We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Odalys Open Golfe Juan
Lomma, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cancelled stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

On 20-27th July we had planned to stay at Odaly's Residence in Golfe Juan, Côte d'Azur. We have stayed there a few times before as this resort is one of our favorite spots. Our reservation was made as late as Friday July 11th. On Saturday the following day, we regrettably had to cancel our reservation after being notified on my mother's relapsing leukemia and very poor outlook. On that same Saturday I spoke to the concierge who promised and committed to refund the entire amount of EURO 1096 which had been drawn the day before. Later on we were informed that only 25% of the amount was refundable. Despite constant and several reminders we have not been refunded a single cent. My mother passed away end of July. I have been traveling extensively for close to 25 years and have never ever encountered such a greedy and distasteful treatment. The only rationale behind their manners would reasonably be they are struggling, or be close to foreclosure and bankruptcy. To hell with Residence Open Golfe Juan. Pär-Olof Johannesson

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pojo6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    27
    23
    26
    25
See reviews for
62
34
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

These apartments have the opportunity to be fantastic and if they spent as much time maintaining the apartments themselves as they do the grounds then I would have no hesitation in recommending it. However, it is very obvious once you reach your apartment that the bare minimum is spent there in every respect. No air conditioning and no ability to hire fans is their biggest mistake. Thank goodness we brought a fan with us because there is no chance we could have remained in this apartment without it. We had to move our bed from the bedroom into the living room as the bedroom only had one tiny window and was totally airless and blisteringly hot. We slept on a mattress on the floor by the doors to the balcony and felt sorry for those on the ground floor that this would pose a security risk for. How families managed to survive with the sleeping arrangements I have no idea.
The apartments need a big overhaul and air conditioning to bring them up to scratch. The pool was lovely but crowded with children so no opportunity for adults to swim. If only they had had an adults hour at the beginning or end of the day it would have been wonderful. There were barely any sun loungers around the pool and to hire them was expensive.
The reception staff were young but tried to be as helpful as possible. We were alerted to the future problems by all the extra costs that we incurred before we had even set foot in the apartment. Never good to start the holiday with a big bill you weren't expecting.
All in all, I think you could get a much better holiday for the same price by going somewhere else.

Room Tip: Thank goodness we were on the top floor in block 2. Nearly all the others either overlooked the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golfe-Juan Vallauris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelmsford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

When I got there the façade and gardens looked great and during our stay there were people working hard on keeping the grounds well maintained. It was just a pity that is the only thing good about this place. Nothing comes with the place, so as soon as you arrive you have to pay - even for a safety deposit box! There was no air conditioning and they didn't supply fans so it is prohibitively hot! You either can't sleep though heat or get bitten to shreds by the mosquitoes if you open a window. The only solution was to buy a fan, open the windows and cover ourselves in repellent overnight. The room is created using as little as the owners could get away with spending. The cooking facilities are appalling with no oven. The fridge stayed luke-warm rather than chilled and the TV has no extra channels so unless you are French or fluent in French forget the TV! The bed is cheap and uncomfortable and the clothes rail so rusty our clothes were stained and ruined. The pool is clean but the rules are not enforced so swimming is impossible as basically the pool is full of children play fighting, throwing things and dive bombing! There was nothing nice about this place, except the immaculately kept grounds.

Golfe Juan is a great place - so long as you are not at the Odalys Open.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borås, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This apartment hotel have made sure they squeeze every cent they can out of holliday hungry tourists! The apartments has never had an update and look like they did 30 years ago. Giving themself 3 stars is a joke when you don't even get aircon in your room. Yes, you can actually - but then you need to pay 75€ extra, and get i big, noisy terrible machine that dont do the job anyway.
Nothing comes for free in this complex, you cant even use the sunbeds around the pool for free, they charge you an extra 7€ for this.There is a gym as well, but of course that comes with a charge.Wifi that is free in most modern hotels today is a huge 20€ for a week.
Location is quite good of you want to be close to the beach, but besides that there is nothing nice around the area when it comes to dining, unless you like pizza 7 nights a week, you are surrounded by them - mainly vans parked outside the building.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EK .SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Very nice hotel basic apartments but nice.pool area was really nice and clean and the bar was nice and served nice meals with friendly staff.pitty about the reception bad opening times had to wait 2hours to get keys. But staff were nice.nice beach area close by and main resorts not far cannes only 10min in car 30min to nice.we are hopeing to go back this year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colman.ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

perfect for families wanting to stay near Cannes or NIce but not being able to afford the prices in either place.Apartmenst are simple and plain with little furniture or cutlery typically french.you need to take or hire linen and towels.Nice and dark rooms at night due to shutters.Lovely pools ideal toddler one and one for rest of us.Nice poolside restaurant serving meals ro just drinks around pool.Airport bus stops outside go any wehre for 1.30 euros.Catch the same bus to Nice or Cannes.very handy no car needed or recommended.Playground,bakery,beach both private and lpublic all within 5 mins walk.Would recommend this property and recommend you book through a travel agent as I did so you know what you are getting for you family.It is not luxury just good old fashioned simple self catering.

  • Liked — loaction and toddlers pool
  • Disliked — buying bin liners
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2007

I've just read the other rewiew sabout Open Golf and I really want to
express my disapproval.

I've stayed there with my boyfriend three times, each time for a week at the and of December (2004-2005-2006). The first time we booked our stay by a travel agent but during the stay we noticed the precision and the courtesy of the staff, so the other two times we decided to contact the property directly for the reservation. No problems.

The complex is really nice, composed by five/six blocks of building situated in a peaceful big garden with a pool.

First of all, me too I have to say that this is an aparthotel. That means, you have an apartment for your own, so you have to clean it and make your bed by yourself.

The apartments are spaciuos, with a complete kitchen (with dishwasher), a living room, a bedroom and a big balcony equipped with
table, chairs and even a clothes rack. There are two kind of apartments:
- standards, which have a very small bedroom, with a small window too
- superiors, whose bedroom is bigger and has direct access to the balcony. The superior treatment includes free towels and sheets at your arrive.

NOTE: II think it is really a "luxury" having a bedroom in a residence...in the most of cases they usually have only a sofabed in the kitchen...

All apartments have indipendent heating, but do NOT have A/C (howewer
in winter It obviously wasn't a problem for us)

The last time we stayed there, the heating system didn't work. The reception closed at 8.00 PM and the line of the telephone in our apartment was interrupted. I went in the hall and asked the barman for help. He has been very nice with me; he sent a technician at our apartment the same evening and next morning the problem was solved.

I can say that everithing was adeguated for the price.

I definitely recommend this residence to everyone who wants to spend a peaceful holiday near Montecarlo, Nizza, Cannes but as he was at home.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank A_B_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfe-Juan Vallauris
0.1 mi away
Eden Azur
Eden Azur
#2 of 8 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#4 of 8 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
103 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blanc Sable Hotel
Blanc Sable Hotel
#1 of 8 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
32 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#18 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
102 reviews
2.2 mi away
Resideal Antibes
Resideal Antibes
#64 of 86 in Antibes
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Odalys Open Golfe Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Odalys Open Golfe Juan

Property: Residence Odalys Open Golfe Juan
Address: Avenue Georges Pompidou, 06220 Golfe-Juan Vallauris, Antibes, France (Formerly Résidence Open Golfe Juan)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Odalys Open Golfe Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Odalys Open Golfe Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residences Hotelieres Open Hotel Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Residence Odalys Open Golfe Juan France/Golfe-Juan Vallauris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing