We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Good friendly staff! Pro Bikers :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarina Hotel by Actisource
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel, Good friendly staff! Pro Bikers :-)”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed here during out Motorcycle touring holiday in September 2011 (5 of us) Straight away after a long period in the saddle the Lady manager made us feel welcome and couldn't do enough for us! She even allowed us to park the machines in the balcony for added security! all of the staff were extremely helpful and had a great sense of humour! As a result we will be booking again this year and we are recomending this hotel to our students (We run a Motorcycle training and touring company) Thank you Mandarina! hopefully see you soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    33
    51
    21
    16
See reviews for
22
57
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Love Grasse, love Mandarina Hotel. Great price, great room, great view, great staffs! Extremely warm and helpful staffs -- thank you bubbly Anthony, we miss you!

We also caught a gorgeous sunrise from the hotel. Enjoyed having our rose wine and meal at the al fresco area in front of the the hotel entrance overlooking beautiful Grasse.

Only down point is the location. it's quite troublesome to get there if you do not have a car. like us, we walked up the long slope with heavy luggage, walked down the slope to restaurants/shops... well, forget about the public bus, the frequency of the bus is hopeless.

free internet with the hotel computer at lobby, free wifi at lobby area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Warm welcome and accomodating Front Desk - they allowed our dog to stay although they don't advertise that they welcome animals, so they earned a good brownie point there! Rooms are rather sparce and accomodation is basic but adequate. Good continental breakfast and the coffee was excellent. The hotel is advertised as a conference destination, so the emphasis is on quanity rather than quality.

The Panoramic views over the mountains right to Cannes on the cost were beautiful and the terrace was well appointed to enjoy the view, and relaxing.

The 5 minute walk to the centre of Grasse is down a series of stone stairways, the return is not for the faint hearted or unfit - nor suitable for those with difficulty using stairs!

Getting the car to the car park is quite a tight fit, so the smaller the car, the better.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Grasse is an interesting town worthy of a couple of nights exploration, and this hitel, with a commanding position above the main part of the town should be a great place to do so from. Sadly the ex-convent aspects work against it, with cell like rooms lacking the large Windows the view totally merits. The whose place exudes a weary functionality and it is just not a restful location. The service was just about ok, but there was no sense of being anything more than a hindrance to the smooth running of the hotel. Lord if money being sent on the place and a new team would work wonders. We won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grasse hotels

Montaren et St Mediers
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Well we would but not for a holiday just for a few days. The hotel is clean and tidy with magnificent views from the double room. The walk to the town centre is via stairways between street levels and only took just over 5 minutes to decend to the town centre. Getting back up to the hotel was more difficult but still only took us 10 minutes at a steady pace and we are most certainly not fit and do not go to the gym at 60 years of age. The restaurant wasn't open when we were there so cannot comment, however the continental breakfasts we had were plentiful and being buffet style we didn't go hungry. Although the staff were efficient and pleasant, some were at the back of the queue when smiles were being distributed. We booked a special weekend offer and couldn't complain at the price considering this part of France but, at the full rate, I would say it's way over priced by some 30%. This hotel is not at all suitable for handicapped or disabled people. Parking is also difficult. If you get a space, reverse into it and stay there. Parking in Grasse itself is also very difficult but once in town centre eveything is within walking distance

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandMick60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryazan, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Clean, good food, friendly stuff, superb view. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Positives
- Lovely view over the surrounding area.
- Lovely terrace and courtyards around the hotel.
- Room had a small, round coffee table and 2 chairs. This provided enough space to put our suitcases.
- Free wireless internet worked well.
- Tea and coffee facilities are in the room (not always the case in a European hotel).
- Free parking. Yes, the driveway to the parking area is tight, but take it slow, use your breaks and you'll be absolutely fine. We were. I've taken some photos of the driveway as we were driving out.

Negatives
- Small room. We had room 7. Not the best view - better to ask for a room with a view towards the coast.
- Thin walls. We could hear the squeaky door next door every time is was opened and closed. We could hear other guests wheeling their suitcases down the corridor outside our room.
- No blackout curtains. We stayed at the height of summer when the sun comes up VERY early (we're talking 5am). It woke us up because the curtains did not block out the light.
- The sheets were scratchy. I think they were actually new, but because they were poor quality cotton they were very scratchy and uncomfortable.
- Pancake pillow. This is something I just can't get used to in Europe - the pillows are square and go flat as soon as you lay your head down. I didn't sleep well because of this and woke up with a sore neck and shoulders.
- Weird "carpet". The room had what looked like carpet, but was actually some sort of woven vinyl. It was stained in many spots (see my photos). It felt yucky to walk on with bare feet, so I wore flip-flops the whole time.
- Room was not entirely clean. There was some mould below the heater (see my photos) and the base of the shower was stained (see photos again).
- There is no fridge in the rooms - not even a tiny bar fridge. I would have liked this so I could buy some food and keep it chilled.
- It is a 10 minute walk into town. The walk back is steep but fine if you are fit and healthy.
- We paid around €75 per night. I think this was a bit too much for what it is.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel if cleanliness and comfort are important to you. Try somewhere else in Grasse or another nearby town (Mougins is LOVELY).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbitrarydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasse hotels
3.3 mi away
Campanile Grasse - Chateauneuf
Campanile Grasse - Chateauneuf
#1 of 1 in Chateauneuf de Grasse
25 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#4 of 16 in Grasse
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Patti
Hotel Le Patti
#13 of 16 in Grasse
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Elixir Grasse
0.9 mi away
AEC Les Cedres
AEC Les Cedres
#2 of 16 in Grasse
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Bastide Saint Antoine Jacques Chibois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarina Hotel by Actisource? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarina Hotel by Actisource

Property: Mandarina Hotel by Actisource
Address: 39 avenue Yves Emmanuel Baudoin | Route Napoleon, 06130, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandarina Hotel by Actisource 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated about 3 minutes away from Grasse city center, this old convent possesses quiet accommodations. The restaurant and some rooms offers an fantastic view of Cane’s bay.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarina Hotel by Actisource reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarina Hotel Grasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing