We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“steps to heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Eze
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We arrived by car and were surprised at how narrow the streets were and were happy to allow the porters to park our car. They took care of the luggage and gave us the instructions on how to find the reception area, which required a few steps. Reception seemed to be a far distance away from where we left our vehicle but we think it was due to us taking in the view along the way as well as checking out their beautiful private gardens. We were warmly greeted by the receptionist and concierge. We were shown our room that seemed to be quite a distance away from the main reception area; room 33 that required us to climb some steep steps to get up to it. Once the door was opened to our room we were pleasantly pleased with what we saw. A beautiful room that had a roof terrace with 2 sun lounges and a table with 4 chairs that would be perfect to relax on a warm day. Our room had a small tv, a nice spa bath with views of the ocean, decent bathrobes, good quality bath sheets and complimentary water. At turndown, we received not just one chocolate but a nice bag of a mixture of dark and milk chocolates. Breakfast was included and eaten at The Terrace restaurant. One morning it was quite fresh that the staff members offered the guests blankets to keep us warm –nice touch. Breakfast was plentiful and served in the most beautiful plates, bowls and cups with the hotel’s logo on them. The hotel only had one restaurant open during our stay and the bar area was decorated in rich colours with comfortable chairs and a piano in it. Eze is definitely a place full of uneven stoned steps and one needs to be careful when walking – suggest wearing no heels, just flats. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return. The most speculator views on earth.

Room Tip: If struggling with steps, a room near the golden goat had lovely views and is close to the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

I did not stay in the hotel but the location seems lovely. We travelled from Monaco for a meal in the Michelin 2 star resturant. A very dissapointing experience! The food was not special and not to the sort of standard you should be able to expect from a resturant with this reputation. The service was very poor - we had sat down for over an hour and a half without being given anything to eat for example. The cost was extortionate and overall this was very poor value.
I would avoid the resturant - the hotel may well be great as some reviews suggest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank AeR772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Where do I begin to tell you about our incredible experience at this amazing hotel. Will we go back?......absolutely! Would I recommend this hotel to anyone going to Eze?......absolutely!
The ultimate experience started when I emailed the hotel and started to correspond with Karin. Her emails were warm, welcoming and professional. I knew right away this was a place we had to visit. Our friends Victoria and Bob highly recommended the hotel. They stayed here a few years back. V&B, you were spot on with your recommendation. It was just what we expected and more.
We requested a room with a balcony, king bed, which was centrally located. Karin recommended the "Spring Awakening" package which included 2 nights accommodation, breakfast daily, a welcome cocktail, and 1 gourmet dinner in the famous 2 Michelin star restaurant. We arrived on April 12th at 10:00 am. Luckily our room was ready. Room 34 was exactly what we wanted, King bed, balcony with fantastic view of the sea and of the 2 star restaurant with it's mascot "la chevre d'or". Being a member of Relais & Chateaux's 5C club, it entitled us to a welcome bottle of French champagne and a welcome gift which happened to be 2 "hotel signature" baseball caps. Promptly delivered by an amazing gentleman named "Mamadi". An sincere gentleman with incredible customer service skills. Nothing was too much trouble for him. The bathroom was gorgeous. Coral marble, double sinks, huge Jacuzzi tub, a shower with 10 shower heads, and stacks of soft thick Egyptian cotton towels.
After a short nap to try and catch up on our jetlag, we showered and prepared ourselves for our evening of gastronomic pleasure. We started with cocktails on the terrace of the restaurant. A spectacular view of the sea while enjoying cocktails accompanied by nibbles (nuts, olives, etc). Service was "First Class" all the way. We had a reservation at 8pm, and we were approached by the Maitre D to see if we were ready to be escorted to the dining room. We arrived at our table which was located along the window with the same marvelous view we had from the terrace. Since our dinner was included with our package, we were presented with a 6 course tasting menu. Our waiter explained the menu in mouth-watering detail. The show was about to begin. The dining staff and management were warm, friendly, professional, welcoming and customer service oriented. We ordered a nice bottle of Chablis from the sommelier. We couldn't decide between two on the extensive wine list and he kindly helped us choose one that he preferred and highly recommended. His choice had nothing to do with the price, he actually recommended the slightly lower priced bottle. The courses started to arrive, each course more beautifully presented than the last course. Works of art on a plate. Too beautiful to eat. We sat back and admired the work of the talented chefs. The food tasted as good as it looked. Each course was delivered and our waiter gave us a detailed description of ingredients and preparation. This was truly was of the nicest gastronomic experiences we've ever had. The quality of the food, wine and service reminds me of our experience at the famous Louis XV at the Hotel de Paris in Monaco. The best dessert I've ever had was a lemon delight that was indescribably delicious. (See attached photo). We finished off our remarkable dinner with a nice dessert wine.
When we returned to our room, a regular turn down service was complete with bedside slippers, chocolates on the pillow, chilled water on the nightstand. We slept like babies on the most fantastic mattress and butter soft linens. I thought I was in heaven. Now it could be a combination of the champagne in the afternoon, the before dinner cocktails, the bottle of Chablis, the dessert wine and mild jetlag but I don't think so.
The next morning, we had the continental breakfast on the terrace of "Les Remparts" Breakfast included juices, fresh fruit cocktail, yogurt, fresh French pastries and coffee. Just enough for us after our degustation dinner the night before.
We spent the day discovering the town and the exotic gardens all within walking distance of the hotel. Everything was a max. of 15 minutes away from our room.
Our second day was a repeat of our first except we spent time in the afternoon around the pool sipping champagne and enjoying every moment to the max. Our biggest mistake was our dinner plans for the 2nd night. We decided to try an alternative restaurant at the Chateau Eza, a HUGE mistake. We wish we had dined again at Chateau De la Chevre D'or. Please take our advise, Chevre D'or is the best place to dine when it comes to service, food, ambience and total gastronomic experience.
We loved our visit to Chateau de la Chevre D'or. Thanks to all the staff and management for this memorable 2 nights in Eze. We will be back.
It was wonderful to meet you Karin when we were checking out. Always nice to put a face with an email. Your kindness was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. When we arrived after a long drive, it took our breath away. It is overlooking the sea with wonderfully kept gardens that have amazing statues, wonderful little hidden waterfalls. The rooms are set is small hoses all around the village, some overlooking the garden, some overlooking the sea. It does not really matter which way you are looking, it is all charming and beautiful in its own right. The staff is very helpful, concierge is a great and very helpful gentleman. If you get a chance, make sure to have dinner at their michelin starred restaurant. It is pricey, so be prepared. but if you aim for a night to remember, for sure you will remember this gastronomic experience. Sommelier needs to be especially mentioned, he is a great, professional and very friendly and professional gentleman that you can definitely rely upon to make a great wine and food coupling. And when you wake up the next morning, you will also have a breakfast to remember as a croissant tastes a hundred times better when eaten with this amazing view!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvekiZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had high expectations going to Eze and Chateau de la Chevre d'Or, but those expectations were blown out of the water by the glorious reality. Service at the hotel is superb, and the concierge staff did an amazing job ahead of our stay by making arrangements for car transfers, dinner reservations, and a private boat charter. Our room at the hotel was beautiful, in the middle of the historic and quaint village. (It is hard to imagine the village until you get there; it is so connected and winding and feels like an organic stone-and-stucco part of the mountain.) The lower level of our suite was a large marble bath with two vanities and separate shower and Jacuzzi tub. The curving marble staircase led to an upper level with a large bedroom, complete with king bed, desk, round table and four chairs, and a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean and the mountains. There was also a living area with a sofa and two chairs. Windows were all operable and it was delightful to let in the fresh air.

We had dinner at Chevre d'Or, and it was memorable due to the fabulous food, the service and the views. We chose the five course tasting menu and loved every course. All were plated beautifully, presented well, and tasted so good. Wine pairings were not available that evening, but they have an excellent wine list and we were pleased with our selection.

The views from the hotel terrace are just gorgeous. It is a great place for breakfast as well as for afternoon/evening cocktails.

We also went a couple of times to La Taverne (recommended to us by the concierge staff for a casual meal) in the village. They have wonderful pizza and are so friendly; our final night, they pulled us back in the kitchen to play spoons with the cooking staff -- what a blast!

The boat charter the concierge arranged for us was one of our favorite activities in France. We toured the coastline, learned about some landmarks/history/items of interest, and also toured through Monaco's harbor. It was amazing seeing Eze from the water: it really emphasizes how high above the sea the village is (1300 to 1500 feet above sea level).

The cactus garden at the top of the village is lovely and the views are even better. There are also placards placed around the top that offer historical information which is quite interesting.

This is a fairly expensive place to stay, but we definitely felt we got our money's worth, and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony or terrace. Each room is different (there are only 38).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnabelleCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The château was the highlight of our tour through France. With a private garden and access to great views of the ocean and mountain, the location is the best in all of Eze. The rooms are also unique as they are embedded into the village, which provides a feeling of really living in a medieval town. Be sure to grab a drink at the bar for great views and explore the grounds for great statues.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willworkforvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night only en route to Monaco from Sanremo, but it's a gorgeous property.

The terraced grounds are immaculately maintained, with various styles of sculpture throughout. The day we arrived the weather was overcast but the views were still beautiful. The next day when we left the sun was out and the full beauty of the place was well highlighted.

From start to finish staff was welcoming and helpful. We arrived a bit early and waited in the bar area across from reception, where we were greeted with a fruit drink and a giant, heavenly vanilla cream macaron that I'll likely dream about for years to come.

We stayed in a "basic" room, but it was large and very well-appointed. Beds are comfortable with soft linens. Bathrooms are large with dual sinks and all have jacuzzi tubs.

Internet in the room was excellent. It would appear individual rooms have their own router.

The only complaint I would have is that there didn't seem to be any power outlets in the bathroom. We were having dinner in the restaurant that evening and I would've liked to have spruced myself up a bit with my flatiron, but I didn't want to plug it into another outlet and risk leaving it on a surface that could burn. Again, not a huge deal, it was just rather surprising. We still enjoyed our stay (and dinner) very much and would recommend the property highly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TheFrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eze
0.1 mi away
Chateau Eza
Chateau Eza
#2 of 6 in Eze
543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cap Estel Hotel
Cap Estel Hotel
#4 of 6 in Eze
200 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eze Hermitage
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
2.0 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Chevre d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Chevre d'Or

Address: Rue du Barri, 06360 Eze, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Eze
Price Range: £203 - £667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de la Chevre d'Or 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Château de la Chèvre d'Or in the medieval city of Eze sits between the sky and the Mediterranean Sea and offers a rare, warm, family-friendly atmosphere. 31 rooms, 7 suites and 1 Panoramic suite. "La Chèvre d'Or" gourmet restaurant (2 Michelin stars)- "Les Remparts" Mediterranean restaurant terrace (lunch only), the EDEN restaurant (dinner only) & Le Café du Jardin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau de la Chevre d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Chevre d`Or Hotel
Chateau Chevre d

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing