroom with room for a bed and nothing else. It did have a window to the outside though. We also paid extra for a sea view and also for the Confort option. This meant that the bed was made when we arrived, we got towels(!), a TV and a cleaning kit. We also paid for unlimited WiFI. which is only operational in the reception area.

Positive things first. The view was nice and we had all our meals on the balcony. Ofcourse the view also included a busy rail line but I can't say this bothered us. We had no car this time and appreciated being able to walk to the daily market, the supermarket, the bus stop and the train station. It was a short walk to the public beach. You have to cross a busy road but there is a pedestrian crossing. The Residence pools were nice. At that time of year, they were very quiet. We preferred the sea though and it was actually warmer than the pools.

Not so positive things. It didn't seem to us that much maintenance had been done since we were there in 2000. The bathroom had a serious case of mildew round the bath. The toilet was infested with little ants when we arrived but they disappeared after a couple of days. None of the 3 extractor fans worked. The apartment needed a good clean, especially in the corners and along the skirting boards. Take mugs and wine glasses otherwise your coffee will be in tiny espresso cups or bowls and your wine will be in beakers. The elavators were a nuisance. At least half of them didn't work all the time we were there. We were on the third floor so mostly walked . Not much fun if you were on the sixth floor though. There is no washer/ dryer facility in the Residence. Apparently you can use the machines at the sister property next door but we went to the launderette round the corner where there were nice ladies. Getting in and out at night seems a bit of a chore but we didn't go out at night so it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 113pine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Our first impressions were not good as the lights blew in our apartment and the oven blew a fuse but they quickly transferred us to a better one.
The furniture is run down and a bit grotty maybe because they used chipboard and the tiles are of a bright co lour so they were difficult to keep clean .
yeah you are near passing trains but you get used to it.
Any way the positives are that the studio apartments are a fine size and what a view ,the pool, the islands ,Cannes and the Esterel mountains
This thing about the Staff not speaking enough English ,we found them OK .I find it amazing that some English and Americans tourists make no effort to speak the native language and they still use this outdated miles and yards, pounds and ounces stuff .
When in Rome...........

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

very shabby dirty interior. Absense of aircondition system demans to keep balcon doors open, but it is impossible to sleep due to very close rail road. So every 30 minutes you will be awakened with very noisy train. Kitchen equipped with old over-used devices. All furniture obviously was purchased from sheapest second-hand store- dirty and covered with suspiciour spots. Personnel is busy with own deals and pay attention to you only if they finished conversation with own colleagues. We were shocked. Don't be crazy - never select this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank DenHaagDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cannes Plage La Bocca
2.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris
0.0 mi away
ResidHotel Villa Maupassant
ResidHotel Villa Maupassant
#108 of 126 in Cannes
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Cannes Mandelieu Hotel
2.8 mi away
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
#61 of 126 in Cannes
793 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kyriad Cannes Ouest - Mandelieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Cannes Verrerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Cannes Verrerie

Address: 6 rue de la Verrerie, 06150 Cannes, France (Formerly Maeva Residence)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: £50 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Cannes Verrerie 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Day and evening adult activities (during school holidays)On the seafront, 100 m from the lively Cannes La Bocca shopping quarter.Most apartments offer a sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Cannes Verrerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Cannes Verrerie Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing