We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in Luxury!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastide Saint Mathieu
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relax in Luxury!!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2010

A trip to remember. Gorgeous setting in the hills, Fantastic house. Great hosts who made it seem like home. Pure luxury. Beautiful air conditioned room and a pool you could lie by for a week. Nothing was ever too much trouble - the outside fridge was always very well stocked. Will take the golf clubs and tennis racket next time.

Day trip to Keller Beach in Cap D'Antibes a must. Also eat at L'Ecole de Fils - very quirky French and won't cost an arm and a leg!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    5
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
41
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The beautiful Bastide st Mathieu is at once less and more than a great hotel and that is its charm and that is we and we met all wanted to stay longer and longer. It is not a full service hotel with hot and cold running waiters; indeed often you serve yourselves with drinks and I was happily helping with breakfast.
It is instead a 'houseparty hotel'...people of all nationalities and backgrounds plus the owners sit until late into the night chatting over the fine Valcolombe wines, sometimes go out for lunch together, exchange ideas and enjoy a glorious private house atmosphere into which almost everyone fits in....we guests feel we are all contributing to the party for others.
The Bastide itself, in its own parkland of olive, lavender and fruit orchards, is quite exceptionally romantic, wonderfully decorated with pieces from all over the world and the rooms (just six of them) are all huge, magnificent but also wonderfully welcoming and comfortable.
This is the future for counrty hotels....and in such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSBracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

My new husband and I kicked off our honeymoon with three nights at the Bastide and it was bliss. Our room and the house in general are stunningly decorated - probably the most beautiful home or hotel interior that I have ever stayed in. Our hosts were very welcoming and as emphasised by others and the owner in response to the negative reviews, this feels more like a houseparty than a hotel - and was just right for us. There are many wonderful sights and restaurants within striking distance although you will need to drive. Breakfast was very ample and very good and we had some great chats with Bill. I would highly recommend this place to discerning couples, without children unless they are taking the whole place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Will Carling is correct - this is not a conventional luxury hotel that could be anywhere in the world. He clearly wants anodine, atmosphere-free luxury. Go stay at a Hyatt Regency or a Hilton Resort. There he and his family will meet congenial people who look and dress the same and eat the same american food.
BSM is a private house hotel that doesn't have a restaurant. It produces wonderful breakfasts in the French manner -croissants, bagette, butter and jams with good coffee.
The rooms are magnificent and generous.
Best of all the hosts, Bill and Soraya are a sophisticated, travelled and interesting couple who received us as if we were members of the family.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurujay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada/France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Amazing place to stay! Hosts we're fabulous and of course very helpful to our family. We stayed there for 3 nights and four days. Breakfast every morning was a beautiful, French variety prepared by a very talented and sweet chef.
We got lots of recommendations from the owners, and every recommendation we loved. We met some very nice people that stayed there at the same time as us. The whole family that ran this luxury hidden treasure were all very happy to help, and made every single guest feel at home! We wished we could of stayed there longer. Everyday, we traveled out to a new little town that Grasse is surrounded by. (Cannes, Monaco, Nice, Antibes, Grasse). By the end of the day, we came back in time for a quick change and then went out for dinner. We enjoyed the owner's favourite - Sushi Spirt. Be sure, if you like sushi, to ask the owners where sushi spirt is. Very yummy! Even I, who has an allergy to Soya Sauce could find something enjoyable!
The Bastide St Mathieu is probably one of the best Bed and Breakfast homes around. You get the full French experience. The owners are so friendly with kids, and always looking out for your needs.
Any bad reviews, are just from bad people. Not from bad experiences. No matter where you go, i assure you, wether its a five star hotel or a 1 star motel, if your pleasent, the owner is pleasant.
I highly recommend this French home in the Cote D'Azur for anyone who's looking for a French experience, with kids, and if you dont have any clue about the area and need recommendations. One night, a lady came to our room, and gave massages and relaxing facials. A memory never to be forgotton. I hope to go back one day! My whole famiy enjoyed it. Even my dog!
(I would post pictures, but i can't find the cord to my computer!)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4482TheJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Bastide Saint Mathieu is a beautiful boutique hotel which is run by a very special family. We were thrilled with the accommodations and magnificant bathrooms, large fluffy towels and robes,lovely products and candles adorn each room. Our breakfast, taken outside was more than ample and delicious and the owners make a very real effort to ensure there guests feel more like friends. Whilst we were in the beautiful countryside we were only a short drive from the abundant historical villages that surround the Bastide.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this very unique hotel to anyone. Having travelled the world it was a very real pleasure spend time with our family in a Hotel that actually felt like home......

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennettWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Literally, from the moment we entered the gates of Bastide Saint Mathieu we were greeted warmly by Bill and Soraya as if family. In fact, we were treated as family and urged to make ourselves at home, raid the fridge, roam at will, put on whatever music we liked, etc. The grounds and home are absolutely stunning. We were treated like royalty. The food and wine were excellent. But the ambiance, because of the owners, was so genuinely warm and inviting it made our trip most memorable. Excellent recommendations were made for restaurants, walks, places of interest, and even Gerard, a local taxi fellow, who took us wherever needed. The Bastide is close to many places, including Cannes, Grasse, Valbonne, and many other fun places to explore. I recommend this spot without reservation. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cna92630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasse
1.6 mi away
La Bastide Saint Antoine Jacques Chibois
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#4 of 16 in Grasse
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
AEC Les Cedres
AEC Les Cedres
#3 of 16 in Grasse
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Elixir Grasse
1.8 mi away
Campanile Grasse - Chateauneuf
Campanile Grasse - Chateauneuf
#1 of 1 in Chateauneuf de Grasse
18 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chateau de la Begude
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastide Saint Mathieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastide Saint Mathieu

Property: Bastide Saint Mathieu
Address: 35 Chemin de Blumenthal | St. Mathieu, 06130, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Grasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastide Saint Mathieu 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bastide Saint Mathieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastide Saint Mathieu Grasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing