We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful B&B on old Olive Grove with charming host.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mas du Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas du Roc
Ranked #1 of 37 Grasse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delightful B&B on old Olive Grove with charming host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

It was our second visit to Le Mas du Roc and we were sorry that we had left it 5 years since our last visit. Gabriele our hostess was as charming as ever and produced brilliant breakfasts including her home-made jam from fruit from the garden. Our room had Provençal style with a splendid view of the Grasse valley with the Esterel in the background and the swimming pool with the breakfast table in the foreground. Gabrielle who as a professional translator can chat in a number of languages, is a mine of information about good and good value restaurants nearby so during our restaurant visits we had nothing less than excellent evening meals.
Le Mas du Roc is 45 minutes from Nice Airport and on that journey you travel from the crowded and ugly coastal strip to the delightful and quiet back country with hill villages and gorges to visit.
As is usual in the back-country the local lanes need to be taken cautiously.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stibbs_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
101
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanner, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This year was our second visit to Mas du Roc. It's a most wondeful Bed and Breakfast, all bedrooms have a colour theme and are excellently furbished with comfortable beds. The bathrooms are en-suite and beautifully equipped and clean. Breakfast is served in the grounds in one of two places, is copious and varied. You host Gabriele is most charming and speaks several languages. A small vestible is provided for you to take tea, coffee or refreshment at your leisure. Lots of information of places to visit and restaurants to eat in. A lovely pool and plenty of loungers to relax in. (A salt pool is to be installed at the end of this years season) Mas du Roc is peaceful and heavenly. At breakfast all visitors join in with the conversation regardless of language and we have met couples from Austria, Bulgaria and other destinations in France with whom we continue to correspond as well as Dining together at Restaurants in the evenings. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My boyfriend and I spent the Easter holidays at Le Mas du Roc and had a wonderful time. Clean, peaceful, beautiful and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for more!
Our stay in the Grasse area was made even better by Gabriele's great hospitality and tips. Our experience wouldn't have been the same without her help and advice.
Le Mas du Roc is a fantastic place to stay and we will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed three comfortable nights at the Mas du Roc above Grasse in early April. It was early enough in the season such that we were the only guests at the time. Since the weather was unsettled, Gabriele suggest we opt for a bigger room versus the room with private terrace that we had reserved. It was a good suggestion as, in retrospect, we would not have used the terrace much due to the variable weather. The room was spacious and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The grounds were beautiful and very quiet.

The suggestion to have a car and GPS is almost mandatory. Even with the GPS, finding the inn in the daylight was somewhat of a challenge as some of the roads give a whole new meaning to the term "hard hairpin turn." Two of the turn would qualify as switchbacks so the smaller the car the better. Gabriele said we would adjust to these challenges and she was correct. Gabriele was also very helplful in planning itineraries and restaurants. All her suggestions were excellent.

We had two breakfasts in the enclosed common area and one out by the pool. All were excellent with copious amounts of fresh bread, cheese, ham, and preserves. We can't say enough about Gabriele's hospitality - including how to find a belt for my trousers which broke during our stay...The inn is also graced by Gabriele's three well trained dogs. We are more cat people than dog people, but Jacques, Emile, and Hank were very entertaining. The Mas du Roc was an excellent find.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a GPS. Ask Gabriele anything about travel or restaurants in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amortizor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Mas du Roc, Grasse in early May, 2011. Gabriele met us on arrival and made us feel very welcome.
The accommodation is very comfortable and scrupulously clean, lovely room with en suite, beautiful linen! Breakfast of fresh fruit, cheese, yogurt, bread with home made preserves, was served beneath the umbrella beside the pool, lovely relaxing setting.
To find the B&B we strongly advise you have a car and use a GPS or at least view the property on Google Earth, as the roads in the region of Mas du Roc are very narrow, winding and it is very easy to become lost – especially at night!!
From Grasse we made a day trip to Cagnes sur Mere to visit Renoir’s house; 19 Chemin des Collettes, Cagnes sur Mere, a wonderful experience! On the same day we visited the Villa and Gardens Ephrussi de Rothschild, at St Jean-Cap-Ferrat, beautiful garden and villa, again, well worth a visit. We also recommend Parfumerie Fragonard museum and shop in Grasse!!
Gabriele is happy to recommend restaurants and areas in the Grasse region to visit; she also has a book available to guests of various scenic routes, (with, from our experience, rather optimistic travel times!)
Thank you Gabriele for your warm hospitality, due to unforeseen circumstances we are late in sending in our review.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueMount-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Gabrielle not only loves life, she loves to host guests! Every day we spent there was with return guests from all over the world. Our biggest mistake was we didn't plan 'down' time to just HANG OUT THERE...despite the perfect weather and lure of the Mediterranean, one could just spend days on the property and nearby towns. We traveled by private car to Nice and Cannes with ease..her recommendations for meals were spot on, making our visit that more special. You will not be disappointed. She is gracious, cordial, interesting to spend time with without being intrusive.
We'll see you again and know to make our reservations in advance since you have such a loyal following~~ count us in!

PS. the pool area in pictures are EXACTLY the way we found it. I was very impressed!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lopakapele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

This was our second visit to Gabriele, and it matched our first report we made to Trip adviser last year, It was like returning to a friend with a lovely home, the weather was perfect, so we were able to take advantage of the swimming pool this time,there was still the warm welcome, and many good conversations, with our host, with our every need met.
Long may this B & B continue.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corkyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasse
2.3 mi away
La Bastide Saint Antoine Jacques Chibois
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#5 of 16 in Grasse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bastide Saint Mathieu
Bastide Saint Mathieu
#2 of 16 in Grasse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#3 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Elixir Grasse
2.0 mi away
Les Palmiers B&B
Les Palmiers B&B
#3 of 37 in Grasse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas du Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas du Roc

Property: Le Mas du Roc
Address: 90 A Chemin de la Dragonniere, 06130, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Grasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the city and relax at Le Mas du Roc in the park-like setting overlooking the south of France. Only 30 minutes from the Nice International Airport, a few minutes from the most beautiful and renowned golfs off the French Riviera,this charming Florentine-style Bed and Breakfast has three private guest rooms, each with its own bathroom. Big pool, private Parking,beautiful garden with 300 year old olive trees, living room for the guests with free minibar, coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Mas du Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing