We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second visit- as good as the first”
Review of Lou Candeloun - CLOSED

Lou Candeloun
Price range: US$22 - US$64
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A second visit- as good as the first”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Again an inventive menu with a slightly bigger clientele than the last time. A lovely welcome and finely cooked food are the hallmark of this family run enterprise. With the arrival of Marielou ( the new-born daughter), service is not exceptionally fast- but then one is here to savour the excellent cooking of the husband ! Well recommended- and not difficult to find- if completely stuck ask at the tourist office.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    21
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great meal!”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This restaurant IS easy to find! There is only one staircase down from the Place aux Aires, and the restaurant is just down there on the right hand side. The lobby area is not at all inviting, however when you are taken round the back to the dining area, the place becomes cosy and atmospheric. The food was just right, full of flavours, wonderfully presented and original. The husband does the cooking and he does it very well. He had a brusque telephone manner and was not at all welcoming. The wife however was welcoming and provided a perfect service, with just right timing and attentiveness. By the way, the tap to the washbasin in the toilet is a lever underneath (they did pay the water bill!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solupred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth taking the time to find!”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We circled the area a couple of times, trying to follow our google map instructions, until we eventually found the stairs that led up the narrow passage to the entrance. It's well worth the walk. We had lunch here and from the warm welcome we received from the husband and wife owners (and their very friendly french bulldog) to the food nothing disappointed.

Inventive cooking, wonderful flavours and a menu that changes every three weeks. They also had a really good selection of wines by the glass. My husband's praline millefeuille was outstanding.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tompolly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Excellent cooking in the old part of town”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Located in the middle of the old town up an alleyway, this restaurant is well worht seking out. It is run by a husband and wife (Sophie Danton) team- he in the kitchen and she in the restaurant. With only 24 covers it is best to book: on-line booking is direct to the restaurant and is usually confirmed within the hour. The chef prides himself on using fresh local ingredients and the menu is not too extensive. Indeed we saw that chevre was on the menu and this is one cheese which we both do not like & discussed it. When the amuse-bouche came it was a fishy one- Sophie had overheard our conversation and had a word with the chef who changed it- as it would have been chevre ! How is that for service.
The cooking is inventive and beautifully presented and at a reasonable price. Well recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great ambience.”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Of all the restaurants I went to in Grasse, Lou Candeloun was my favorite. It's small, well run and the decor and atmosphere are wonderful, intimate and romantic. The food is all fresh, well prepared and imaginative. I had the best dessert of my life here! If you're in Grasse don't miss this little gem.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nwmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lou Candeloun also viewed

Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Tignet, Grasse
 
Chateauneuf de Grasse, Grasse
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing