We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Venue for a dream wedding!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bastide Saint Mathieu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bastide Saint Mathieu
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue for a dream wedding!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We rented Bastide St. Mathieu for a full week for our daughter's June 28, 2014 wedding. The grounds had just been cleaned before we arrived and cleaned again the day before the wedding. The full landscape team was out pulling weeds and blowing everything off. The lavender was in full bloom and absolutely gorgeous!!! They could use a few more flowers around the fountain in the courtyard - but the super nice Irish landscaper had taken over recently and was working hard to make everything pristine and perfect. I just can't imagine anyone being dissapointed with this beautiful setting….I thought it was just this side of heaven!! They had just finished changing some of the air conditioning units and they worked perfect for us. We knew going in that not everything is air-conditioned, but that is kind of what you expect in a house that old. Most of the bedrooms have air-conditioning and for the ones that don't the air at night is normally pleasantly cool and so you just throw your windows open. The housekeeper is super nice and fixes a very yummy breakfast - I recommend it highly (extra charge). And Maria, the manager, was lovely to work with…just as agreeable and friendly as can be. I will agree with one point of the previous reviewer - it might be time for some new outdoor cushions - we removed them for the reception, the wood furniture was very nice without them. We all had the most wonderful time. It was really a dream wedding and reception!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macmama56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Manager at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and your suggestions, we were delighted to help you celebrate your very special family day and hope we can welcome you all back to the Bastide St Mathieu in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    5
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
39
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I'm so surprised by the negative reviews...our experience was completely different. The grounds and interior exceeded our expectations. In fact, I don't think the pictures on the website do it justice. The owner Soraya was charming and went out of her way to make certain our needs were met. She went beyond her hosting duties to ensure we had an amazing experience and we did...it was absolutely magical! I highly recommend this venue for a romantic getaway, wedding, family gathering, or retreat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Manager at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I am writing in response to the manager's reply to the review below as I want other brides to be aware of the shortcomings of this venue. We did receive some 'compensation' from the venue, however this was before we were aware of the lack of air conditioning and other issues. Plus we also had to pay for two of our guests to stay in an alternative hotel for 3 nights, so the 'compensation' barely covered this in having to find accommodation at the last minute, not including the stress this caused. This was because the room that was supposed to have been made into a double bedroom - and indeed promised to us on many occasions - had not been made up. When we queried this we were offered a flimsy single camp bed. This was just one of a long list of issues which Kevin has outlined in his review below. Yes, the bedrooms are well furnished, but it is the outside space that is used for weddings and as such are now in a poor condition and were handed over to us in an unclean, dirty and messy state. The manager was also rude and reduced me to tears several times the day before our wedding and even said to me that they had been 'running round after us' - surely expecting the venue to have been handed over in a clean, tidy and maintained condition was not asking more than we should have expected?!
We visited the venue several times over the 22 month run up to our wedding so we thought we were in safe hands. We just feel so let down and disappointed by the Bastide Saint Mathieu and it has left us saddened by the experience we have had with them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_M1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Owner at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am the owner of the Bastide St Mathieu and over the last 7 years we have had the privilege and pleasure of hosting many, many weddings and events. I am saddened that on this occasion, despite the best efforts of my senior management team we failed to meet your expectations.

I am more than happy for clients to contact me directly to discuss the situation and the Bastide St Mathieu in more detail. My e-mail address is sorayabydel@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I'm not sure what these past guests are referring to as this place was amazing. The grounds and location is fantastic. The place was exactly what we wanted , each room has a character of i'ts own and was stunningly appointed. The whole staff was friendly and unintrusive so we felt we were in our own weekend paradise in a town that has so much to offer close by.

I would return there again and recommend this place as a fantastic place to stage any romantic event or a simple getaway. We met Soraya the owner and got a warm welcoming feeling . It was clear she wanted us to have a terrific time which we did.

Room Tip: Go for the Sisi or Egor Chanel rooms they were outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Manager at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We got married here in June 2014 and were terribly disappointed. We turned up the day before the wedding for our 3 night stay and the venue had not been litter picked from the previous wedding (cigarette butts, glass, dog mess and general litter). All the furniture was strewn all over the place from wedding the week before and I (the groom) had to spend 2 hours of my time sorting it out to look presentable.

The external terrace is not as the website shows. It's in poor repair and dangerous especially for girls in heels. Many tiles are loose, broken, mortar missing and it was dirty.

The flower beds were bare and no attempt had been made to make them look good.

The swimming pool was dirty and there was a number of loose tiles in the pool. The external furniture is in poor repair and all the cushions were smelly and damp. The parasols were not fit for purpose and we were told to 'change them ourselves)

The air conditioning did not work and had not been checked prior to arrival. It was clear it had not worked for sometime.

The fridges in the kitchen were full of old leftover food and they were dirty. Absolutely disgusting at anytime but the day before you are getting married at a luxury venue this is just awful.

There is also a problem with the electrics internally and many lights and plug sockets don't work so it is not set up for a wedding at all.

To top it off, the manager was rude and unhelpful. The photos on the website are not up to date so do not be fooled by them.

The internals were generally ok and some of the rooms are stunning but from when we saw the venue in January 2013 it has gone incredibly downhill and there does not appear to be any sort of maintenance programme.

Its your decision but I would avoid as there are now much better wedding venues in the locality at a much better price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Manager at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We have already entered into lengthy discussions and email correspondence with you and you have accepted a laege amount of compensation by way of full and final settlement. We have also offerd a complimentary stay with us. We thank you again for your comments and please rest assured that we take each and every experience at the Bastide St Mathieu as an opportunity to continually improve and monitor our performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

A luxury venue would be expected to offer not only a stunning location and surroundings but also a wowing presentation. This was hired as a whole location in total not just a single room therefore you'd expect every public area to be beautifully maintained of a standard to match the hype . IT WASN'T.Whilst offering many luxurious fixtures and fittings most of these were faulty somewhere. They should have been pristine. THEY WEREN'T. Shabby and poorly maintained is what they were.The lift was unreliable. The ac failed to work. the fridges didn't work. There was no extra storage for party catering. toilets were blocked managerial staff were rude, bulbs and lighting didn't work.patio slabs had been cheaply and poorly laid. Some were very loose and broken or cracked. Outside furniture had cheap tatty cushions. Grubby grandeur.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Manager at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at the Bastide St Mathieu. We welcome all feedback and use this as a springboard from training and development of our beautiful house and grounds. We apologise sincerely that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Bastide is over 300 years old and offers charm and elegance. We have welcomed over 100 weddings in the past 5 years and our guests have been charmed by the ambience of their surroundings.

We agree that on arrival the Air conditioning was not working in some of the bedrooms - we had a technician on site within 12 hours. However your comments concerning fridges not working and toilets being blocked are unfounded.

Our team worked with the bride and groom on their arrival to ensure that their weekend, as for all our weddings, was intimate and special. There is never a manager on site all of the time - this is a villa rental and our guests create their perfect family houseparty of a wedding. There is always an emergency contact and our team organised additional services at no extra cost in order to try to ensure that the bride and groom and their families were able to relax and enjoy their time at the Bastide.

It is upsetting that on this occasion you have not been satisfied with your stay and we would of course be delighted to welcome you back for a 2 night stay including breakfast at a mutually convenient time in order for us to demonstrate our commitment to service and standards at the Bastide St Mathieu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The Bastide was hired for 3 nights for a wedding, where all rooms were taken by close friends and family and a further 40 people were invited for the day. Professional caterers were hired for the wedding meal itself but for breakfasts and meals either side of this we provided for ourselves. This was the first place that the Bastide let us down. All cupboards, shelves, work tops and fridges were full of owners' half empty food packets, useless gadgets, half empty bottle of water and as a result the whole kitchen smelt nasty. It was not clear where we could store our belongings. The wine chiller did not work, which is unacceptable when the Bastide touts itself as a venue suitable for holding such an event. The dishwasher was half-sized and one of the plate supports is broken. Table Linen in the cupboards was dirty also. The air con was broken and indeed, once a specialist was called out, it was confirmed that it must have been like that for some time and could not be fixed in time for our event. Beds were comfy and elegantly decorated and gardens are nice, but general standard was tatty. Floor of pool was dirty, contained lots of debris and had not been cleaned for some time. Floor tiles in pool were coming away and grout around edge of pool was missing. Dog poo was left on the lawn by the pétanque square, and cigarette butts were left in the corner of the square. Garden furniture was left all over the place. When you hire a big house for your wedding, it should be stress free and perfect, so that the best day of your life is worry-free. The English speaking manager was not helpful, was dismissive of our requests for things to be straightened out and was needlessly rude to the bride to be the day before her wedding day. The patio is not cleaned as part of the contract so we had to clear up broken glass from the previous event. The Bastide St Mathieu needs some serious attention - improvements are needed in the kitchen, the outside facilities such as the pool and environs needs investment and polite, helpful staff need to be on site throughout events to assist with co-ordination. For anyone looking to hire the whole place for a big event I would suggest that you look carefully at the details I have noted above and ask your self if you want to have to worry about such small but rather irritating, time-consuming and easily fixable details on your big day?

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HR-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarChick, Manager at Bastide Saint Mathieu, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Than you for taking the time to write your review. We have responded in more detail to previous family postings and would reiterate that we are sincerely sorry that you felt unable to enjoy your time at the Bastide St Mathieu.

Our management team strive to offer only the highest levels of service and standards to our guests and did their utmost to respond to all requests.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Bastide St Mathieu for a 2 night stay including breakfast at a mutually convenient time in order for you to experience our wonderful venue without you having the stresses of organising a wedding abroad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasse
1.5 mi away
La Bastide Saint Antoine Jacques Chibois
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#5 of 16 in Grasse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Elixir Grasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AEC Les Cedres
AEC Les Cedres
#3 of 16 in Grasse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Virginia
Le Virginia
#6 of 16 in Grasse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 13 in Mougins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastide Saint Mathieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastide Saint Mathieu

Property: Bastide Saint Mathieu
Address: 35 Chemin de Blumenthal | St. Mathieu, 06130, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastide Saint Mathieu 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bastide Saint Mathieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastide Saint Mathieu Grasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing