We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mandarina Hotel Grasse”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mandarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarina Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mandarina Hotel Grasse”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel is very basic, but clean. Towels and bed sheets very clean. Rooms are cleaned every day which is good. All the rooms differ, some are very small, but some are pretty spacious and in need of a bit of attention. But the management were great at moving you around - not a problem - very helpful. There is no air-con and no fans in rooms. The hotel is a 2 star which is definitely what it is. Breakfast was adequate - but only about 8 cereal bowls and bearing in mind there were 17 of us a bit difficult if you all wanted cereal!!!
One problem we had was the Bar - well in effect the bar doesn't operate. On our first day the men had one beer. But they are not licensed to sell alcohol. The second day they said they didn't have any beer - so no beer or wine!!!! Or water - we couldn't even buy a bottle of water. On the Saturday we were attending a wedding but not leaving the hotel until 4pm, so the drink definitely was a problem. A couple from our party went into town and bought some beer and water. They should install a machine with water and soft drinks.
But the hotel is definitely okay for a couple of days stopover - but take some water with you.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are bigger. Rooms downstairs are tiny. Also the double beds were very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgibbonsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    32
    49
    20
    16
See reviews for
19
57
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We find it very easily,coming from Italy by car.
It's 10 minutes walk from Grasse which is a city where parking isn't easy.
This hotel has got an area to park the cars just inside the property.
The breakfast was with a nice buffet and the price is almost the same you can find having it in town. Room was clean and silent.There's a nice view on the valley.
I would definitely suggest.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellemme25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September 2011 and had an amazing time. The culture of the hotel WAS friendly relaxed and welcoming. I returned in May 2012 and advised 15 of my friends and family to stay there (we were in town for a wedding).

We arrived @ 11pm on a saturday night to discover no one on the terrace and no sign of life at all. Reception was closed and we had to wake up a lady in order to check in. The next morning I went down to order a couple of drinks only to discover it was "under new management" and they did not have a bar licence. Even for soft drinks - No wonder no one was on the terrace.

The manager - called Antony (I did ask for his surname but his reply was "do i ask questions about your life ... you are very strange") was rude from day one. He looked tiered and miserable and he generally gave me the impression that he did not want guests to be in his hotel. On check out I asked if me and my considerable amout of guest could leave our bags anywhere. His responce was "we`l see" and then "no". He then also charged me 15 euro per day for parking ... this was not mentioned when booking and was not applicable in Sept 2011.

Overall a truely miserable hotel. The loctaion has great views but I would not stay here again. It is a decent walk into town and the return journey is up a hill. Such a shame.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grasse hotels

The Old Dominion
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

From the start: On a scooter tour of Southern France with a group of 10. I was traveling with a buddy (also male). Took a bus from the airport in Nice. Called the hotel from the bus station to get directions and a cab. No answer on the phone at 10am. Eventually found a cab, very short ride from the bus station that I never would have found by myself due to the lack of signage and one way streets. On arrival, we were greeted at the reception are by the view of a hole in the ceiling of the dining/breakfast area where a repairman was disappearing into the ceiling dropping wet drywall onto the uncovered dining area. We were taken to a tiny room, formerly a cell for monks at a converted monastery. There were two twin beds pushed together. The manger (male) remarked how cozy my pal and I would be. During the week, he propositioned me two more times. Nothing against gays (a boy DOES like to be asked!), but seems highly unprofessional for a hotelier. Was able to settle for separate rooms due to a no-show couple. 143 steps from desk to room, of these, 42 were stairs, some up, some down. Had to live out of the suitcase as there was no dresser or other reasonable storage option. My closet barely had room for 5 plastic hangers (see photo). The bathroom had a shower stall 30" square (I measured it). You couldn't bend over without shutting off the water or adjusting the temp by bumping into it (I'm 5'4", 165lbs. Not very big.) Caveat: Excellent water pressure. Spectacular view of the city out the window which remained open throughout my stay as there was no other climate control options other than a radiator which was hardly necessary in June and not turned on anyway. Wi-Fi strong on patio and closer to reception area, very spotty in room (to be fair, my room was as far away from desk as you could get). No phone, no clock, no radio. No hotel staff on site after 9pm. So when your magnetic key didn't work, we were instructed to call a phone number and wait 30 mins for somebody to arrive. Told this was the norm, nothing they could do about it. Witnessed an unrelated guest, an elderly Asian woman, who could not get into her room on a day that there was a sign on the door saying nobody would be available from noon until 3pm. Guess what? Nobody was available until 3pm. Remember the ceiling incident? There was wet drywall permanently embedded in the dining room rug and the GM said that the hole would remain in the ceiling until the end of the summer. The other receptionist, a woman, would grudgingly assist you, if her smoke break was over and she didn't have a phone call.

If you've read this far, thank you. Bottom line: Clean sheets, good water pressure and view. Walking distance to old town if you have two good knees. Snotty, disinterested staff. If I came back to Grasse, I would stay for the view. If I was alone. But I won't come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timdnml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Not suitable for people with walking difficulties, as the hotel is on a steep hill. On arrival, I found there to be no tea and coffee facililities. There was no drinking water available, and no drinks machine. Great views from hotel. Breakfast was well presented. The room was very clean, and the bed very comfortable.

I would be in two minds whether to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The view from the terrace (the town of Grasse and the hills) is breathtaking, and this is one handsome property, but the rooms (bathrooms too) need serious work. All right for one night, though. Mandarina is very difficult to find when driving (many streets are one-way, which should be expected in a hill town of course, but the absence of street signs is difficult to explain).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor. First floor rooms are damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Booked on line, travelling in February. Room had been pre-warmed. The receptionist was efficient and welcoming. Hotel has a lovely view over the town of Grasse. Easy walk to museum and restaurants.Clean and comforable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalypsoChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasse hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#5 of 16 in Grasse
15 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Elixir Grasse
0.7 mi away
Le Virginia
Le Virginia
#7 of 16 in Grasse
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AEC Les Cedres
AEC Les Cedres
#3 of 16 in Grasse
129 reviews
3.3 mi away
Campanile Grasse - Chateauneuf
Campanile Grasse - Chateauneuf
#1 of 1 in Chateauneuf de Grasse
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Patti
Hotel Le Patti
#11 of 16 in Grasse
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarina Hotel

Property: Mandarina Hotel
Address: 39 avenue Yves Emmanuel Baudoin | Route Napoleon, 06130, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandarina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarina Hotel Grasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing