We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small restaurant with imaginative food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lou Candeloun - CLOSED

Lou Candeloun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$62
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
464 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Small restaurant with imaginative food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Small restaurant located in the old centre of Grasse. The restaurant is simply decorated, but pretty. Food is certainly the most imaginative in Grasse. Dishes we ate last time included a fish carpacio with avocardo and St Jaques clams with sweet potato.

Friendly service, albeit not of the highest standard. Now firmly located on my list of favoured Grasse restaurants

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    21
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Grasses hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This restaurant is tucked away in a side street at the end of Grasses main square. Which means that fewer people go there to eat and that is really their loss because the food at Lou Candeloun is really excellent. They use only fresh local products and cook them to perfection. I visited for lunch and had the daily formule which this day consisted of chicken in a forest mushroom sauce. It was good enough to travel back to Grasse for! Forget the perfume go sniff at the cooking at Lou Candeloun instead!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ptm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very hard to find, but excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We arrived at Grasse after dark and found restaurant just by accident even though we had 2 GPS devices between us.
There was a crib in a reception area and our first reaction was that we entered somebody’s house and we almost left.
After we were led to the dining area we were surprised to find it very nice and intimate.
We ordered 3 course dinner, which was excellent and very reasonable priced. Vine pairing was very good.
The restaurant is run by husband/wife duo and they make you feel that you are a VIP guest at their home.
It was one of the best dining experiences in France.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chicagokiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linslade
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little (almost) hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Recommended by our villa owners and trip advisor
Takes a little finding but is a little gem
Great friendly service
Innovative and very tasty food at great value for the area
Would definitely recommend a visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
190 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Went there after reading the reviews in trip advisor. Quaint little restaurant. The reception area looked like a nursery, high chair baby bed, play things etc. we had a table outside, food was good and fresh but portions extremely small. We were not asked if we wanted a drink before dinner, were not allowed to have a peek in the restaurant inside?!? Price quality for French standards was way of. Service was ok but not very friendly. Will not visit this restaurant again and will not recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lou Candeloun also viewed

Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Tignet, Grasse
 
Chateauneuf de Grasse, Grasse
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing