We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Eza
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Eze Hermitage(Eze)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$501
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Edmond's Hotel(Cap d'Ail)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel de Monaco(Cap d'Ail)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
448
68
34
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
68
34
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate balconyfrench rivierawelcome drinkyour luggagejunior suitetasting menul occitaneleave your carmedieval villagecote d'azuramazing viewsboutique hotelamazing experiencecap ferratpark your carromantic placestandard room
Filter
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2013

No doubt about it- the location is fantastic, we had a superior room with balcony and the view over Nice bay, Villefranche etc. was just fabulous. The room itself was done in a sort of 'medieval' theme, but, although comfortable enough, it just looked rather dated and twee. But, the restaurant (1 Michelin star) was a big disappointment. Again, great views but there was just the one 'tasting menu', (plus a la carte), and frankly, some of the courses were very ordinary. The service was pretentious, overly-formal and there was some quite loud, very unrestful, 'background' music. Needless to say the wine list was very expensive. So, although we had booked in 2 nights, after 1 night we said 'no more' and went down the hill to Le Troubadour which was excellent, good quality, good value cuisine with affordable wine and perfectly acceptable service of the 'non-fawning' variety.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at Chateau Eza for two nights (Christmas Eve and Christmas day). Went there with very high expectations, specially considering the nightly rate. While the view from our room of the French Riviera was quite spectacular, the room itself had very old decor: beds were not very comfortable, coverlet looked dated....guess I prefer modern hotels with white comforters and modern furnishings. Bathroom was the only thing that looked updated and it also had a great view. I do have to say that staff was very nice and attentive. From the valet guy to the ladies at the lobby. We had dinner at their Michelin star restaurant on Christmas day. Food was ok but not worth the $300 dollars it cost - note this was for their smaller tasting menu. Also, please note that since cars are not allowed in the very charming Eze village (it's a tiny village with narrow walk ways), you need to walk (on an incline) for at least 10 mins to get to the hotel. It's a work out!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdmolinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Deserving of every one of its recognitions (including a recent placement on Condé Nast's Gold List).

L'Occitane products in the bathroom. Duplex standard rooms with cool satin sheets and thick robes and towels. A wonderful one Michelin star restaurant hovering above the Côte d'Azur (we personally think it deserves another). And to top it off, it is located in an ancient village that has never lost its rustic touch.

Great service, tasteful room and wonderful meal... This really is worth every cent.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ml8878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Just spent an overnight with my husband at Chateau Eza and was extremely pleased with the hotel, the satff, and the service. We did the Gourmand Package that included dinner and breakfast with your hotel stay. From the gentleman who took our car and luggage, to the young lady who checked us in, to the entire restaurant staff, we were taken care of so wonderfully and made to feel like we were the most important guests they had.

The hotel only has 12 rooms and makes sure that the guests have a wonderful experience. They gave us a welcome cocktail in a lovely small lounge room with a fireplace while the young lady prepared our check-in, they arranged our dinner time and always knew who we were and what our status (the specific package) was, the turn down service left hot tea waiting for us when we returned from dinner, our room had a large jaccuzi tub and two fireplaces ready with wood for lighting if we wanted, for breakfast they put us in a little private sun room with a gorgeous view so we could have our breakfast alone and made sure at every moment that were hapy and wanted for nothing.

They even have spa services that come to your room if you want to partake. The small village is also lovely to walk around in and lose yourself. The owner has really though of everything to make your stay a lovely experience. I fully recommend!

Room Tip: The standard Deluxe is wonderful.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We made our reservation for Chateau Eza via Kiwi Collections. I was tempted by their Visa exclusive package which turns out to be a a hoax! I had the option of paying slightly cheaper through the hotel's website for a standard room however I've decided to get the same room at a higher rate of Euro 450 per night ( Visa Infinite package which promised an upgrade to higher room category if available, continental breakfast, USD25 dining credits , free Internet or valet parking of up to USD50 in value per stay) . The hotel reviews and website boast of valet parking service at the village entrance, without the need for guests to juggle heavy bags up the cliffs. We arrived at 5pm, indeed there was a small reception at the village entrance but the door to the reception was locked. We waited for quite some time and decided to climb up to the hotel leaving our suitcases behind.

Reception staff was friendly but not too attentive. We've had higher expectations for a hotel being considered as SLH, but staff seem to have difficulty remembering names or recalling hotel guests despite having just 12 rooms ! Each time we approached a reception staff, we had to repeat our names and room category , followed by an automated gesture of checking the guest list on the chart. At times, the reception staff would even say that she could not find our names on the guest list! Very quickly we even assisted hotel staff to find our names on the chart, knowing well enough which page to flip!

The hotel room itself is beautifully maintained with the highest quality fittings. Our room was a duplex with a small sitting area downstairs , bedroom and shower room upstairs . We also have a partial sea view. Turn down service was a delight as we were greeted with a box of Macarons and a pot of infusion tea.

On the first night, the reception staff was not able to make any reservation for dinner at the hotel's Michelin star restaurant. We were told that the restaurant was full, hence a reservation was made at a quaint Italian restaurant just a few steps away from the hotel. It was quite a good dining option as we can really enjoy the medieval village fully when the crowds subsided in the evening. Also the little Italian restaurant offers very affordable dining option for an exclusive place like Eze! Yet we still managed to have an evening aperitif at Chateau Eza's restaurant overlooking the splendid sea and cliffs.

The next morning's breakfast experience was really awful. There were 3 tables set up at the balcony with magnificent view of the cap ferret. If you're unlucky. ( quite likely) all 3 tables will be taken and guests tend to take extended breakfasts , some even read every page of the newspapers there! We were given a seat at the couch being the unlucky ones, it was not even an actual dining seat, it was a makeshift seating for us as there was no where else to dine other than those 3 tables at the balcony! The continental buffet options were scarcely placed on the table. 4 pots of cold coffee and tea , not enough plates or bowls for diners, There was only one waiter for the entire time, no doubt he was overworked and could not provide a high quality customer service . It was such a pity though, amazing views but substandard service. The kind waiter told us to come earlier or we'll have to settle with poor food and service! I don't really expect to wake up at 7am every day during my leisure holidays! The next day , we were pretty much the first to reach the breakfast area, true enough everything was perfect , good seating , food aplenty and hot coffee ! It is still a disappointment for us though to witness such inconsistency in an exclusive hotel, with a Michelin star restaurant!

Our dinner at Chateau Eza turned out to be splendid! Our table overlooked Cap Ferret, wine recommendation from the sommelier was indeed a perfect match and the degustation menu was the highlight of our night! Food was creatively presented, every dish was a piece of art!

Back to the Visa Infinite Package offered by Kiwi Collections: there was no offer of an upgrade to a higher category room, in fact the hotel staff gave very little acknowledgement of the so- called VIP status package. We were charged for valet parking and I had to show our booking perks in black and White to get a rebate! We didn't mind tipping for valet, something which we do naturally without hesitation, but the hotel charged extra for overnight parking at their compound. We did not get our USD25 food credit and it came to a point where we're already too embarrassed to have to constantly remind the hotel staff of our entitlements that we just left without much debate! So, think twice before you pay extra for so-called value added package as the hotel may not recognize and honor to perks!

Overall, we have mixed feelings for this hotel, amazing views, incredibly pricey, superb dining experience (for dinner at the Michelin star restaurant) but substandard service from reception staff.

Room Tip: Wake up early in order to get a balcony seating or any seat for breakfast - or else you'll have to sit in a hall without view or a makeshift couch & table!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreasWiegand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews