We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B, best hosts”
Review of Le Mas Samarcande

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Mas Samarcande
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best B&B, best hosts”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Where do I begin? I guess with the hosts, Marseille and Pierre. They are so kind and helpful, willing to make you feel home away from home.
Every morning, right after we finished breakfast, they offered help planning the route for that day, not only with tips such as what we should see, but also when it's better to go there, depending on the weekday and traffic, what places we should skip, because it's too hard or too long to get there and doesn't worth the effort and so forth..
Also, every little thing we asked for was supplied, and always with a smile.
The room is big, cost, extremely clean, very quiet and with beautiful view. There is a big bathroom with a bathtub. There is also WiFi in the room, and a flat TV.
Breakfast is superb - with many different kinds of cheese, baguettes, croissants and homemade marmalades. It's served on a beautiful, sunny terrace with a wonderful view.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
166
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
349 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Le Mas Samarcande.

The location is great for touring the south of France. Just 10 minutes drive to Cannes.
The house is on steep hillside and has a secure gated driveway to free parking.

The hosts/owners are very accommodating and very friendly going out of their way to recommend restaurants around the area.

The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, tastefully decorated and very clean.

Breakfast was served on the terrace and was delicious - with attention to details. The croissants were GREAT!
The bottled water provided every day was a nice touch.

We would no doubt stay here again if visiting the south of France.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacks1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for four nights, a great location to use for touring the south of France with free wifi and parking. The hosts could not be more accommodating, very friendly, really helpful and able to recommend some magnificent restaurants around the area.

The rooms are spacious and clean, with fresh towels daily! you can ask for tea or coffee any time, served with candles, flowers and home made cakes but the breakfast, so much choice, the best croissants ever tasted and served with a smile! Would highly recommend this if you are looking for something a little quieter than the busy vibe of Cannes. We would stay agin if visiting the south of France as it is so close to the main attractions.

Thank you, you made our stay very special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuranda, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed in this lovely b&b for two nights and just loved it. The owners were very friendly and helpful with tips for trips and restaurants, our room was very spacious and very tastefully decorated in the typical south-of-France-way. Breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the coastline and the choice was to our liking. Very recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obiwan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Le Mas Samarcande. This is a fantastic property with top-notch service. The owners were very kind and hospitable and gave us very good tips for day trips and restaurants in the area, even helping with reservations. Breakfast was delicious and served with attention to details. The en suite room was very comfortable and spotless - very good pillows, comfortable mattresses, crisp bed linen, soft towels. The bottled water provided every day was a nice touch. Great destination all year round!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank privato_milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed for five nights and enjoyed the fantastic hospitality of the owners. the house is on steep hillside as is often the case around Cannes and has a secure gated driveway so is good if you have an expensive car.

the main house is lovely with a combined dining/lounge with a fantastic fireplace and is very welcoming.

our room was on the garden side at ground level and had a large bedroom and bathroom that was very comfortable. a double bed would have been better than two singles pushed together.

bottles of water are provided every night which is a nice touch.

the breakfast is superb with a great selection of fruit, yoghurt, bread and croissants.

i decided to take up the owners recommendation of going to nounou restaurant and when I asked to book a taxi the owner insisted on driving me there and arranged for the restaurant to reserve a good table for me. the owners helpfulness was beyond any expectations.

I am returning in April and am really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relais_chateaulover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My wife and I visited the Le Mas Samarcande with my elderly parents. The owners and hosts, Mireille and Pierre, could not have been more helpful or gracious! We arranged for the two adjoining rooms on the lower level, which are accessed their own entrance, like our own suite. My parents room had a walk-in shower which was perfect for them! We had a wonderful breakfast prepared by Mireille. It was too cool to dine out on the terrace, but in warmer weather it would provide a most incredible view! The location was ideal to use as home base to visit the many art museums and towns in the area, and of course Nice. We enjoyed the Matisse Museum and of course the Chapel of the Rosary designed by Matisse - beautiful! Mirielle and Pierre made wonderful recommendations for the restaurants in the area. We highly recommend your stay at Le Mas Samarcande!

Room Tip: The two adjoining rooms on the lower level are well-appointed and suited our needs perfectly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmcculla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfe-Juan Vallauris
3.1 mi away
Le Petit Castel
Le Petit Castel
#1 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#4 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#5 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Belles Rives
Hotel Belles Rives
#2 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Le Port d'Attache
Villa Le Port d'Attache
#1 of 7 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Samarcande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Samarcande

Property: Le Mas Samarcande
Address: 138 Grand Blvd de Super Cannes, 06220 Golfe-Juan Vallauris, Antibes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the hill of Juan Gulf, near the sand beaches and the town of Cannes, the "Mas Samarcande" remains of charm, is dissimulated in a beautiful garden with the Mediterranennes tree. Roomy and air-conditioned, the rooms combine the refined decoration and the cordial comfort of a family home. Equipped with bed linen which will be appropriate for the more exigents and of vast extremely comfortable bathrooms, rooms non-smoking, enjoy absolute calm. Copious breakfasts are served on the terrace overlooking the Baie des Anges and the city of the potters of Vallauris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Mas Samarcande France/Golfe-Juan Vallauris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing