We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mandarina Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
Ryazan, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Clean, good food, friendly stuff, superb view. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    32
    47
    19
    16
See reviews for
19
56
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Positives
- Lovely view over the surrounding area.
- Lovely terrace and courtyards around the hotel.
- Room had a small, round coffee table and 2 chairs. This provided enough space to put our suitcases.
- Free wireless internet worked well.
- Tea and coffee facilities are in the room (not always the case in a European hotel).
- Free parking. Yes, the driveway to the parking area is tight, but take it slow, use your breaks and you'll be absolutely fine. We were. I've taken some photos of the driveway as we were driving out.

Negatives
- Small room. We had room 7. Not the best view - better to ask for a room with a view towards the coast.
- Thin walls. We could hear the squeaky door next door every time is was opened and closed. We could hear other guests wheeling their suitcases down the corridor outside our room.
- No blackout curtains. We stayed at the height of summer when the sun comes up VERY early (we're talking 5am). It woke us up because the curtains did not block out the light.
- The sheets were scratchy. I think they were actually new, but because they were poor quality cotton they were very scratchy and uncomfortable.
- Pancake pillow. This is something I just can't get used to in Europe - the pillows are square and go flat as soon as you lay your head down. I didn't sleep well because of this and woke up with a sore neck and shoulders.
- Weird "carpet". The room had what looked like carpet, but was actually some sort of woven vinyl. It was stained in many spots (see my photos). It felt yucky to walk on with bare feet, so I wore flip-flops the whole time.
- Room was not entirely clean. There was some mould below the heater (see my photos) and the base of the shower was stained (see photos again).
- There is no fridge in the rooms - not even a tiny bar fridge. I would have liked this so I could buy some food and keep it chilled.
- It is a 10 minute walk into town. The walk back is steep but fine if you are fit and healthy.
- We paid around €75 per night. I think this was a bit too much for what it is.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel if cleanliness and comfort are important to you. Try somewhere else in Grasse or another nearby town (Mougins is LOVELY).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arbitrarydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grasse hotels

Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Not only the room is very very tiny (not even to have 2 night stands near the 1,4 m wide bed, and the door of the bathroom cannot be opened because not enough space between the bed and the wall; the bathroom is so small that there is no place to hang the towels), but the supposed TV is not there (because of th "new" TNT system, which is all over the country since several months), and the included wifi is also lacking (because of a supposed storm: sun has been shining for weeks). If you thought about coming here, you'ld better find another place: any, even the worst youth hostel, will be better !!!
Alain Klein, France

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlKpone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ieper
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

the lady manager is only friendly to her own countrymen , rooms in the south of france , in 2011 without airco , in the warm season are pure sauna's
the parking lot is only made for little cars , like the smart , other cars go home with "less paint and bruises"
and getting out of the parking can get you 1 hour time , because the manager don't like to disturbs her sleeping guests who's cars are parked before you own , and she don't shy to provoke her clients , and the small driveway is a nightmare
only the Dutch speaking lady was worth talking too , and even for the italian clients they have no italian speaking personnel

Room Tip: a better parking and personnel to the standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alainIeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We arrived around 7pm with no reservation & had no problem getting 2 double rooms for €69 each plus breakfast (2 weeks before Easter). 1 room with 2 twin beds & standard shower/bath; 1 large room with 3 twins and a huge bathroom. All told, good value for money and a stunnig view of Grasse all the way to the Mediterranean sea on the horizon. Very quiet and peaceful at night. Breakfast was OK but nothing special, albeit a bit pricey. Next time we would skip breakfast in the hotel and go to a café in town. Staff was very helpful, friendly and accomodating.
Parking is definitely a real challenge as mentioned by others here! Very narrow entry from the road with little visibility and no room for error, but do-able! Come with a small car and forget the SUV.

Room Tip: Make sure you get city-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauritianfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great hotel, view terrific, place really clean with very very friendly staff. Rooms great, we had the family one for 5 and it was spot on. Parking tight, ok very tight, but no problems.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

The view of the terrace is nice – but that's all I can say about the good things of this hotel! Our room (#47) was so small, that is was difficult to get in or out the bed. No place to store your luggage, no AC – so we had the window open all night, with the result of hearing all the converation of the terrace till 4 o'clock in the morning. Thank you! But the best surprise was the breakfast, undefined juice like water,bad coffee or cappucino from an automatic-machine, plastic-wrapped cheese and that for 19,00 Euro per person. We had later on, on our trip much better breakfasts for half of the price. By the way - we tried the restaurant and found out that it's able to work with the microwave...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank einstein09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasse hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#5 of 16 in Grasse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Elixir Grasse
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Patti
Hotel Le Patti
#11 of 16 in Grasse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Bastide Saint Antoine Jacques Chibois
0.9 mi away
AEC Les Cedres
AEC Les Cedres
#3 of 16 in Grasse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Virginia
Le Virginia
#6 of 16 in Grasse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarina Hotel

Property: Mandarina Hotel
Address: 39 avenue Yves Emmanuel Baudoin | Route Napoleon, 06130, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandarina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mandarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarina Hotel Grasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing