We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean bed for the night”
Review of Hotel L'Esterel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'Esterel
Ranked #68 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 11 May 2007

This hotel has a good location, being near the Cannes train station (good for day trips) and the main shopping area of Cannes (Rue d’Antibes), and also a short walk to the seafront promenade (Croisette).

It is a 2 star hotel, so don’t expect luxury. Still it is clean and mostly new looking. Check-in was very quick, staff always polite and helpful. The room was of average size for a hotel in France. Air-con didn’t seem to work, as we were a little cold one evening. The bed itself is comfortable, pillows very hard and not comfortable. We stayed 4 nights, sheets weren’t changed at all. There is some traffic noise, but it’s not too bad.

There is a safe in the room, but remember to ask for the key at the reception. The safe itself is attached to the bedside table, which isn’t attached to much else, and probably could be pulled off easily. Maybe I’m just paranoid but it didn’t seem very secure to me.

When leaving the hotel, they ask you to leave the room key at the desk, which is fine, except when you come back and state your room number (to a different person at the desk), they just give you the key without really checking who you are. This made us think twice about leaving any valuables in the room.

Bathroom had a small shower cubicle, where a tall/bulky person might struggle to get in, and not much in the way of shower gel/shampoo is supplied, so bring your own. There is a hair dryer, though it’s not very hot (apart from the handle which ironically does get very hot!). You also have to hold the dryer high up, otherwise it automatically shuts off, which can be annoying.

Breakfast is served on the top floor, though you can eat cheaper elsewhere in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. We tried the buffet once, and weren’t overly impressed. We preferred picking up a croissant and a coffee somewhere else after that. Directly opposite the hotel, there is a great restaurant called Le Splendid, good choice, cheap, and they speak good English. We had dinner there twice, both times it was – splendid. There is also an internet café across the road. One note of warning, there are people begging in the station area, so would recommend caution in the evening as it can be a little lonely on that side of the street.

Next time I’m in Cannes, if my budget allows, I would probably look for something better, but if you just need somewhere cheap to stay, this is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2007

We where on a three night organised trip from Ireland. We are all disappointed with our first impressions of this hotel. The rooms are very small, but the bathroom was actually quite spacious. The rooms where clean which was the most important and they where cleaned everyday.

On our first morning at the hotel, our group of 48 had to meet our tour bus at 9am so everyone was up for breakfast early. The hotel obviously did not expect this and by the time myself and my partner made it for breakfast at 8.30 there was no cutlery or dishes or food left!!!!!! People where in the kitchen washing their own dishes as only 1 member of staff turned up....a real life "Faulty Towers".
The Hotel organised themselves better after this first morning after numerous complaints.

Do not book this hotel if you plan on spending much time in the hotel, it was ok for us as we where out all day and not back until late.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
West Virginia
28
Reviewed 1 May 2006

Clean Rooms, Friendly, and seemed to be renovated recently. Across from the train station but noise was not a problem. They had some kind of automatic metal shutters that drew down over the windows at the touch of a button. Rooms were small but normal for Europe. We had a very large group and everything went fine. Out of all the hotels we stayed at on our tour, this was the best. We did not have any vehicles so I do not know about the parking. Location was a little rough across from the train station but I was never scared.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2005

We were a party of eight golfers travelling to the French Riviera to enjoy some October sunshine.
We booked this hotel as we wanted somewhere cheap but clean and Hotel L'Esterel turned out to be a good choice.
Situated between the local railway station and a smart shopping area it is well placed with resturants of all types and prices as well as loads of shops. The beach and promenade are only a five minute walk away.
But what about the hotel I hear you ask. Well it is a 2 star and like all things in life you get what you pay for. There are no fancy bars or swimming pools but there are clean small rooms each ensuite. The showers are quite small and it is easy to turn the shower off or scald yourself if you turn round and bump the control handle.Maybe that says more about my size than the shower though.
There is a good value buffet breakfast served on the roof and you can either sit inside or outside and enjoy the views.
The staff were helpful and couteous. The hotel has been refurbished in the recent past and is more than a cut above some of the other 2 star hotels in the area which look dingy.
There is no parking at the hotel but there is a reasonably priced multi storey car park at the railway station only a minutes walk away.
There are no public lounges or areas apart from the lobby in the hotel but there are bars and resturants right outside the hotel.
So if you are going to be out and about a fair bit and only want the hotel for bed and breakfast then this is as good a place, at the price, as you will find.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Bigearsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Donnant sur la rue du 24 août
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4100ver0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathusmichalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
HOTEL P.L.M
HOTEL P.L.M
#93 of 126 in Cannes
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Little Palace
Hotel Little Palace
#86 of 126 in Cannes
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chanteclair
Chanteclair
#64 of 126 in Cannes
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alize Cannes
Hotel Alize Cannes
#53 of 126 in Cannes
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amiraute
Amiraute
#75 of 126 in Cannes
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Villa Tosca
Hotel La Villa Tosca
#65 of 126 in Cannes
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esterel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esterel

Address: 15 rue du 24 Aout, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: £43 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Esterel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Esterel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Esterel Hotel Cannes
Hotel l Esterel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing