We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Dublinlady28
Dublin, Ireland

Beautiful Surroundings, Beautiful Château

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 May 2019
This is a beautiful villa with beautiful gardens. Breakfast in the gardens was great, food was delicious and there was plenty of fresh fruit.
Room was beautiful, bed comfortable.
However you need a car when visiting this property, I was visiting the Rose festival in Grasse. According to the web site it was 2km from Grass, which is walkable. However town centre is 4.6km up and down hills. Uber available sometimes , taxi hard to find.
Would definitely revisit with a car.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.8 miles from Bastide Saint Mathieu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.7 miles from Bastide Saint Mathieu
Free parking
Pool
Lol.travel
    0.6 miles from Bastide Saint Mathieu
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    la terrasse, il etait 7h30. SUPER
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £101
    • Expedia.com
      £103
    1.0 miles from Bastide Saint Mathieu
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    1.4 miles from Bastide Saint Mathieu
    Free Wifi
    Courtesy Tray
    Tripadvisor
    £132
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £132
    1.2 miles from Bastide Saint Mathieu
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Lol.travel
      2.3 miles from Bastide Saint Mathieu
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      • Lol.travel
      • Vio.com
      • ZenHotels.com
      2.9 miles from Bastide Saint Mathieu
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      La chambre
      Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        £59
      • Expedia.com
        £61
      1.5 miles from Bastide Saint Mathieu
      Free Wifi
      View more hotels in Grasse
      Reviews (111)
      Filter reviews
      111 results
      Traveller rating
      90
      9
      2
      6
      4
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      90
      9
      2
      6
      4
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      2 - 7 of 111 reviews
      Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

      Sorayas guest house truely is a very special place with a beautiful garden and house. The furniture and decoration inside make you feel immediately at home and having a glass of wine on the terrasse with Soraya and other guests make the perfect south-of-France- Experience. We unfortunately could only stay for a night but would love to return very soon.

      Date of stay: August 2018
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Anja I
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 6 June 2018

      This was our first stop on a 2 week trip through Provence, Burgundy, and Champagne. For us, the Bastide was love at first sight. We have traveled extensively over many years, but this place will hold a special spot in our memories for its beauty and personality, and the same can be said about our host, Soraya.
      Every space, from the gardens to the interior mix of western and far eastern decor has the personal touch and intimate ambience uniquely created by her. Soraya's dining and touring recommendations were also flawless.
      I heartily recommend Bastide St. Mathieu and hope to return one day.
      Thank you, Soraya!

      Room tip: All of the rooms that we saw were gorgeous and unique. Images on the internet do not do them justice!
      Date of stay: May 2018
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank dlk265
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 5 June 2018

      The Bastide St. Matthieu has to be the most glamorous B&B imaginable. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are enormous and filled with extraordinary objects. The owner couldn't be more welcoming. The only shortcoming is that you have to drive for meals or any other errands you might want to do.

      Room tip: All the rooms we saw were remarkable.
      Date of stay: May 2018
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank spisler2018
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 7 May 2018

      The Bastide is the perfect getaway if you are looking for something special and not ordinary away from the crowded coast. The location is perfect as it is in the countryside but you don't feel isolated and the picturesque villages of the Cote d'Azur (Mougins, St. Paul de Vence, Tourrettes sur Loup) are just a very short drive away.
      The rooms are all decorated with great taste with furniture coming from all over the world. We stayed in the Japanese suite which was beautiful and full of light and our daughter stayed in the cozy little room next to ours. The suite bathroom was gorgeous with plenty of space and a large set of amenities including bathrobes and very good shower products. Towels were changed everyday and they were thick and soft, we really liked that!
      Soraya is the perfect host, she heartily welcomed us and she made our stay memorable. She was very helpful when our daughter got sick and we are greatful for that. We decided to have some meals at the Bastide and enjoyed cooking in the beautiful kitchen. The pool area was the perfect place to relax after our trips to the surrounding villages reading a book and enjoying the beautiful views over the bastide and the lush garden with its beautiful iris and roses.
      Breakfast was delicious with many options. Wi-Fi signal was perfect both in the rooms and on the ground floor.
      All in all we had a lovely stay and cannot recommend this place enough.
      Thank you Soraya we will definitely come back!
      Cheers Jess & the gang

      Room tip: All rooms are beautiful!
      Date of stay: April 2018
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank 802,424
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 17 September 2017

      Very nice place. Beautiful house in typical provence style. Many large rooms with very personal decoration. Nice pool area. Simple continental breakfast on lovely terrasse close to the summer kitchen.
      One should know that this kind of bastide is not a hotel and therefore it does not have the full service offer that you will typically find in a hotel. However, the owner will give any advice you will need on restaurants and places to visit in the nearby area.
      If you are looking for a quiet, romantic accomodation, in a typical local style, with a personal touch from the owner, different from the standard hotel room, this is the perfect place for you.

      Date of stay: August 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank Tatiana S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews