We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastique!”
Review of Chanteclair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chanteclair
Ranked #60 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastique!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have just spend 6 days/nights in Cannes, in a small but tidy and very cosy room and we have enjoyed the quietness (less then 5 minutes from the beach and less then 2 minutes from Cannes' famous restaurant street), the great courtyard and the friendly staff and we can recommend you to try it. So if you want character and service in a great location, then choose Chanteclair. If you want airco, a large room and ditto breakfast buffet, then choose a mainstream hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCamshron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    46
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
60
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for 5 nights during July and it was great for what we needed. This hotel is in a perfect locaton, not even 5 minute walk from the Plalais in Cannes. The room is fairly small and our floor had a communal toilet (which was not an issue as all 6 of us where on the same floor) but it was exactly what we needed
Location is perfect, and the price is really cheap for the location.
It is also worth saying that Pascal is an awesome host - always willing to help and give you some advise on where to go. He also has a lovely friendly dog called Oscar who always wants to get involved and as a going away present we offered him our volleyball!
If you are conscious on our budget this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed here for 1 night and I found the rooms to be very comfortable and clean. This place is perfectly suited to a budget conscious traveller whos priority is comfort and location rather than luxury. The room we stayed in was a twin and recently renovated. We wanted to stay longer but the place was booked out due to a festival. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Also my sister loved Oscar, the resident puppy

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erics0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotell in a room for three. The room was clean the bed was comfortable but the room was very small.
The location is execellent close to restaurants, shops, Forville market and the harbour. A very quiet area with a peaceful large circular courtyard were breakfast is served.
This is far from a luxury hotel BUT the host (and his cute dog), location and the peaceful courtyard does it all!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal F, Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for taking time to review the hotel and thank you for your review. I am happy that you had a nice time hear and I hope to see you again next time you are in Cannes. So do Oscar (the dog)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The room in this hotel was very small but did have old world charm ,had a nice feel to it .Backstreet location but near to everything ,great for the posh shops and the old town with its numerous restaurants .Most of all I would like to say the owner was a really top bloke ,went out of his way to find us umbrellas when it was raining hard and was so happy for us when the sun came out ,which according to the local weather forecast wasnt meant to happen .Yes he made us feel really welcome..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal F, General Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel and thank you for your pleasant review. I am happy that I could make you feel welcome and that you had a nice time despite the weather. I do hope to see you again next time you will visit Cannes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

There is nothing special about this hotel but it comes with a very friendly host and the location is in a calm setting with a nice terrace. It's next to some nice restaurants and it's about a 7 minute walk to the Palais. You don't get luxury but the price is very affordable especially during the markets.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have a shower and WC and then there are others that have the WC outside (shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal F, Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for taking time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor. I am happy that you liked the place and the location and I hope to see you next time in Cannes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Arrived at this hotel with 2 friends last summer . first impressions were promising , a nice well kept courtyard in calm surroundings - in a prefect location , on the doorstep to old town with plenty of bars and restaurants to explore .

We were greeted by the owner Pascal who showed us our room and gave us information about the hotel . We found the owner to be a great host throughout our stay , He done everything he could to ensure his guests were happy.

We had a room for three people - Beds were comfortable , we had a fan and never run out of hot water ... So no problems.

Based on Price, location, hotel , owner - 5 stars in my books!

We are coming back in July and look forward to our return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
HOTEL P.L.M
HOTEL P.L.M
#81 of 126 in Cannes
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Cannes Centre Ville
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#77 of 126 in Cannes
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pruly
Hotel Pruly
#33 of 126 in Cannes
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azurene Royal Hotel
Azurene Royal Hotel
#82 of 126 in Cannes
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Little Palace
Hotel Little Palace
#84 of 126 in Cannes
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanteclair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanteclair

Property: Chanteclair
Address: 12 rue Forville, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cannes
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chanteclair 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Chanteclair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanteclair Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing