We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an unexpected place”
Review of Le cafe des musees

Le cafe des musees
Ranked #36 of 156 Restaurants in Grasse
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bangkok
Level Contributor
544 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“Great food in an unexpected place”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Our trip to Grasse was essentially to shop for perfume at Fragonard in the city. We did not expect to have lunch in the town, but we were hungry after our spree and walking in the old town, so we settled on Le cafe des musees. We were lucky to find such a distinctive restaurant serving great food.

Our beef lasagna was wonderful as was our salad. The place was empty at noon but filled up quickly with locals more than tourists, which is always a good sign for a restaurant. The bright violet wallpaper and the gold dome in its center really lit up the place and gave it a vibrant atmosphere. The service was good despite the busy lunchtime period. Cafe des musees is a good choice in Grasse, particularly if short on time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    67
    33
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We've tended to avoid Le Cafe des Musees in the past because it's in the most touristy location in Grasse: right where the coach parties pour into the town. We always assumed it would be expensive and bad. It's not. We only had a couple of coffees and an ice cream for our daughter, but the price was reasonable, service good, and there was a nice ambience due to a combination of the decor and local people stopping there for a drink.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnIStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value lunch in the sunshine”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Situated right next to the Fragonard museum and shop, I didn't expect this lovely little cafe to be as nice as it is. We sat on the terrace in the dappled sunshine, and both chose the grillade du jour - a steak with delicious little roast potatoes and grilled fennel. With wine and desserts, it was also the best value meal of the holiday at 40 euros for two. It is busy and there's only one waitress, but she was very friendly and service was prompt.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Avoid this place!”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Unfriendly owners/wait staff who kept telling us we have to wait whilst they kept serving other people or clearing tables. Couldn't get their priorities right. They could have taken our orders and put them in and then done all the other things to make their business flow better. It could be that we could not speak French and they were racist. But their attitude was horrible. We walked out without ordering, tempted to show them a rude gesture. Spoilt our day. Avoid this cafe with horrible "service" if you do not want your day spoilt too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wohoo-holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Sever-Calvados, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A happy chance find.”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

A simple lunch of the day three course menu. Excellent value with memorable puddings. Good service, excellent location near the little train, pedestrian streets and perfume museums. A shady ltlle terrace with a beautifully decorated interior.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyMeAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le cafe des musees also viewed

Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le cafe des musees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing