We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”
Review of Le Mas Samarcande

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Mas Samarcande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you are going to visit the South of France this residence is worth spending a few nights in. The standards are extremely high and the welcome so warm. So forget about those expensive hotels, give this house a chance....you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: They are ALL good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0nyg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Why would anyone want a cookie-cutter hotel room when one could stay in a beautiful place like this? The Cote d'Azur is one of the spectacular spots on earth, and le Mas Samarcande is a perfect location to enjoy it. It is totally private, quiet, away from the hustle-bustle, but only a few minutes' drive to the sea and neighboring towns.

First of all, our room was enormous, with lovely Provencal furnishings, a desk, a dresser, plenty of closet space. And secondly, our bathroom was also enormous! Everything was spotless, and the thick towels were a lovely treat. We had a garden room, and right outside our door we could enjoy a small patio with lots of flowers.

Others have described the large breakfasts with fresh-baked treats. Everything was delicious, and the pot of fresh coffee was a special treat. Each morning, we were served on a patio that overlooks the hills of Cannes and a bit of the Mediterranean. And Mireille and Pierre were always helpful, taking time to help us plan our day.

When we were leaving, Mireille told us that she was afraid that the chambermaid might have broken our little travel alarm clock--and she offered to replace it for us. It's an old clock, and we refused her offer, but that is a good indication of her concern for her guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A beautiful property set in the hills with lovely views. Mireille and Pierre were charming hosts and the room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing everything homemade and a great choice. Try the apricot tart!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The House is absolutely amazing with a wonderful terrace with a beautiful view. The breakfast buffet was really good, a lot of choice, including fresh orange juice and a different homemade treat everyday. We made our own pique-nique on the terrace one evening and the owners gave us some plates, cutlery and even a little piece of a yummy chocolate cake. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated, maybe a little bit dark because located on the ground level, but quiet during the night. Service and attention really good, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Mas Samarcande. Set in the hills of Vallauris, this charming B&B was a perfect home-base for our travels to the surrounding towns, including the Cannes, Nice, and Monaco, as well as villages of Saint-Paul-de-Vance, Tourettes, and Villefranche.

Mireille and Pierre were the ideal hosts. They were extremely accommodating with all of our requests and hand-crafted a stellar itinerary for us every morning, including towns to visit, roads to drive, and restaurants to dine at.

Our room was flawless; pleasantly decorated, spacious, and very comfortable. The daily breakfast, prepared and served by our hosts on the terrace upstairs, was an experience in itself. We watched a breathtaking sunset from the terrace over the valley and spent many hours relaxing and drinking wine on our private lounging area, surrounded by a garden of exotic plants and flowers.

Overall, an amazing stay. Thank you Mireille & Pierre.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A wonderful welcome by our hosts made the late arrival much more acceptable. Wonderful breakfasts and a very comfortable room. So glad we stayed here. Vallauris has some good restaurants and the Picasso museum and Chapel are well worth a visit. The Mas is situated in a very plush area in the hills behind Cannes, if you use a Satnav it takes you to just around the corner from the entrance (near 2 Palm trees).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarereviewerEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My mother, sister and myself just arrived back from a 3 day stay at Samarcande. From my first email with Mireille until the morning we departed, I could not have wished for a smoother experience.

The B&B is ideally located outside rather unremarkable Cannes (Nice is nicer) in the hills above Golfe Juan. The site is very secure with remote controlled gates that lead into a drive where you can park your car. Location-wise, we found it perfect: suitable as a base to visit the picturesque mountain villages (see Gourdon, Vence and St-Paul-de-Vence definitely) and also the coastal resorts. We were willing to drive to find dinner in the evenings, but if drinking is absolutely essential to you, you might want to find a place to stay down in the town unless you're okay with pricey taxi fares. If you're like me, however, and prefer luxury, peace and quiet and outstanding views, this is the one to choose.

We stayed in the Porquerolles room which comfortably accommodated 3 adults. Both the main room and the bathroom were airy and spacious. And of course everything was beautifully appointed in the seemingly effortless way only the French can achieve. The room was cleaned every day and towels replaced. I'll post some photos of the room and private entryway.

Now onto the best part of our stay: breakfast! I could eulogise for hours about the splendour and variety. Not only were there fresh, warm, soft croissants that melt in the mouth, but also baguettes, jams, butter, hot coffee (or tea, whatever you like), cereal, muesli, yoghurt, cheese, meats. And every morning there was a speciality: rice pudding, French toast, even divine chocolate cake loaf just out of the oven. Okay, I don't want to sound like an M&S food p*rn advert, but trust me, breakfast was heavenly. What's more, it's served on the most wonderful terrace with a panoramic view of the hills. Seriously, I wish I could start every single day like that.

Both Mireille and her husband were attentive hosts, drawing us maps, giving us recommendations and generally advising us how to best use our time. It was Mireille who told us we could catch a boat from Les Issambres to St Tropez, which not only saved us hours of driving (which we wouldn't have done), but enabled us to have a truly wonderful afternoon speeding across the bay.

Considering this is such an expensive part of the country, I thought the price of the room was very reasonable for the service you receive. You don't want me to start talking about breakfast again, do you?

Five stars. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Thanks both for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in Porquerolles room. Absolutely beautiful, airy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyHounsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfe-Juan Vallauris
3.1 mi away
Le Petit Castel Hotel
Le Petit Castel Hotel
#1 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blanc Sable Hotel
Blanc Sable Hotel
#1 of 8 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
58 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sainte Valerie Hotel
Sainte Valerie Hotel
#8 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Bastide De L'Oliveraie
0.9 mi away
Villa Le Port d'Attache
Villa Le Port d'Attache
#1 of 7 in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
306 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Bastide de la Brague
La Bastide de la Brague
#3 of 28 in Antibes
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Samarcande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Samarcande

Address: 138 Grand Blvd de Super Cannes, 06220 Golfe-Juan Vallauris, Antibes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Price Range: £123 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the hill of Juan Gulf, near the sand beaches and the town of Cannes, the "Mas Samarcande" remains of charm, is dissimulated in a beautiful garden with the Mediterranennes tree. Roomy and air-conditioned, the rooms combine the refined decoration and the cordial comfort of a family home. Equipped with bed linen which will be appropriate for the more exigents and of vast extremely comfortable bathrooms, rooms non-smoking, enjoy absolute calm. Copious breakfasts are served on the terrace overlooking the Baie des Anges and the city of the potters of Vallauris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Mas Samarcande France/Golfe-Juan Vallauris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing