We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All that glitters” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Coste d'Or

Villa Coste d'Or
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Coste d'Or
Ranked #20 of 37 Grasse B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“All that glitters”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Once you find the place.The view excelent, the house interesting, the location very central. The breakfast 1st day was fine but suspisious on the freshness of the cream, the 2nd day the same food LESS what we consumed on the 1st day and now shared with another couple, the bread and pasteries now a little stale and the cheese a little weepy and sweaty. The room was not made up on the second day and the breakfast on the 3rd day was a repeat of the 2nd day,s fair and by now little to offer and freshness very suspect. We have stayed in B&B's for half the price of this and had better service but not the view. The hostess was very helpfull for the 10 min we met (but not seen again which may explain the breakfast issue) the host........ well it is off season.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
18
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We loved this small picturesque hotel. We stayed 2 nights there and they were the best ones out of our 10-days trip. The view from the window was amazing - green valley with red roofs and sea on the horizon. Personal was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was pretty basic (cheese, bread, yogurt, fruits, jams, tea, coffee), but still very tasty. Make sure that you have GPS or very detailed driving instructions - it's VERY hard to find this hotel for the first time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MishaVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We are a young couple and stayed in this wonderful villa for 5 days this July. The location is amazing as you can easily access and visit most popular towns of the French Riviera such as Nice, Cannes, Antibes, etc and the town of Grasse is very picturesque itself. The first thing that impressed us was the breathtaking view from our room, day and night, simply couldn't look out of the window enough down the whole valey till Cannes. Really fantastic. There is a nice pool and a beautiful garden with many plants. Martine was very helpful with everything we asked her and gave us a lot of useful info, however if we spoke french she might have been a bit friendlier we suppose. The breakfast was very good and fresh and kept us going during our daily excursions. The minus points of this hotel is definetely first of all the level of cleanliness, as there was a lot of dust on the floors and dead insects especially in the corners. There was no soap in the toilet, just 2 already opened (used) small tubes with shower gel and body lotion in the bathroom. Another problem was that there was no air-conditioning and this was hard cause the days we stayed there were very hot so we had to let the windows open which meant many mosquitos coming in. Finally, the bed was loud and made noises every time someone moved.
Overall, I believe that it is worth to stay in this villa because the view and the breakfast pay off for the 115 euros/day the room costs. I just personally believe that no matter if a room costs 30 or 300 euros it has to be at least perfectly clean. Still, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbgath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

Wonderful and graceful Hosts!
Excellent time!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank srbgyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

After searching around quite a bit on the web for the ultimate romantic place,
I stumbled upon this wonderful little guesthouse. The room was superb and the view absolutely breathtaking! In the morning we were served a very nice breakfast and after this
there is possibility of strolling around in the interesting garden or relax by the pool. The owner was also very friendly and helpful. I will recommend this place to all my friends!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

Situated in the hillside, the view from the room was brilliant. Lovely breakfast served in the garden in front of villa, you have the overlook all the way down to the Mediterranean Sea. Pleasant and relaxed hosts, a small and nice walk (try the secret stairs!) from villa to city centre, and a perfect base for car drives around in the Provence area (Gorges Du Verdon, St. Paul de Vence etc). Unforgettable stay.

  • Liked — Architecture of building, location, garden, clean swimming pool, everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing. All great:)
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank North99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

Amazing place... The views are fantastic, the rooms are really nice, the owners are sweet and take care about all your needs. And the breakfast is really good with the best of france.

The gardens are beautifull (full of plants, flowers and herbs) and the pool is a great place to relax after a day in Provence..

  • Liked — the service, the views, and the kindness of the owners
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasse hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#5 of 16 in Grasse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Elixir Grasse
1.3 mi away
La Bastide Saint Antoine Jacques Chibois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bastide Saint Mathieu
Bastide Saint Mathieu
#2 of 16 in Grasse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
AEC Les Cedres
AEC Les Cedres
#3 of 16 in Grasse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Virginia
Le Virginia
#6 of 16 in Grasse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Coste d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Coste d'Or

Property: Villa Coste d'Or
Address: 39 Chemin de la Coste D Or, 06130, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Grasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Coste d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing