We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Le Mas Samarcande

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Mas Samarcande
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A beautiful property set in the hills with lovely views. Mireille and Pierre were charming hosts and the room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing everything homemade and a great choice. Try the apricot tart!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
167
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The House is absolutely amazing with a wonderful terrace with a beautiful view. The breakfast buffet was really good, a lot of choice, including fresh orange juice and a different homemade treat everyday. We made our own pique-nique on the terrace one evening and the owners gave us some plates, cutlery and even a little piece of a yummy chocolate cake. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated, maybe a little bit dark because located on the ground level, but quiet during the night. Service and attention really good, highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Mas Samarcande. Set in the hills of Vallauris, this charming B&B was a perfect home-base for our travels to the surrounding towns, including the Cannes, Nice, and Monaco, as well as villages of Saint-Paul-de-Vance, Tourettes, and Villefranche.

Mireille and Pierre were the ideal hosts. They were extremely accommodating with all of our requests and hand-crafted a stellar itinerary for us every morning, including towns to visit, roads to drive, and restaurants to dine at.

Our room was flawless; pleasantly decorated, spacious, and very comfortable. The daily breakfast, prepared and served by our hosts on the terrace upstairs, was an experience in itself. We watched a breathtaking sunset from the terrace over the valley and spent many hours relaxing and drinking wine on our private lounging area, surrounded by a garden of exotic plants and flowers.

Overall, an amazing stay. Thank you Mireille & Pierre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A wonderful welcome by our hosts made the late arrival much more acceptable. Wonderful breakfasts and a very comfortable room. So glad we stayed here. Vallauris has some good restaurants and the Picasso museum and Chapel are well worth a visit. The Mas is situated in a very plush area in the hills behind Cannes, if you use a Satnav it takes you to just around the corner from the entrance (near 2 Palm trees).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarereviewerEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My mother, sister and myself just arrived back from a 3 day stay at Samarcande. From my first email with Mireille until the morning we departed, I could not have wished for a smoother experience.

The B&B is ideally located outside rather unremarkable Cannes (Nice is nicer) in the hills above Golfe Juan. The site is very secure with remote controlled gates that lead into a drive where you can park your car. Location-wise, we found it perfect: suitable as a base to visit the picturesque mountain villages (see Gourdon, Vence and St-Paul-de-Vence definitely) and also the coastal resorts. We were willing to drive to find dinner in the evenings, but if drinking is absolutely essential to you, you might want to find a place to stay down in the town unless you're okay with pricey taxi fares. If you're like me, however, and prefer luxury, peace and quiet and outstanding views, this is the one to choose.

We stayed in the Porquerolles room which comfortably accommodated 3 adults. Both the main room and the bathroom were airy and spacious. And of course everything was beautifully appointed in the seemingly effortless way only the French can achieve. The room was cleaned every day and towels replaced. I'll post some photos of the room and private entryway.

Now onto the best part of our stay: breakfast! I could eulogise for hours about the splendour and variety. Not only were there fresh, warm, soft croissants that melt in the mouth, but also baguettes, jams, butter, hot coffee (or tea, whatever you like), cereal, muesli, yoghurt, cheese, meats. And every morning there was a speciality: rice pudding, French toast, even divine chocolate cake loaf just out of the oven. Okay, I don't want to sound like an M&S food p*rn advert, but trust me, breakfast was heavenly. What's more, it's served on the most wonderful terrace with a panoramic view of the hills. Seriously, I wish I could start every single day like that.

Both Mireille and her husband were attentive hosts, drawing us maps, giving us recommendations and generally advising us how to best use our time. It was Mireille who told us we could catch a boat from Les Issambres to St Tropez, which not only saved us hours of driving (which we wouldn't have done), but enabled us to have a truly wonderful afternoon speeding across the bay.

Considering this is such an expensive part of the country, I thought the price of the room was very reasonable for the service you receive. You don't want me to start talking about breakfast again, do you?

Five stars. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Thanks both for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in Porquerolles room. Absolutely beautiful, airy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyHounsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We arrived at South of France thinking our accommodation would be crowded and amidst the hustle and bustle, well, Le Mas Samarcande is nothing like that. It is located in a peaceful quiet area with a jaw dropping view. The rooms are perfectly comfy and so are the hosts. They provided us with any information we wanted and gave us suggestions to fabulous restaurants. All the rooms have separate entrances so you can sneak when you like. The breakfast was delicious(mainly their home made bread).(Try sitting outside on the balcony for a panoramic view along with your tea) This B&B is far better than any in Cannes or Nice and it was a marvelous stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lidayman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This bed and breakfast is a real treat. The rooms are spacious, very clean, bright and well decorated. Our room had doors leading to a patio with a great view of the sea. The owners are very nice and extremely helpful. We told them where we wanted to go and they wrote out itineraries for us.

The breakfast is wonderful with a variety of breads, cakes, meat and local preserves. They start you with fresh squeezed orange juice and great coffee, and all this on the patio with the view of the sea.

The bed was great , I never slept so well and they give you new towels every day.

This was one of the best 5 day stays we have had. I will go back for sure. A big thanks to Muriel and Pierre for your charming hospitality.

Keith and Martine Reeves

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfe-Juan Vallauris
3.2 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
3.1 mi away
Le Petit Castel
Le Petit Castel
#1 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blanc Sable Hotel
Blanc Sable Hotel
#1 of 8 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#4 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
276 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
#5 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Le Port d'Attache
Villa Le Port d'Attache
#1 of 7 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Samarcande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Samarcande

Property: Le Mas Samarcande
Address: 138 Grand Blvd de Super Cannes, 06220 Golfe-Juan Vallauris, Antibes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the hill of Juan Gulf, near the sand beaches and the town of Cannes, the "Mas Samarcande" remains of charm, is dissimulated in a beautiful garden with the Mediterranennes tree. Roomy and air-conditioned, the rooms combine the refined decoration and the cordial comfort of a family home. Equipped with bed linen which will be appropriate for the more exigents and of vast extremely comfortable bathrooms, rooms non-smoking, enjoy absolute calm. Copious breakfasts are served on the terrace overlooking the Baie des Anges and the city of the potters of Vallauris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Mas Samarcande France/Golfe-Juan Vallauris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing