We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT GET MARRIED HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastide Saint Mathieu
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“DO NOT GET MARRIED HERE”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We got married here in June 2014 and were terribly disappointed. We turned up the day before the wedding for our 3 night stay and the venue had not been litter picked from the previous wedding (cigarette butts, glass, dog mess and general litter). All the furniture was strewn all over the place from wedding the week before and I (the groom) had to spend 2 hours of my time sorting it out to look presentable.

The external terrace is not as the website shows. It's in poor repair and dangerous especially for girls in heels. Many tiles are loose, broken, mortar missing and it was dirty.

The flower beds were bare and no attempt had been made to make them look good.

The swimming pool was dirty and there was a number of loose tiles in the pool. The external furniture is in poor repair and all the cushions were smelly and damp. The parasols were not fit for purpose and we were told to 'change them ourselves)

The air conditioning did not work and had not been checked prior to arrival. It was clear it had not worked for sometime.

The fridges in the kitchen were full of old leftover food and they were dirty. Absolutely disgusting at anytime but the day before you are getting married at a luxury venue this is just awful.

There is also a problem with the electrics internally and many lights and plug sockets don't work so it is not set up for a wedding at all.

To top it off, the manager was rude and unhelpful. The photos on the website are not up to date so do not be fooled by them.

The internals were generally ok and some of the rooms are stunning but from when we saw the venue in January 2013 it has gone incredibly downhill and there does not appear to be any sort of maintenance programme.

Its your decision but I would avoid as there are now much better wedding venues in the locality at a much better price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Manager at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We have already entered into lengthy discussions and email correspondence with you and you have accepted a laege amount of compensation by way of full and final settlement. We have also offerd a complimentary stay with us. We thank you again for your comments and please rest assured that we take each and every experience at the Bastide St Mathieu as an opportunity to continually improve and monitor our performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    5
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
41
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grasse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A luxury venue would be expected to offer not only a stunning location and surroundings but also a wowing presentation. This was hired as a whole location in total not just a single room therefore you'd expect every public area to be beautifully maintained of a standard to match the hype . IT WASN'T.Whilst offering many luxurious fixtures and fittings most of these were faulty somewhere. They should have been pristine. THEY WEREN'T. Shabby and poorly maintained is what they were.The lift was unreliable. The ac failed to work. the fridges didn't work. There was no extra storage for party catering. toilets were blocked managerial staff were rude, bulbs and lighting didn't work.patio slabs had been cheaply and poorly laid. Some were very loose and broken or cracked. Outside furniture had cheap tatty cushions. Grubby grandeur.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Manager at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at the Bastide St Mathieu. We welcome all feedback and use this as a springboard from training and development of our beautiful house and grounds. We apologise sincerely that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Bastide is over 300 years old and offers charm and elegance. We have welcomed over 100 weddings in the past 5 years and our guests have been charmed by the ambience of their surroundings.

We agree that on arrival the Air conditioning was not working in some of the bedrooms - we had a technician on site within 12 hours. However your comments concerning fridges not working and toilets being blocked are unfounded.

Our team worked with the bride and groom on their arrival to ensure that their weekend, as for all our weddings, was intimate and special. There is never a manager on site all of the time - this is a villa rental and our guests create their perfect family houseparty of a wedding. There is always an emergency contact and our team organised additional services at no extra cost in order to try to ensure that the bride and groom and their families were able to relax and enjoy their time at the Bastide.

It is upsetting that on this occasion you have not been satisfied with your stay and we would of course be delighted to welcome you back for a 2 night stay including breakfast at a mutually convenient time in order for us to demonstrate our commitment to service and standards at the Bastide St Mathieu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The Bastide was hired for 3 nights for a wedding, where all rooms were taken by close friends and family and a further 40 people were invited for the day. Professional caterers were hired for the wedding meal itself but for breakfasts and meals either side of this we provided for ourselves. This was the first place that the Bastide let us down. All cupboards, shelves, work tops and fridges were full of owners' half empty food packets, useless gadgets, half empty bottle of water and as a result the whole kitchen smelt nasty. It was not clear where we could store our belongings. The wine chiller did not work, which is unacceptable when the Bastide touts itself as a venue suitable for holding such an event. The dishwasher was half-sized and one of the plate supports is broken. Table Linen in the cupboards was dirty also. The air con was broken and indeed, once a specialist was called out, it was confirmed that it must have been like that for some time and could not be fixed in time for our event. Beds were comfy and elegantly decorated and gardens are nice, but general standard was tatty. Floor of pool was dirty, contained lots of debris and had not been cleaned for some time. Floor tiles in pool were coming away and grout around edge of pool was missing. Dog poo was left on the lawn by the pétanque square, and cigarette butts were left in the corner of the square. Garden furniture was left all over the place. When you hire a big house for your wedding, it should be stress free and perfect, so that the best day of your life is worry-free. The English speaking manager was not helpful, was dismissive of our requests for things to be straightened out and was needlessly rude to the bride to be the day before her wedding day. The patio is not cleaned as part of the contract so we had to clear up broken glass from the previous event. The Bastide St Mathieu needs some serious attention - improvements are needed in the kitchen, the outside facilities such as the pool and environs needs investment and polite, helpful staff need to be on site throughout events to assist with co-ordination. For anyone looking to hire the whole place for a big event I would suggest that you look carefully at the details I have noted above and ask your self if you want to have to worry about such small but rather irritating, time-consuming and easily fixable details on your big day?

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HR-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Manager at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Than you for taking the time to write your review. We have responded in more detail to previous family postings and would reiterate that we are sincerely sorry that you felt unable to enjoy your time at the Bastide St Mathieu.

Our management team strive to offer only the highest levels of service and standards to our guests and did their utmost to respond to all requests.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Bastide St Mathieu for a 2 night stay including breakfast at a mutually convenient time in order for you to experience our wonderful venue without you having the stresses of organising a wedding abroad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatillon-sur-Cher, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent a family wedding weekend here in June 2014, great location for a wedding with a lovely terrasse, however there is a lot of areas needing improvement.
Air conditioning did not work, some lights not working, owners stuff everywhere-moldy fruit in fruit bowl, fridges full of owners food, fridges not cold enough, no staff around to ask for help. For the amount you pay you want it be 100% perfect but it was not. We all had a lovely time for the wedding, but if you have a wedding here you need a wedding planner who will oversee all the faults of the Bastide.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bubblesmavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Manager at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we have responded in more details to your previous complaints and would further re-iterate our invitation of a two night complimentary stay including breakfast at a mutually convenient time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wedding venue which was two years in the planning. The house has a stunning position and the rooms are large. Obviously a home that is well loved. But as a venue which is expensive to hire for a weekend it fails on several fronts. Air conditioning did not work and temperatures were in the 30's. Dishwasher full of owners crockery and glassware which needed washing. No designated fridge for guests and fridges full of owners food and drink. Poor quality fridges that either did not work or were grubby. Insufficient crockery such as mugs for coffee and tea but hundreds of unnecessary crockery. Nowhere allocated for guests food storage. Kitchen needed a good clean. Morning before wedding there was broken glass, unsafe flagstones, cigarette butts and dog mess on lawn. Manager was rude and unhelpful and obviously not interested in customer service. Said she "had been running round for us all day" which shows what she feels about giving good service. Hiring the entire house out has to ensure guests have a clean kitchen with storage space. Pool dirty. Pool and garden furniture not arranged and it,just looked as though the last guests had pushed things to the side and that was now we found it. Some bulbs not working and some sun umbrellas broken. There needs to be more staff on site and standards need to be much higher considering the cost charged. We are not wealthy people and had saved hard for this venue and were bitterly disappointed. It is advertised as a luxury villa but it is certainly not.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Manager at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we have responded in more details to your previous complaints and would further re-iterate our invitation of a two night complimentary stay including breakfast at a mutually convenient time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This is not a hotel in the normal sense, it is a fabulous home filled with interesting furniture, lovely artwork and heaps of hardback books including one written by the owner. It is a place where you are a house guest and you happen to pay when you leave. We had the choice of the rooms being the only guests that night so we chose the centre suite on the first floor. This included a huge bed in a huge bedroom, a large lounge area with easy chairs and a marble bathroom with tub and a separate shower between. Books and pictures were everywhere. Breakfast was taken outside in a beautiful covered area at a huge table, freshly squeezed juice, fresh fruit and fresh bread and croissants in wonderful surroundings. There was the offer of a swim in the pool before we left, a walk round the large gardens or just to dally a while. The visitors book is fascinating and goes back to the weekend parties in the early sixties. It is the most beautiful home and an unforgettable experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This villa is a gem - the owner Bill and his Bastide St. Mathieu made by far our best and happiest stay in Provence so far. It's a beautiful and luxury hideaway with a nicely selected and arranged interior. It has a personal and authentic yet sophisticated appeal. It feels like you are living remote in a stunning villa with a gorgeous and huge garden but actually you are in the heart of Grasse. You are close to everything you are looking for when heading to the Cote d’Azur. Don't expect minibars in the rooms instead you have a much better option: Bill serves you a glass of great vine whenever you feel like. We only spent one night at the Bastide St. Mathieu as it was fully booked for the weekend - and yes, we will be back. I can highly recommend this place. Bill, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamishell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasse
1.6 mi away
La Bastide Saint Antoine Jacques Chibois
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#4 of 16 in Grasse
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
AEC Les Cedres
AEC Les Cedres
#2 of 16 in Grasse
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Elixir Grasse
1.8 mi away
Campanile Grasse - Chateauneuf
Campanile Grasse - Chateauneuf
#1 of 1 in Chateauneuf de Grasse
18 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 13 in Mougins
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastide Saint Mathieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastide Saint Mathieu

Property: Bastide Saint Mathieu
Address: 35 Chemin de Blumenthal | St. Mathieu, 06130, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastide Saint Mathieu 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Bastide Saint Mathieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastide Saint Mathieu Grasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing