We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in Cannes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chanteclair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chanteclair
Ranked #60 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    46
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
57
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Location could not be beaten. Right in Old Town & 5 mins walk to the marina. Manager & dog is friendly. Room was the cheapest in town at this price unfortunately you do get what you pay for. The hotel is old & rundown. Our room had an open shower which wasn't mentioned in the ad. The WC was small. We had sewage smell from the pipes. Very basic so don't expect kettle or hairdryer. Good enough for backpackers & stayers only wanting a comfortable bed for few nights but we (couple) would rather pay more than stay here again but that's just our preference.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal F, Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for taking time to write a review on Hotel Chanteclair. You have selected a hotel in the old part of Cannes, hence it is an old building. You write that you did not like the room. That make me sad because you did not tell me. We could have given you another room. All our rooms are different but of course all rooms are very small. We do write that on our website. You are also claiming a hairdryer. We do lent out hairdryers from the reception if asked of. I hope that you will find hotels that suits you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have just returned from a 4-day stay in this hotel / hostel. I booked it via hostels.com and you can't argue with the cost - 100 euros for 4 days - what a bargain.

I absolutely loved the location, charm and ambience of this hotel as well as my little room 4. I booked this pretty last minute as I suddenly found myself with a long weekend on the cards due to a public holiday in Amsterdam and decided to set off for some sun.

Room 4 has a shower (not for the large), sink, queen bed and the toilet is just outside (which did not bother me at all). The room overlooked the courtyard and each morning I was woken (after a great night's sleep) to the sound of a wood pigeon and also the world's noisiest seagull!

I slept really really well here, the bed was v comfortable and with the window open it was just the right temperature.

Location wise, as others have said, you are right next to the market and 'restaurant row' in the old town, as well as just down the road from the Croisette. If you are after a private beach then I can recommend the O'key private beach. If you go down to the marina and turn right, you can't miss it. The prices are 12 euros per day in the week and 16 euros at the weekend for a sunbed & parasol. The owners and staff were lovely to me for the two days I was there.

Pascal is very kind and his dog Oscar is a little naughty thing (but v cute French boxer). If you are not keen on dogs then do not be put off, he is only a tiny thing and Pascal will tie him up if he is running around and being too naughty.

For 7 euros you can have a continental breakfast or if like me, you just want coffee, then a grand cafe is 2.50 euros (and I did check out the prices round about - he is cheaper).

Also if you ask him nicely, you may arrive after 8pm - but you must ask in advance.

Overall, I loved this little place - I felt very at home, and I'm sure I will be returning. I'm only sorry that the weather in Amsterdam is several degrees cooler than it was on the Cote D'Azur, as I'm missing the warmth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woganmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
228 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

At Chanteclair you get a very rare experience - a hotel with personality and a personal touch. The experience you will get here is very far from the standard and impersonal experience at a big hotel. Sure, the hotel has got some "patina" and hasn't got the amenities you may be used to, but it compensates for this by having charm - this unique vibe that makes you feel good.

Pascal, the hotel owner, takes a personal interest in making sure you have the best stay possible. And then - you don't find a better location.

I can't recommend this enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mschr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Chanteclair for 5 nights in the end of April. The reason we booked this hotel was the god rewiewes on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. This small hotel has a very friendly atmosphere thanks to the owner, Pascal, and his dog, Oscar. The hotel could not be more perfectly situated in Cannes, a few steps away from rue de Suquet, very close to the Forville market and a short walk to the beach. It is still very quiet. Our room was small, but it had a toilet and a shower and it was very clean. The bed was comfortable. Pascal serves breakfast in the charming courtyard. Above all, the prices for his hotel is very reasoneable. We most certainly will be back again and again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nina61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel Chanteclair – the cheapest hotel in Cannes p.t. – is both a hostel (some rooms) and a very charming hotel (other rooms, lately renovated). Situated in the old part of the town it offers lots of charm and hospitality. The host is transforming all the small rooms into stylish and well functioning rooms.
The hotel does not offer tv in the rooms, but has a well functioning Wi-Fi connection. Certain closing hours of the reception must be respected as the hotel is run only by the owner, Pascal. Once you are installed you have your own key and can come and go as you like.
Every detail is well considered, and the charm of both the hotel and the patio is unmatched. Hotel Chanteclair is highly recommendable.

Room Tip: No. 7 is a fine, small room for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinRoskilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is properly the best value for money I have ever experienced..
The location of this little private owned and very personally run hotel is a true pearl in the heart of the old town in Cannes. The owner Pascal and his little dog is making all the difference from the fancy hotels in town, which I also like :-)
However 45 Euro for a room in Cannes is something I did not know was possible at all.. But is is, and the rooms are newly renovated, clean and nice. The courtyard is something really unique and a very cozy place to have a glass of wine in the evening or having your breakfast in the morning. All in all, this i really a place I can recommend 100%

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPostLundsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal F, Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear guest. Thank you so much for taking time to write a review and thank you also for the nice review indeed. I am very happy that you liked your stay and I hope to be able to welcome you again next time you will visit Cannes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Cannes Centre Ville
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cannes Croisette
Hotel Cannes Croisette
#68 of 126 in Cannes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#75 of 126 in Cannes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel PLM
Hotel PLM
#72 of 126 in Cannes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Esterel
Hotel L'Esterel
#70 of 126 in Cannes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albert 1er Cannes
Hotel Albert 1er Cannes
#20 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanteclair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanteclair

Property: Chanteclair
Address: 12 rue Forville, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cannes
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chanteclair 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Chanteclair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanteclair Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing