We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food... even for us vegetarian eaters”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le New Punjab

Le New Punjab
Ranked #48 of 154 Restaurants in Grasse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$29
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ottawa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food... even for us vegetarian eaters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We found this little spot while meandering through the tiny streets of Grasse. Wonderful food, english speaking servers, (a plus for us non-French types) and a nice decor.
The food is well prepared and very tasty. We had 3 meals there over 7 days as vegetarian food is hard to find in France, and we enjoyed every one of them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Grasse, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Finally some flavoursome Indian food in the region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

OK, so the restaurant has been here for 15 years, but it took me a while to get round to trying it out. I've lived in Grasse since 2008 and have been pretty disappointed with most of the Indian restaurants in the region. The food is simply not spicy enough or of generally consistent quality.
At the New Punjab we could not fault the food. The portions were adequate without being overly filling. The service was friendly and professional, the decor was tasteful and the toilets and other areas were very clean and modern.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianSteele1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasse, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Place favored by Indian natives :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is the place my Indian colleagues want to go to when they travel in the area, rather than other choices around e.g. in Antibes.
My family and I like it too. Nothing super fancy, but a decent Indian restaurant

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A Rare Fine In France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

France is not known for its Indian cuisine so it was a pleasant surprise firstly to find an Indian restaurant and secondly to find a good one !

We ate on a Sunday night, the evening the New Punjab serves an (all you can eat) buffet. The variety, taste & presentation were all excellent as was the welcome from the friendly staff.

So, if you travels take you to Grasse, or if you are in the region and in search of something different to eat, this is THE place to head.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank petercheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level Contributor
197 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Finally, a good Indian locally”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Just make sure you ask for spicy as in Delhi/London spicy and you get a great curry. If you don't ask, it is too mild. But good, friendly service, plenty of choice, perfect for an ex-pat needing a bit of spice.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainswifeCannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le New Punjab also viewed

Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Chateauneuf de Grasse, Grasse
 
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le New Punjab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing