We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Vieille Bergerie
Ranked #3 of 9 Eze B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 wonderful nights at this lovely place during late January.Loved everything;tasteful decor,peaceful location,whimsical atmosphere,spotless condition,beautiful breakfast served in Roselyne's beautiful living room in winter but outside under the trees when the weather warms up.All of this is enhanced by the warmth of Roselyne herself,who is so real,so helpful so great to talk to. So hope I have the opportunity to return to this enchanting place.I miss it already

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alison9395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with our baby. Roselyne, the owner, was very welcoming (glass of wine or juice, with crisps on arrival) and helpful (washing and drying our laundry, providing excellent restaurant recommendations and information about the area, including the best beach, parking etc). The room is immaculate and romantic and full of additional nice touches, like cakes, hot drinks facilities, a mini fridge, DVDs to watch etc. The garden of the B&B is beautiful and it is a real pleasure to sit at the small table outside the room, surrounded by flowers and greenery or at the large table under a tree in the garden, where breakfast is served. Breakfast is beautifully presented and delicious, with hot drinks (a jug of hot chocolate or the superb Earl Grey blend are highly recommended), fresh pastries, fruit, yoghurt, bread and jams. Sitting outside in the warmth of a summer's morning, in a gorgeous garden, with bird song around you feels like paradise.
The B&B is located up in the hills above the village and this is a very good thing in Summer, as it pleasantly warm at the B&B, whereas at the coast, it can be roasting hot!
A car is necessary to get around and parking is limited in Eze but it is a fabulous village to visit and the location is very beautiful.

Room Tip: Only 1 room and it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotConvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
233 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed one night at this lovely bed and breakfast in July. It is located above the grand cornice, high on the mountain. On your way up you will have an amazing view towards Eze where you can clearly see the castle on top of the rock. The B&B is located next to a nature park so therefore absolutely no noise. You will need a car to go around and to go to Eze from this place: Eze is busy over summer but we had no issues finding a parking space in the 2 days we spent in Eze.

The B&B has only room and you share the same entrance fence as with the owners. So you will see the owners passing through - not too often though but your terrace is not entirely secluded. The owners can enter their house from the other side as well. There is a separate entrance to the room which is a bit cave-like with round walls/ceiling; everything painted white with brocante interior. There is a large bed and a sofa bed available, a mini fridge, tea and coffee facilities and a little basket with madeleines (cakes). Upon arrival the owner gave us 2 large glasses of rose wine and some crisps to enjoy on our terrace.

The bathroom is small but clean and modern.

Breakfast was served in the garden where the table was set for the 3 of us with lovely Provence linen and plates. There were fresh croissants, baguette, orange juice, several jams, coffee and tea and fruit and yoghurt. All of good quality and plenty to last you till after lunch. The garden is large with lots of plants, the table is underneath an old olive tree. What else would you want in France.

The owners is very friendly and helpful, pointing out the beach we should go to, where the restaurants were etc. Although we decided to take some food to the beach and only enjoy some wine and cheese later in the evening on our own terrace. This stay was amazing and superb value for money. Would love to go back next year.

Room Tip: There is only one room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Vieille Bergerie for three nights. Everything about the B&B is just lovely. Roselyne could not have been more welcoming and makes her guests feel right at home. The house itself is so charming with beautiful gardens - perfect for your private breakfast or an evening glass of wine. With only two guestrooms, it is very private and perfect for couples. Easy access to Eze and nearby towns on the French Riviera.

Price is very reasonable for the accommodation offered. The bathroom for our room was on the small side, but the guest room is spacious. It's an old home and gets chilly at night, so pack accordingly!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

A brief 2-night stay at La Vieille Bergerie during our summer vacation in the south of France was a highlight of our trip. From the warm welcome by our host (including a glass of rose upon our arrival!) to the lovely guest house and gardens; from tasteful restaurant recommendations to the suggestions of day excursions; from the delicious breakfast served in the garden to the visit each morning by a local French Bulldog...everything was perfect.

This was a lovely home-base from which to explore Eze Village, Cap Ferrat, Nice and surrounding area. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I came to the vieille bergerie during the month of may for a week-end with my fiance and i must say we Were treated Like a king and queen.
On our arrival, a glass of fresh rose was offered to us as an aperitif So that we could admire one of the most amazing gardens we have ever seen. What is great about this garden is that it is reserved for us and we can tan or relax under the southern sun. It is so peaceful and quite and all you can hear is the birds sing or the cats purring in the garden.
Regarding the room, it suited us perfectly! Sweet, lovely design and So relaxing thanks to the décoration, linen, smell of the room (fig and mimosa smell) and lighting. The bed was So confortable that we woke up late for breakfast.
The room has its Own entry and during the night you dont even need air conditioning as the rocks in the room keep the air cool and fresh.
Breakfast is just superbe: firstly roselyne is the type of person that does not mind serving you breakfast whenever you want it. It is all Home made (fresh baked bread, croissants and pains au chocolat, Home made jam, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juice, yogourt...) you cannot leave Hungry. It is served outside in the beautiful garden under the old olive tree.
The room is always tidy and clean when we come back from à Day visiting. We even noticed that the linen is changed fully everyday.
Roselyne is the perfect hostess to have because she made us feel Like we Were Home. She introduced us to her family, made a big effort to Speak to us in english, recommended us what and Where to visit and especially recommended us Where to eat. She even made sure to book the restaurants for us.
The week-end was just exceptional and magical.You dont even need à swimming pool. We have kept so many memories With us and have already booked à week-end in january to experience our stay during winter and under the wonderful snow.
Thank you So much, we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My daughter's and I just returned from our first visit to Eze. Eze is the most incredible village I have ever seen. Located betweed Monaco and Nice, it is the ideal place to stay in the French Riveria. You can go shopping in Nice, explore Monte Carlo, go to the beach or explore the other beautiful towns in Provence. We stayed four nights and could easily have stayed longer. We loved everything about La Vieille Bergerie. Rosalyne was the perfect hostess and made us feel like we were visiting family instead of being paying customers. The room is decorated in beautiful provencial style furnishings and each room has it's own entrance. Rosalyne really pays attention to small details, such as the linens, the scent in the room, ensuring there are plenty of hangers, etc. to ensure that you enjoy your stay. Breakfast is served in her gorgeous garden - homemade croissants, pain au chocolate, tartines, fresh fruit....Even the milk was heated for our coffee! Rosalyne was also great about providing recommendations for activities or restaurants to try. This was our first visit to La Vieille Bergerie but will definitely not be our last!!!

Room Tip: A car is recommended. We did not have a car and it was still fine though. Rosalyne went out of her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crystaline66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eze
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eze Hermitage
0.9 mi away
Chateau Eza
Chateau Eza
#2 of 7 in Eze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eza Vista
Eza Vista
#5 of 7 in Eze
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cap Estel Hotel
Cap Estel Hotel
#3 of 7 in Eze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vieille Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vieille Bergerie

Property: La Vieille Bergerie
Address: 585 route de la Revere, 06360 Eze, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Eze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Vieille Bergerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vieille Bergerie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing