We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value”
Review of Le Provence

Le Provence
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Provence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stopped four nights in a group of 10 friends at the end of August/beginning September. For the South of France this hotel is amazingly good value - 65 Euros for a double room. The room was on the small side, but immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. The bed linen and towels were of high quality. Breakfast (6 Euros) was the standard baguettes and croissants, juice and coffee/tea/chocolate, but the bread was the best I had tasted for years in France, and there was plenty of it. In addition to the usual little pots of jams, there was a large jar of homemade marmalade which was excellent and made by the owner, Jean. We regularly sat and talked on the terrace on the pavement, morning and early evening (with or without a drink or two) before moving down to the Marina for dinner. The hotel is very conveniently situated for the train (which can take you all along the coast for very little cost), the beach and the Marina with its restaurants and bars. But the real plus was Jean herself (who is English) (and Henri) who helped us in so many ways, including finding and booking a vehicle to take us to Cap d'Antibes for lunch. Not easy when there are 10 people to transport. If you want a convenient, inexpensive hotel in the South of France with easy access to Cannes, Monaco, Nice, Ventimiglia (to name but a few), this is the place. You can get there by train with ease from Paris, fly to Nice or drive - it's up to you. However, it's Jean and her staff who make this place so friendly and welcoming - even the locals dropping in for coffee seemed pleased to see us. Nothing was apparently too much trouble and we were, at times, a somewhat unruly group! Thank you Jean and Henri for making it such a wonderful few days. We hope to return soon. Jo

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. No lift but air conditioning. Very little noise. Some of our friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoJo905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

Le Provence is strategically based and offers easy access via bus, car, or train to Cannes, Nice, Antibes, Grasse and beyond. The Provence itself is situated 1 minute from Golfe Juan/Vallauris train station and offers no-frills, yet cosy accommodation.

Room cost is reasonable at 60 Euros for a single and 65 for a double per night, and the owner Jean is British, which can help with travel, sightseeing and other requests you may struggle asking the locals.

All in all I would recommend Le Provence for those on a budget, and those looking to avoid the crowds.

Room Tip: Try and get on the second floor, which lessons any potential noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AAlleyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We had a wonderful break here over the Easter hols. The couple were very kind helpful hosts, even taking time and trouble to ring places we planned to visit to check they were open and getting timetables from the tourist information for us. We are a family of 5 with 3 small children and would definately visit this area and hotel again. We stayed on the top floor where there are rooms that accomodate 4 and a travel cot. Fab breakfast too. Very good value too. Places we visited were Valluris for pottery Pablo Picasso museum, marine land, Grasse to show children how perfume was made (kids loved it-even my son) and an island a boat trip from Nice. However you could spend the day at beach 5 min walk from hotel and train is just 1 min away. Can't go wrong really.......

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is a two star hotel, run by the most helpful anglo/french couple. The rooms are well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, air conditioning, flat screen TV, free safe, and fridge. The rooms are clean, although decor is a little worn, and the linen/towels immaculate-quite exceptional for 2 star rating. The location is superb in centre of Golfe Juan -5 minutes walk from sandy beach and just 1 minute from the train station (trains to Cannes & Nice). From the square (about 2 minutes walk) buses go to Nice airport, and to Nice/Cannes and local villages. The breakfast was excellent continental style with bread and croissants from excellent local baker. Very good value.

Room Tip: Ask advice of the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I had to find a place in Golfe Juan in the middle of the summer. A friend of mine got me a reservation into this nice, small hotel located in the center of Golfe Juan less than one hundred meter from the sea (ok, count 200 if you want to get to the beach). The place is operated by an English/French couple. Everything is small, clean, with excellent AC and has a nice Provencal touch that only Brits can capture. The rates are more than reasonable and the breakfast scene (served until 11:00) lets you in on local life. I did not get any noise from the street and a little from the adjacent rooms but nothing bad really.
The great thing is that the harbor is 2 minutes away, the quaint train station is around the corner and the flower shop is next door. I stayed there for five days and in some odd ways, felt like I was in Provence thirty years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Proche du centre et du port et de la gare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Céline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfe-Juan Vallauris
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#3 of 8 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blanc Sable Hotel
Blanc Sable Hotel
#1 of 8 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Odalys Open Golfe Juan
Residence Odalys Open Golfe Juan
#6 of 8 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belles Rives
Hotel Belles Rives
#4 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eden Azur
Eden Azur
#2 of 8 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
19 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
#5 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Provence

Address: 17 avenue de la Gare, 06220 Golfe-Juan Vallauris, Antibes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tel: Fax: ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Provence France/Golfe-Juan Vallauris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing