We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great - but wear good shoes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nietzsche Path

Nietzsche Path
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Eze
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great - but wear good shoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed going down, walk on beach, and then back up this path - good for health - reasonably hot work in the heat of midday sun. Plenty of places to stop and take in the view. Also some shady parts to cool down. Some signs about Nietzsche (in French and English). Good shoes essential. Remember to say "Bonjour" to everyone :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    129
    27
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
IAH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eze Village to Eze-sur-Mer via Nietsche's footpath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you go upward, you will need to be in good shape. It is 1400 feet / 430 meters up at a fairly steep angle. It is not for the out-of-shape or faint-hearted. The trail starts 50 feet / 15 meters east and across the street by Villa Marguerite from the SNCF Eze-sur-Mer station / bus stops for bus 100 to Nice/Menton or bus 82 to the village.
It may be easier to go downhill, but it is still hard work on the knees for the 45 minutes (more if you take it slowly). It is easier to find the path (Beginning of road up to village, just after concessionnaire booth / before next curve with AED / Defibrillator. There are a number of concrete or cut stairs, but do watch loose gravel, and wear sturdy walking shoes with soles and topsides that can take a beating. Nietsche said it was 6000 pied (probably footsteps to take, not "feet" here).
The scenery going down is gorgeous, much of the first half going down following a river's cascades nearby, and then you have the view of the sea and the terraced houses on the mountains around.

The map at the 82/100/SNCF bus stop at Eze-sur-Mer shows another green highlighted path connecting, that would start west of Eze village. See the map in the case outside/west of the bus stop shelter on the south side of the (A8) road.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ashlaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's Up Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Take this path up to the village. It is all up hill but in three stages but doable in about 40-45 minutes. Hiking shoes are recommended and take some water. To return to the train station from the village take the Savaric Trail (yellow blazes) - it starts about 1 mile west of the village on the Moyene Corniche.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Get in some exercise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Unlike many of the reviewers, I took the path up to Eze Village and the bus back down to the train station, not wanting to aggravate my bad knees. I found it to be quite enjoyable. It is a bit steep and rocky in places, but if you are used to hiking it should pose no problems. I wasn't keeping track how long it took. Not sure I would have done it in summer as it would have been too hot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beleriand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's a proper walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

It is suggested it takes 40min to go down this famous path. It took me longer only because I stopped and took in what was around me. It's got a great energy doing this walk. Be prepared for the walk up or like me (take the bus!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank George L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nietzsche Path also viewed

Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Nietzsche Path? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing