We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overpriced two (and just two) star hotel”
Review of Hotel Lutetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lutetia
Ranked #94 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We needed to stay just one night in Cannes last September, and we selected Hotel Lutetia because of the good reviews on TripAdvisors, which made we think this the hotel was almost deserving the status of a three star hotel. TripAdvisors had been either too enthusiastic, or we were not so lucky just for that single night. Let's start with the (very) positive side: free parking outside the hotel. But don't rely on that: Rue Michel Ange is a small and short street with just a dozen or so of public car places along its side; if they're taken I guess that it becomes a pain to find other public free spaces around. The lady at the reception is surely friendly, but isn't that what any hotel owner/manager should at least be? The room we got in was on first floor, facing the street, and its appearance can be just described as old and shabby. Just a detail is worth any description: the shower is made into a nice of what once might have been a wardrobe or the like, and ....opens directly into the room. Ok, a folding screen if there is you like a bit of privacy while having your shower... And, oh, a last thing: some other reviews were glorifying the breakfast at an additional 8 or 9 euros (I can't remember the exact price): coffee, milk, bread, butter and jam is all we got. A breakfast at the nearest bakery would have costed less, with much more pleasure with one of those famous French butter croissant, mmmm... And the price for the room was over 100 euro, but since we booked through a web agency, the owner greeted us while leaving saying that it have costed us less if we called her directly. Perhaps we were unlucky with the period, perhaps the web agency charged too much, perhaps the lady had a bad day or she couldn't get a fresh croissant for us that very morning... fact is, this is a two star hotel which shows the full essence of a two star hotel. If it were priced half of what we paid, it would be a perfect cheap choice for many casual or budget travellers, but not at the price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meditativo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lutetia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2010

Stayed here for just one night at the end of June, fantastic service from the lady who runs the hotel and her son. Their English wasn't fantastic but much better than my French and they were very helpful with directions and maps for our onward journey. The hotel also had a carpark space which was very helpful. About a 10 minute walk to the Rue de Antibes but just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becks_8020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Bénédicte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alainretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElodieLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alize Cannes
Hotel Alize Cannes
#53 of 126 in Cannes
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alnea
Hotel Alnea
#42 of 126 in Cannes
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Appia Hotel
Appia Hotel
#83 of 126 in Cannes
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ResidHotel Les Coralynes
ResidHotel Les Coralynes
#101 of 126 in Cannes
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Mistral
Hotel Le Mistral
#63 of 126 in Cannes
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#79 of 126 in Cannes
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia

Address: 8 rue Michel Ange | 06400 Cannes, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lutetia 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing